We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but the service could improve”
Review of Ta Chalkina

Ta Chalkina
Ranked #38 of 430 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good food but the service could improve”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This restaurant had been recommended to us, but sadly we weren't impressed. The food was good, but not extraordinary. We wanted to try different mezes and had hoped for small flavorful portions/dishes, but the menu was not designed that way. We ended up with three different dishes which were good, but  a bit boring. A good ide would be to have a meze platter with different cretan/turkish dishes on or the possibility to make your one. The menu was cluttered put together and made ​​us a little confused at once (so we notice for other guests as well). The waiter was not very friendly but did his job (not at all tentative and we were like air to him). It was just an ok experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpjFredrikstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    198
    75
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Avoid. Average food, awful service.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The most busy restaurant in chania. Only tourists eat there.
Service slow, took us 30 mins to order. Forgot our salad, the food was average at best, but cheap.

When we told them that they forgot our salad, they reply was pretty snob.
AVOID , there are many better choices

Helpful?
Thank Stefanos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This restaurant has a good food and he staff is very helpfully .The music is very loud unless you sit outside

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andreas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place in the harbor”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ok, so in one of my other reviews I said that you should avoid restaurants in the harbor, but this is an exception to that rule. The food is a bit different that other places since they have a sort of a tapas style. You order 6 dished for a group of 4 persons and share it. Their pies as fantastic (minced meat on top of a pita type of bread) and the rest of the food was really good.

The service is fast and friendly, the setting also. We came early (have kids) but I understand that they have live music later in the evening. Must come back without kids :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol District, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excelent”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The best mussels i had ever,great ntakos cretan salad,cretan live music in combination with great service and hospitality and on the house rakomela making it the best place we ate in town!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fotini L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ta Chalkina also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Ta Chalkina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing