We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely gem in a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2011

If I could redo my trip to Crete, I would've spent more time here and less time in Elounda. We only spent two nights here in the honeymoon suite. The room was by far the largest room we stayed in all trip. The hotel is located in an old mansion, with some newer wings and spa recently added on. The room we were in was one of the older rooms. It has a classic luxury, different than the other 5 star hotels we stayed in. It's also near all the sights in Chania, so it's easy to spend the day at the beach, shower at the room, and walk around in the cooler evening. We did have to drive to a beach, however, because Chania in general doesn't really have a beach to sunbathe on. The hotel gave us a map with printed directions, along with beach towels for our trip. The hotel felt like home, from the friendly staff who remembered our names and the activities we were interest in doing, to the delicious morning breakfast that is homemade by, I belive, the owner's mom.

I would defnitely come back here. Chania is beautiful as is the whole westside of Crete. Casa Delfino is the perfect place to stay for both comfort and luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readyfortheweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
There are newer reviews for Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

My mother and I stayed at Casa Delfino for 3 nights as part of our self-guided tour of the Greek Islands. We stayed in Suite #7 which was a two story room. The first floor area consisted of a bathroom with a beautiful jacuzzi tub, glass shower and double sink, living area and entry way. The second floor consisted of the bedroom and additional bathroom. The suite was truly beautiful and very relaxing but had NO windows. It didn't detract from the beauty of the room, but it is a bit strange. They have renovated the top of the hotel with seating to look out over the port city of Chania and it is certainly worth the view. It's also been outfitted with an elevator if you aren't up for the stairs.

Breakfast was excellent, but very 'Greek'. If you're looking for a full American breakfast, this isn't your place. We both had plenty to eat (basic cereal, yogurt and fruit, coffee, choice of pastries, hard boiled eggs, etc.)

We found the staff to be very accommodating and incredibly helpful. They came out to meet our transport service, and carried our luggage from the parking area all the way to our room. Please note, as previous reviewers have stated, that it is nearly impossible to physically drive up to the hotel. It's buried in the crooked streets of the old port, which certainly plays into its charm! They were happy to help with restaurant and shopping recommendations.

The air conditioning was a bit less than desirable despite setting the temperature to 65F, which is ridiculously cold by my standards, it didn't get much below 75-80F in our room. It was pleasant sleeping though and we didn't notice noise from any surrounding streets or other guests.

Overall it was a very charming hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth_kristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Having had to postpone our wedding anniversary holiday due to a close family bereavement my wife and I took a last minute booking in Chania with the Casa Delfino Hotel based on the recent TA write-ups … I am pleased to say that the hotel completely exceeded our expectations for the whole week of our stay.

The hotel is a wonderfully restored building just off the busy vibrant Old Harbour (but no noise affects at all) and easily accessible to the lanes of the old town … a perfect location!

I can only concur with all of the previous TA reports and assure everyone considering Casa Delfino that the many positive comments and reports previously made are fully supported by our week long visit. To summarise …

 Margarita is an excellent Manager who has a relaxed friendly cheerful caring personality yet equally professorial approach to all aspects of the hotel and each guests comfort
 she is supported by an first class team who are all equally keen to help and please
 special mention must to Jennifer and Aris for their daily guidance on where to go/what to do/best routes/places to dine etc … all with that all-important personal touch rather than just a commercial recommendations
 the courtyard breakfasts are divine with many of the ingredients being organic (great organic coffee) and home made by Margaritas family … nothing is too much trouble if you have any special requests too
 the actual courtyard an attractive area with many tourists who stroll past in the old town lanes stopping to gaze in … we are probably in a couple of photos enjoining our breakfast!
 each room is individual and based ours plus others we saw all are finished to a high standard – we had the benefit of a small balcony over looking the old town lanes which was a really nice extra feature
 the roof terrace offers good views over the town and harbour plus an extra area for guests to relax

The hotel, Margarita and all her staff are so welcoming that although we enjoyed our days out it was always nice to come back ... almost like coming home!

We have no reservations at all in fully recommending Casa Delfino which although may be not the cheapest does offer that all-important personal touch which is now so often missing in larger and often more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Room 19 has the small 2 person balcony which is a nice feature
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This was the most beautiful hotel in Chania. The view of the port from the rooftop deck was spectacular. The rooms were spacious and quaint. The staff was gracious, and went out of there way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. While it did have elevators, Chania in general was not a place for any person who had a handicap which prevented them from moving around easliy, as it is somewhat hilly with cobblestone streets. We did not use the recently added spa, yet it was beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osheaeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Staff were great and attended to our every need. Gracie on the front desk was great as was Aris, Jenny and the others whose names I can't remember.
Great view from the roof bar and well positioned in the old town so that the many and varied restaurants are in very close proximity.
Rooms were beautiful, spacious and functional. The only compalint would be that the showers were a bit small and the shower curtain seemed to hug you body but I could handle that.
I rate this better than my experince at the Westin Paris. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Kivotos of the Aegean sent us here for the first part of our island hopping holiday. We could not have started in a better spot. The hotel is in the heart of the old town, a walk from shops, restaurants, bars and sight seeing. Rooms are quaint, great roof top patio and courtyard for breakfast. Staff amazingly helpful with advice on places to visit and restaurants to book that are away from "toursity" areas. If you get a chance try this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emptynest8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

From the time of booking (by e-mail) to our arrival the staff were helpful and they gave us a very warm welcome on our arrival which was late in the evening. Our room was spacious and clean and had a side view of the sea. Breakfast was good and cheerfully served. They were also very helpful in making arrangements for us to go to the Samaria Gorge - and the Spa provided soothing therapy afterwards! We found the Casa Delfino a delightful oasis and its staff enthusiastic and charming.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. No restaurant on site but lots in the area.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
630 reviews
31.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Address: 9 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#4 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £114 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing