We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and very special place! The ambience and staff makes it extra special.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful and very special place! The ambience and staff makes it extra special.”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My wife and I had never been to Crete and decided to avoid the touristy areas and big city environment of Iraklion/Knossos. Chania is a major city in the western part of the island and is a fascinating combination of old and new. It's also a great base for exploring by car the southern and western beaches, ruins, gorges, and towns. We found Casa Delfino online and were impressed with their responsiveness by email before we departed. We were met by a wonderful staff who made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. Unlike most hotels, even boutique hotels, the staff is more like a family and guests feel like they are staying in an estate. We were advised every morning about itineraries, restaurants, etc. And we were asked how we enjoyed the previous day and evening so the staff could better advise other guests. Casa is a beautiful property with a fabulous spa. We can't imagine a better place to stay in Crete!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnStiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    105
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
142
503
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I think that everything that can be said has been said in previously comments; this place is first class and beyond. Everything about it is prefect especially the staff.
We have a wonderful stay in July 2011 and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed at Casa Delfino for two nights at the beginning of our holidays and it could not have been a more perfect start. Margarita and her staff were absolutely wonderful as they were so helpful and friendly. Margarita provided us with some great restaurant recommendations as well. We had the great opportunity to stay in the Executive Suite which was much needed after the long flight to begin our holidays. It was a great suite and well worth staying in. The hotel is just beautiful and in a perfect location as it is so close to everything, but also quiet and serene. The outdoor breakfast area is also quite pretty. The breakfast offerings were delicious with some of the items based on Margarita's family recipes. We would certainly stay here again without any hesitation and we would highly recommend Casa Delfino for your stay in Chania!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt-Canuck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

If I could redo my trip to Crete, I would've spent more time here and less time in Elounda. We only spent two nights here in the honeymoon suite. The room was by far the largest room we stayed in all trip. The hotel is located in an old mansion, with some newer wings and spa recently added on. The room we were in was one of the older rooms. It has a classic luxury, different than the other 5 star hotels we stayed in. It's also near all the sights in Chania, so it's easy to spend the day at the beach, shower at the room, and walk around in the cooler evening. We did have to drive to a beach, however, because Chania in general doesn't really have a beach to sunbathe on. The hotel gave us a map with printed directions, along with beach towels for our trip. The hotel felt like home, from the friendly staff who remembered our names and the activities we were interest in doing, to the delicious morning breakfast that is homemade by, I belive, the owner's mom.

I would defnitely come back here. Chania is beautiful as is the whole westside of Crete. Casa Delfino is the perfect place to stay for both comfort and luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readyfortheweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My mother and I stayed at Casa Delfino for 3 nights as part of our self-guided tour of the Greek Islands. We stayed in Suite #7 which was a two story room. The first floor area consisted of a bathroom with a beautiful jacuzzi tub, glass shower and double sink, living area and entry way. The second floor consisted of the bedroom and additional bathroom. The suite was truly beautiful and very relaxing but had NO windows. It didn't detract from the beauty of the room, but it is a bit strange. They have renovated the top of the hotel with seating to look out over the port city of Chania and it is certainly worth the view. It's also been outfitted with an elevator if you aren't up for the stairs.

Breakfast was excellent, but very 'Greek'. If you're looking for a full American breakfast, this isn't your place. We both had plenty to eat (basic cereal, yogurt and fruit, coffee, choice of pastries, hard boiled eggs, etc.)

We found the staff to be very accommodating and incredibly helpful. They came out to meet our transport service, and carried our luggage from the parking area all the way to our room. Please note, as previous reviewers have stated, that it is nearly impossible to physically drive up to the hotel. It's buried in the crooked streets of the old port, which certainly plays into its charm! They were happy to help with restaurant and shopping recommendations.

The air conditioning was a bit less than desirable despite setting the temperature to 65F, which is ridiculously cold by my standards, it didn't get much below 75-80F in our room. It was pleasant sleeping though and we didn't notice noise from any surrounding streets or other guests.

Overall it was a very charming hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth_kristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Having had to postpone our wedding anniversary holiday due to a close family bereavement my wife and I took a last minute booking in Chania with the Casa Delfino Hotel based on the recent TA write-ups … I am pleased to say that the hotel completely exceeded our expectations for the whole week of our stay.

The hotel is a wonderfully restored building just off the busy vibrant Old Harbour (but no noise affects at all) and easily accessible to the lanes of the old town … a perfect location!

I can only concur with all of the previous TA reports and assure everyone considering Casa Delfino that the many positive comments and reports previously made are fully supported by our week long visit. To summarise …

 Margarita is an excellent Manager who has a relaxed friendly cheerful caring personality yet equally professorial approach to all aspects of the hotel and each guests comfort
 she is supported by an first class team who are all equally keen to help and please
 special mention must to Jennifer and Aris for their daily guidance on where to go/what to do/best routes/places to dine etc … all with that all-important personal touch rather than just a commercial recommendations
 the courtyard breakfasts are divine with many of the ingredients being organic (great organic coffee) and home made by Margaritas family … nothing is too much trouble if you have any special requests too
 the actual courtyard an attractive area with many tourists who stroll past in the old town lanes stopping to gaze in … we are probably in a couple of photos enjoining our breakfast!
 each room is individual and based ours plus others we saw all are finished to a high standard – we had the benefit of a small balcony over looking the old town lanes which was a really nice extra feature
 the roof terrace offers good views over the town and harbour plus an extra area for guests to relax

The hotel, Margarita and all her staff are so welcoming that although we enjoyed our days out it was always nice to come back ... almost like coming home!

We have no reservations at all in fully recommending Casa Delfino which although may be not the cheapest does offer that all-important personal touch which is now so often missing in larger and often more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Room 19 has the small 2 person balcony which is a nice feature
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This was the most beautiful hotel in Chania. The view of the port from the rooftop deck was spectacular. The rooms were spacious and quaint. The staff was gracious, and went out of there way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. While it did have elevators, Chania in general was not a place for any person who had a handicap which prevented them from moving around easliy, as it is somewhat hilly with cobblestone streets. We did not use the recently added spa, yet it was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osheaeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 110 in Chania Town
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
256 reviews
27.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Address: 9 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#4 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing