We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We spent 8 days at Casa Delfino. It was glorious! The staff was incredibly helpful, helping with travel details via email even before we arrived. The hotel is stunning - it exudes beauty, peace, and comfort. Breakfast was delightful - tasteful, healthy, beautifully prepared and constantly replenished. Each staff member took pride in the appearance and quality of the hotel, and all contributed to it's seamless ambience. On the morning we left (at 5 am), the staff had a fresh pot of coffee, and breakfast laid out for us.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank colleency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
There are newer reviews for Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2008

We stayed at Casa Delfino for a week recently. Here is a summary of our stay and I will be as objective as possible.

Good points:

The location is fantastic, in the old town, a block back from the harbour, and believe me, this is a good thing (the harbour is 30 secs walk away). The service/staff was always good and helpful and in particular, Georgina (at breakfast), and Jennifer. Rooms are spotless and there is a beautiful courtyard where breakfast is served.


Now for the negative points:

No real complaints, just a couple of points to note.

Our bathroom was on the small side and the shower was quite dark. Not a huge problem. The other issue is the air conditioning unit. Basically it was situated under the steps (!) to the upper level. This meant that the cool air does not reach the upper level(where the beds are). Again, not a problem in Sept/Oct when weather is cooler and the windows can be left open, but I think may be a problem in summer.


General comments:

Generally, the hotel really is gorgeous, especially the courtyard. We had room 4 which has a balcony directly overlooking the courtyard and also another one overlooking a street outside. It's obviously not cheap (relatively speaking), but if I were to visit Chania again, I would definitely stay here.

Incidently, I thought that Tamam (a restaurant) which seems to get quite a bit of hype, is definitely over-rated. Portes nearby is much better in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank commedesgarcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Great stay - perfect location in the old port - service was great staff were all very helpful - the 2bedroom suite was a strange set up basically an open plan room with a lattice divider - but the rooms were clean and exceptionally large - I would maybe stay again in a different room

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Elana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Just returned from a three week honeymoon in Italy and Greece. We chose Casa Delfino as our hotel in Chainia. The location was ideal and we were able to walk to everything since it is right in the center of town. Our room was the honeymoon suite and quite large and comfortable. The staff were very helpful in suggestions where to eat and sight see. We had a wonderful stay !!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DREAMGIRLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

My wife and I visted Crete and Santorini this summer with another couple. We had visited the Greek islands in the past, and this time decided that we would not book any hotels until we arrived. Based on a recommendation in a travel book, we contacted Casa Delfino when we arrived in Chania. When we arrived, we were greeted by Yianni, the hotel manager. Yianni and his staff were very friendly, personable and helpful, and the level of service at this hotel was well beyond our expectations.

Aside from the maid service and the food & beverage service (which were excellent), the thing that we loved most about this hotel was that the staff genuinely cared about improving our experience in Chania and Crete. In particular, Yianni, the hotel manager, was eager to assist us with our questions about the Island, our travel arrangements in and beyond Crete and our other needs. He literally drew out a daily itinerary for us on a map with his suggestions for beaches, cafes, restaurants and other points of interests. He would tell us where the tourist "hot-spots" are and then often showed us his suggestions for places a few kilometers from those points that were absolutely mind-blowing (and not crowded by tourists). For example, he told us about beaches that could only be reached by foot (the purest beaches on Earth!!) and authentic restaurants with the best food we had on the island. His advice made our trip to Chania an unforgettable experience and we can't wait to visit Chania and Yianni again in the future. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel.

Just to help you in assessing this review, I note that my wife and I typically travel to high end hotels such as the Four Seasons, Ritz-Carltun and W Hotels. At the risk of sounding snobbish, we live in NYC and have high expectations for service and quality. Hope this helps you in your travels.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kostas_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Spent 6 nights in room 8 of the hotel. The room was cleaned daily, and the air conditioning worked well (very necessary in mid-July!). The staff were consistently accomodating and friendly and made our stay that much more pleasant. The shower was small, but the water pressure/hot water were in abundance, which is what those of us from the US are used to. The marble courtyard was the perfect place to sit out and enjoy a nightcap before heading in to sleep.The hotel was very quiet during our stay which was very nice. There is a rooftop area where you can sit and watch the sunset over the mountains of Crete, and really, is there anything better than that? Complaints can't come easy in such a peaceful place. If my travels point me back to Chania, I will certainly stay at Casa Delfino again, as it is perfectly situated close to all the possibilties that Chania has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Schmoopie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

excellent location just off the old harbor- close to everything, but nice and quiet; very peaceful; courtyard is fabulous place for breakfast; room was very nice; help at the desk always available and actually very helpful; we were very comfortable there and if we go back to Chania would not even think of looking elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gwf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
633 reviews
31.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Address: 9 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#4 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £112 - £848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing