We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On our honeymoon and best place we stayed!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We just got back from our honeymoon in the greek isles (milos, oia, mykonos, xania, athens). Casa delfino was by far the best place we stayed.

We arrived as this magnificent villa in the historical center of xania (or chania). We were greeted by Margarita, the daughter of the owner. This villa has been in the family for 6 generation. We mentioned in our reservation that we were on our honeymoon, and the kindly upgraded our reservation from the suite to there penthouse 2 floor unit with a glorious balcony that overlooked the historic port of chania. It was an amazing view (see uploaded pictures). They also had a beautiful bouquet of flowers on our bed and a bottle of local red wine and a basket of fruit and homemade (literally made by Margarita's mother and grandmother) cookies.

This hotel was amazing. The breakfast was by the far best we had on the trip. Fresh fruit from owner's farm. Cakes made by Margarita's mother and grandmother. Amazing selection of parfait and pudding, breads, dakos, feta, cheeses, ham, fresh juices, coffee, cereal, energy bars. My only regret is that we missed it one morning when we left early to go to hike the Samaria Gorge (see below).

The hotel has there own concierge that used the villa for part of her wedding. She helped plan our stay in crete. Her recommendation were great. I would recommend renting a car while there. Crete is big!!. We had a great drive to elofonisi and visited some great beaches. I highly recommend the santa maria gorge hike. We used the smaller tour group that they recommended and it was nicer to have your own guide on the trip. (more expensive but worth it). The hike is tough and you will be sore, but it a gorgeous valley and some great views.

The hotel was great, their service was great, the staff attentive, food great, and right in the historic district of xania. To add to that Margarita said they soon will have a spa on premise. Amazing a dream come true.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoya97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2010

Our first impression of Casa Delfino was WOW. When we opened the door to our room, we gasped. The '2 bedroom apartment' was larger than our home in Toronto! What delight after 2 weeks of small standard rooms throughout Greece. There were a total of 5 levels, maybe 6 as we lost count. 2 bathrooms. Tons of marble, beautiful furniture and a welcome bottle of wine! The 'reading nook' was my favourite spot as it was the highest point in the room.
The breakfast of homemade cakes and puddings by Margarita's mother and grandmother were delicious and tasted even better while sitting in the beautiful courtyard underneath the fiscus tree.
Dinner recommendations for our 3 evenings in Chania were offered by Jennifer, the Guest Relations Manager. Portes (Irish influence), Tamam (in an old Turkish bath) and Kapnatio (in from harbour under an arbor of brilliant flowers) were all unique and excellent restaurants.
We rented a car and Jennifer provided the BEST driving instructions for getting out and back into Chania down to the minutest of details. She also made excellent side-trip suggestions like visting the oldest Olive Tree in Vouvous and further along the Ag Sofia which is a church up in a cave in the mountains while we were enroute to the southwestern edge of Crete to spend the afternoon at Elafonisi Beach. A spot well worth the trip.
The attention to detail and the extraordinary room made this trip to Chania memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjwtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This is a lovely, family owned hotel with loads of charm and an excellent location. The staff was very warm, helpful and friendly--especially Margarita who made you feel as if you were a family friend staying in her home. Even more upgrades are planned for 2011 which are sure to make the hotel even more lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsygirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Staying at Casa Delfino was one of the highlights of my latest trip to Crete. The converted Venetian Style Casa was maticuiously updated combining today's conviniences yet preserving old world charm. No detail was missed to beautifully decorated rooms, marble floors, top quality soap products, home made breakfast to an extremely attentive staff. Margartia was very helpful and was interesting to learn the history of Casa Delfino and Jennifer helped us Americans get around the island with ease. WELL DONE CASA DELFINO!! We look forward to your new expansion in 2011. I know it will be beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here in June 2010 and really loved it! The location is amazing... just a few steps away from the harbor. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and well taken care of. They recommended restaurants and sights every day and went above and beyond when there was an issue with the room they first put us in. The hotel itself is beautiful and there was a delicious breakfast in the courtyard every morning. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeLover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Stayed here last year and really enjoyed it. Would definitely come back despite minor complaints [a/c unit a bit weak and bathroom a bit small and dark] as it really is a charming stay whether you wish to be in the action or just step back from it all and relax. The breakfast it to die for and I still think about all the pastries and yummy things we had there [and it's been almost a year now!]

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to friends!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Micktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Exellent property in a perfect Chania location. Casa Delfino is an excellent story and the place to stay in Old Town. If you need anything, just ask - all staff is friendly and immediately willing to engage your request.

Hand Squeezed Orange Juice - excellent!

May 16-19

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkepcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
287 reviews
27.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Address: 9 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £108 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing