We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place owned by a wonderful family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Danmark
1 review
“Wonderful place owned by a wonderful family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

Casa Delfino in Chania is a wonderful place.
It enjoys a great location (within walking distance to most things in town) and yet in comfortable distance to the hustle and bustle.
The hotel must have been recently restored, and the combination of old style and modern comforts have been conducted with great yet understated elegance.
The center of the hotel is a beautiful patio. I think this would be my favourite place to relax, when the summer heat is at its highest!
We indeed enjoyed the roof top terrace as well - it must have the best view in Chania!
The family who owns the hotel (and has done so for many generations) are doing their utmost in order to make your stay comfortable. They are truly helpful and caring!
The breakfast consists of (among many other other things) home made Greek specialties, proudly presented by the daughter of the family.
We will definitely stay at Casa Delfino, when we return to Chania.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aldabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    96
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
134
462
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Casa Delfino is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed. It has a very cozy courtyard, where we spent a lot of hours (the weather was very hot in Chania even in November) reading books and doing some work in our pcs. Breakfast was amazing with the homemade bread and marmelades. The room we had was really spacious and the bed very comfy. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claudiawolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

I travel a lot. Of all the places we have visited, Casa Delfino has been the most enjoyable experience and we have wonderful memories of our stay there. The property is beautiful and elegant yet still quaint. Breakfast in the courtyard was such a tranquil experience with fresh and delicious foods. The staff were amazing and made you feel like family right away. I can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenfaith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

My wife and I to Chania as part of our honeymoon back in August 2010. It was our first stop in Greece, and we stayed for 3 nights. First off --- we absolutely loved Chania and Crete overall. So different from our other Island adventure in Santorini (also amazing). If you are staying in Chania for more than 2 days, I would suggest renting a car....you will need it to get around the island and see all the wonderful beaches and sites. But be aware, its a bit tough to find parking near the hotel during busy season / times. You will find somewhere to park, but may not be as close as you would like.
Now onto the Casa Delfino. What a great first stop for our honeymoon. The property is beautiful and in a fantastic location, just steps away from the harbor, but far enough away to remain nice and quiet. When we arrived, we were upgraded to the 2-bedroom on the first floor. This was a huge duplex, with queen beds on both the top and bottom floors. It was probably too big for us (if that is possible). The space also included two full bathrooms, and the bathroom downstairs had a very nice jacuzzi tub. The room was very nicely laid out and decorated. We were very happy with it.
The hotel also has an awesome courtyard, where breakfast is served daily (very nice breakfast), and a rooftop terrace that overlooks the harbor. Although it was too hot to be up there during the day, we spent each night at dusk here just sipping a bottle of wine and looking out onto the busy harbor area. An awesome setting. On that topic of hot...that is probably the only knock I have on the hotel --- no pool. Not sure if there are any Chania area hotels that actually have pools, but being there in August, it was extremely hot and a pool would have been quite nice to hang out at or to come back to each day. Otherwise the hotel is really a fantastic place -- great location, beautiful rooms, nice outdoor areas, and an extremely friendly and helpful staff.

The staff in particular was so so kind and helpful. Jennifer (US expat), Stella, and Yanis (spelling?) helped us so much. We arrived in Chania with very little knowledge of Crete and they took the time to help us with our plans every day, whether it be reserving a car (called at least 4 different places to get us a reservation...high season!), providing detailed driving directions, suggesting great restaurants, and even teaching us a little Greek. Every day at breakfast, there was a friendly staff member there to ask us how our stay was going, and if we needed any help with our plans for the day. An if needed, each staff member would spend as much time with you as needed in order to make you feel comfortable. I have stayed at many high class hotels around the world, and this place was right up there with any of them --- really outstanding service all around. Thank you all for such a wonderful stay, we couldn't have been happier. To all the prospective visitors --- you cannot do much better than Casa Delfino!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pash19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

I visited Casa Delfino recently with a friend and stayed a night. We were greeted nicely at reception and were quickly checkin seemed a little outdated, but not problematic. Finding the hotel by cab was not easy since we were dropped off a few blocks away and there are no signs leading you to it. It took us 30 minutes to find it. We checked into our upgraded rooms and they were nice and clean. The TV seemed a little outdated, but was O.K. The first drinks we ordered to our rooms were complimentary, but I don't know if this is standard practice. The hotel is located a block's distance from everything in Chania. Shops, restaurants, sights are all easily reached by walking. As for our rooms, my internet was great. My friend had trouble connecting and staying connected. This hotel is highly recommended for families or singles wanting to see Chania and/or party it up.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ad6matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

this hotel located in the old town,truly is the jewel in Chania's crown.It offers every facility the discerning traveler desires when abroad,comfortable beds,delicious bath products for the Jacuzzi,fluffy white towels,and wifi connections.
The staff are friendly,professional with charm and grace for whom nothing is too much trouble.the location is perfect,just a few steps from the hour our side with a panoramic view from the rooftop terrace.
I thoroughly recommend a visit when next in Chania,Oh and I forgot to mention the homemade lemon cake,oh the breakfast buffet is to die for!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debutaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We found Casa Delfino thanks to friends in the travel game, folks who have been there done that and done that again. We met one of them, Lefttheris Papageorgiou of Hellenic Adventures, at a hotel in Heraklion. He told us Casa Delfino was "the only place to stay in Chania." High praise like that sets up big expectations – and they were met. The first two people we encountered through the door were Stella, who had booked our room, and Margarita Markantonaki, daughter of the hotel owners and the future of the place. Given Margarita's beauty, charm and warmth, the future looks great. We had planned two nights tops. We stayed six, sampling a variety of digs, including the penthouse. Breakfasts were terrific, with contributions from Margarita's mom and grandmom. The concierge, Jenny, make great suggestions for touring the town and the region. When our computer refused to work, Iannis stayed with us until technology submitted to our bidding. The serenity of the patio and the amazing harbor views add to the positive picture.There are places to rest and places to nest. Casa Delfino is a place to nest. Note: A spa is scheduled to open in 2011.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tellurideinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
27.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Address: 9 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#4 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing