We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with an unbelievable history”
Review of Doma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doma Hotel
Ranked #25 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2012

this is a hotel with character that makes you wonder how it managed to survive in the era of all-inclusive hotels. we had the most amazing view of the sea from the balcony. the interior is classy, stylish and elegant, having so many thoughtfully selected details of the last century life, that probably belonged to the old mansion owners.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Small, nice hotel. Location is closed to centre of the city. (15 min by foot). Better to use car! It's the old building, old furniture, small rooms, bit it's very romantic))) there are 3-4 old ladies who is manage all services. I'll recommend this hotel to people who don't care about comfort, looking for some special places for appropriate budget!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Mysyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We found this hotel when we were looking to re-locate from our room on the harbor where there was loud music and partying going on till dawn. After we looked at the room that was available for the next night we were escorted to the back garden, offered cool drinks and invited to stay as long as we liked. We had a choice of beautiful sea view or garden view. The sitting areas, breakfast room, etc. were loaded with antiques and old pictures that were interesting to see. Breakfast was big and varied with unobstructed view to the sea. All the staff were very kind and helpful. It was hard to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We spent two Weeks at the Doma Hotel in Chania (Xania, Hainia or several other spellings and pronounced high-n-ya).... We had only booked three nights but we immediately knew everything was so excellent about the hotel and location for day trips around Crete that we opted to stay. They were quite surprised as I suspect there are not throngs of Americans that actually stay in Hania and especially for two weeks! The hotel is owned by an extraordinary lady named Irini (Irene) who is 86 with the energies of one half her age. Volumes can be written about her as she has experienced so much. The hotel is charming comfortable, the staff beyond helpful human knowledgeable and reachable. They made our two weeks excellent and we found ourselves referring to it as going home after our daily adventures. The hotel has a wonderful / interesting history having at one time being a private residence, then occupied by the Germans, an embassy, then purchased by a Greek family who added a few floors, a roof top garden / luxury suite more more. Memorabilia everywhere and a dining / breakfast area overlooking the very blue Agenan Sea is complete icing on the cake.

At the Doma we met people from around the globe including Lisa & Aaron who became quick great compadres probably due to their being far more mature than we. It can only be explained that they are in their early / mid twenties and we are 70. Life is strange, the younger ones somehow seem to be much more seasoned than we non sophisticates. Anyway, they were traveling from Israel, She from Australia, He from Ohio. We truly enjoyed each other's company and they are doing a travel blog which can be linked to anyone interested. They are a tribute to the old Greek word, "chutzpah" which in some countries can require a month to pronounce.

Others at the hotel were Panyos, Anna, Spiridula, The older lady that made breakfast (constantly teaching and correcting our attempt to speak Greek) and the younger Romainian woman who filled in and was glib, bright, well educated. Someday that young lady will find herself and probably end up running a country.

The Doma is forever embedded in our very fond memories. It is "The Place"

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BLI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

In these days of creeping uniformity, it is a pleasure to find a hotel which reflects the style and character of the country you are visiting. If you like to find all the amenities and comforts of home when you go on holiday then the Doma is probably not for you, but if you like to feel that you have actually travelled to somewhere else, then you will love it. The owners and the staff were friendly, hospitable and informative with a cold drink on arrival, help with the bags and occasional surprises of fruit and wine in our room. We had several chats with one of the owners about the history of the building and the three generations of the family who owned the hotel, which were fascinating to anyone with an interest in how things used to be. When we asked at reception about the location of specific shops or restaurants, the time taken to drive to different places and the opening times of museums or sites, the staff were always helpful; telephoning to find out precise details for us if they didn't know themselves.

Our room and balcony overlooked the garden so we weren't bothered by road noise and woke each morning to a blast of bird song from the trees outside - neither of us being much of a gardener we didn't know what the shrunbs and flowering trees were but something smelt wonderful. The room wasn't over large but we only used it to sleep in and get changed; it was simply furnished and the beds were firm and comfortable. In my book, the absence of a shower curtain is a plus; there are few things worse than the clammy clutches of one on a wet body?

We are great walkers, so a walk of 15 minutes to the east port or 20 to the old town along the seadide was a bonus. If you like everything on your doorstep then the Doma may be a bit far out of town for you, but having heard the happy noise coming out of the bars and restaurants round the port on weekend nights, the quarter of an hour's separation seemed like a good idea to us.

No matter how many people and scooters and cars crowded the streets you never felt threatened by it and we were met everywhere by friendly people eager to help you. Ok, so a lot of them do make their living from the tourist industry, but they do it so well you never feel you are being 'had'. There are so many restaurants and tavernas at the ports and in the old town it would be hard to go down any street without finding a couple and we sought out ones which seemed to have at least some local people eating there. The food is fabulous - we stuffed ourselves at every meal even after we had promised ourselves that, this time, we weren't going to over-order, and if it wasn't for the walk home we may have laid on the pavement like over filled pillows until the morning.

In conclusion; if you like somewhere a bit different and value character over luxury, if you spend your holiday going out and about a lot and if you like to feel you have spent a little time feeling part of a different culture, the we would strongly recommend you stay at the Doma. We loved it and hope you do too.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I don't know that we would stay here again. The traffic noise was considerable. It was a very long walk to the center of things in Chania...and very hard to find anything to eat around town but an interesting long walk nonetheless. We bumped into a charming farmers market we may have missed but if walking is an issue I'd stay more in the port area.

The folks were very very nice and it was a very interesting hotel with a lot of history. We had no difficulty parking. The breakfast was the typical one we found at other Greek hotels and very good. A little disappointed that the Easter bread on Easter morning did not have the traditional spices we are used to - Mastic and Mhelep. The room was perfect with a divided room, one full bed and one day bed.... with a view of the sea, a terrace (the only one) and the grounds around the house were very interesting. The beds were not great but typical of other hotels where we stayed. Service was very good. The breakfast room had a spectacular view of the sea.

Room Tip: The view rooms are very noisy from the traffic on the ocean road. Not sure if the noise improves wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#14 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Irida
Hotel Irida
#56 of 111 in Chania Town
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halepa Hotel
Halepa Hotel
#24 of 111 in Chania Town
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#39 of 111 in Chania Town
123 reviews
5.5 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doma Hotel

Address: 124 Venizelou Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £81 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Doma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doma Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing