We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
75
58
16
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
58
16
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room top floor wonderful sea view garden view greek hotels old port min walk rooms are spacious objects crete
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Spent a night at the Doma while on holiday in Crete. We had a lovely room - more like a suite with seating area, separate sleeping area and lovely spacious shower room. And balcony overlooking the bay with great views of the sunset. A little bit out of the hub of the old town and a fairly busy road going by but would not hesitate to recommend. Arrived very hot and bothered and was greeted by glass of cold cranberry juice. So welcome!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maureeent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel has a vintage tone, and lots of character. The personnel was helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was amazing, with traditional home made tastes. Great view from our room. Great location, easy parking! Can't wait to visit again :)

Room Tip: if you want a room with view the trade-off is the traffic/noise but in the night it is quiet
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EFI L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed at Doma in May 2013 as it received such a good rating from Lonely Planet. It is a lovely old building with lots of character. The rooms are a reasonable size and are quite comfortable. Even though we were at the front of the building, the double glazing cut out much of the noise from the constant traffic. The breakfast room is lovely - an old room adorned with old photographs and old implements - with a view of the sea. The breakfast selection is good.
Reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Don't use the lift, someone got stuck in it the night we stayed and the fire brigade had to be called.
We enjoyed staying here. Was it good value? Hard to say. We paid 80 euros and the next night stayed at a brand new hotel in Kissamos for 35 euros. I believe Chania is much more touristy than Kissamos, although it's a big difference in price.

Room Tip: If you have a room with a view of the sea, you will get a little bit of traffic noise (even with the windows closed)
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

First, let me just say that I have never written a bad review on tripadvisor. My husband and I have been on a 2 week vacation where we have been hopping hotels every night and this is the only hotel I have ever had a problem with. Bottom line, this hotel was overpriced. The blankets were wool and itchy, and the beds were very low to the ground. It felt very muggy and dusty in the room. The staff was really nice and friendly and good except for the owner. We spoke to the owner as a result of our displeasure with horrible stay in which we only got 4 hours of sleep (12-2 am then 7-9 am). This very poor sleep quality was the direct result of the previously mentioned nature of the bed and rooms. The owner was unconcerned by our descriptions, stating that it was "our problem" and not anything to do with the hotel. She was openly incredulous, wondering why if we were dissatisfied with the room why we didn't notify the front desk staff. We tried to explain the fact that we were making the best of it at first, and that when we finally couldn't get back to sleep, it was already after 2 in the morning. For a 4 star hotel, we shouldn't have to go room hopping in the middle of the night with all the luggage that one has from a 2 week vacation. Beyond that, clearly it was not just "our problem" given that we did not have those difficulties in any of the other 13 hotels we stayed over the vacation. Finally, after arguing with us for 20 minutes she said it was our problem not her problem and there was nothing she could do. I'm in the service industry and to me that is very unacceptable to be treating your customer that way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
3  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is a delightful old hotel run by 2 octogenarian sisters who were born in it before it was expanded into a hotel. It was once an Austrian consulate and also a command center for the Nazis in World War II. The location is ideal on the coastal road northeast of town in the Halapa district. The road is busy but the rooms in back overlooking the large beautiful garden were very quiet. The substantial buffet breakfast takes place on the top floor with beautiful sea views. The room was clean and very comfortable, and we spent a lot of time relaxing on the balcony. The Old Town was in easy walking distance going along the shore promenade past the town beach where we enjoyed a dip. The owners and the reception staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed the ambiance of the 2 lounges, especially the display of ethnic hats collected by the younger sister in her travels. (Much of her collection is in a museum in Athens.) The hotel had wi-fi but did not provide a public computer. It cost quite a bit more than we usually pay, but we really enjoyed our relaxing 4-day stay there while we visited Hania.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews