We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treasure”
Review of Doma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doma Hotel
Ranked #25 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a most charming place, in the building of the former Austrian-Hungarian consulate (from the times when Chania was the capital of almost-sovereign Crete). Friendly, helpful and truly multilingual staff, both room and bathroom are clean and well-equipped (but not huge).
(The only improvements I could think of are a shower curtain and free WiFi.)
The breakfast was truly fantastic. Mediterranean countries have got no great traditional breakfast culture of their own; so tourists often get either what the locals would expect (too little and disappointing), what the tourists themselves think is "authentic" (yoghurt with honey and walnuts), or a Continental breakfast (boring and out of place). Not so here. Here you get a huge variety of fruit, fresh white bread (even on Sundays, when most bakers are closed), eggs done to order (like really fluffy omelets), yoghurt and honey (yes), but not imported jam but the sweet, sticky traditional Greek stuff (but also some home-mad marmalade). And freshly made orange juice. Tea is very decent breakfast tea (not part of the traditional Greek breakfast either). Probably the best breakfast I ever had in Greece, since it meets the demands of the foreign tourist on the basis of local produce without mock authenticity.
Fantastic the view from the breakfast room, too.
There is public transport in the area but not much else (except an open-air cinema), we saw no cafés or restaurants anywhere nearby. You have to take the bus #11 (1,10€, buy the ticket at the kiosk near the bus stop) or a taxi (5€ seems to be the flat rate) to the center of town. The return bus stop is near the market hall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikingtraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

There was a problem with the hotel my friend and I had booked, and so the Doma put us up for a night while the issue was resolved.
The staff seemed nice, the former British High Commission undoubtedly has a lot of charm, but the room was a bit old school for my liking. It was somewhat spartan, and the bathroom was trying to be a wet room, but just resulted in wet loo roll and a big puddle on the floor!
However, the view of the garden was charming, and the view from the breakfast room was simply spectacular. The breakfast was also delicious, and had a good range to choose from.
It seemed a bit far out of town for my liking, but mostly I was thankful that they were willing to fit us in at very short notice when we didn't even arrive until almost midnight!
I'd love to go back for the breakfast if nothing else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It's on a busy road and if you get a sea view room, you'll get traffic noise too. I couldn't sleep the first night so I asked for a room on the back and it was a lot better, I could hear just the cicadas. The hotel is great and the staff nice and helpful and really do their best to satisfy guests.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

It's a charming "oldy" hotel with a fantastic view and a good location (not too far but not too near from the crazy port).
The room are fine but a bit noisy to my taste. The service is variable. Reception staff is good and give great advices on where to go to escape the crowd. The service at the breakfast is average not to say almost rude.
Overall it's a good place but I cannot help feeling it was too expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guillaume D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent here 3 nights mid July as a base to visit the west of the island. The place is a boutique hotel that formely was the british consulate. So, it is fully packed with historical pictures and stuff. Maybe recommended for a bit older people that might be able to enjoy it more than us. In genera a good place and a friendly welcoming and assistence troughtout the whole staying. The breakfast was OK but some food was clearly not freshly prepared, though it was not bad. Th hotel has no parking so you have to look for it if you go there by car (90% of Crete visitors I believe) but we never had problems finsing it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamillaSad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Spent a night at the Doma while on holiday in Crete. We had a lovely room - more like a suite with seating area, separate sleeping area and lovely spacious shower room. And balcony overlooking the bay with great views of the sunset. A little bit out of the hub of the old town and a fairly busy road going by but would not hesitate to recommend. Arrived very hot and bothered and was greeted by glass of cold cranberry juice. So welcome!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maureeent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel has a vintage tone, and lots of character. The personnel was helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was amazing, with traditional home made tastes. Great view from our room. Great location, easy parking! Can't wait to visit again :)

Room Tip: if you want a room with view the trade-off is the traffic/noise but in the night it is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EFI L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#14 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Irida
Hotel Irida
#56 of 111 in Chania Town
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halepa Hotel
Halepa Hotel
#24 of 111 in Chania Town
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#39 of 111 in Chania Town
123 reviews
5.5 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doma Hotel

Address: 124 Venizelou Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £81 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doma Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing