We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it is a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oinopoieio

Oinopoieio
Ranked #24 of 406 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
chania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“it is a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

we have ate a lot of times in this restaurant and i think it is a must for locals as well as tourists.the restaurant used to be a wine factory and the atmosphere is very nice as a lot of things of the past (old fridge,barrel,shelves etc )are around.the waiters are very kind and the food is excellent.so many delicious choises..you have to trust the suggestions.i recommend it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank argiroChania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    50
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere to dine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

It was lovely interior with a traditional cretan delish food. To ease your hunger they will serve local bread accompanied with thinly diced tomato sauce, slow down and be weary of your order. The dishes are generous in amount. At the end of the dinner little milk pudding accompanied with traditional Raki is a real killer. Good luck finding your way back to your hotel.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gulfem k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
188 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Really amazing dinner on our favorite street in Chania. Was our final night in Greece so we ordered so much! Meal started with delicious grilled bread and then we had fava, beet root salad, roasted mushrooms, stuffed zucchini flowers, and a lamb/beef kebab. That kebab was exactly thr dish I had been trying to find while we were in Greece and one of the best things I ate while we were there. After dinner, we each got a little panna cotta dessert, raki for the table, and fresh watermelon and honeydew. We were so full but we still ate it all.

Great atmosphere, really the best street to dine on (just beware of gypsies).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel recommended this restaurant to us, because we wanted to eat more traditional cretan food. It was such a good meal - stuffed vine leaves, spinach salad (with pork and figs), chicken with lemon and mint (wonderful!). This was followed by a small selection of traditional cretan puddings, no charge, and the mandatory bottle of raki! The staff were friendly, helpful and a total delight. It was down a road, about two blocks back from the waters front, and I don't think we would have come across it, without the recommendation of the hotel. A great find - try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jilly1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

if you 're looking high quality traditional food nice prices you are at the best place in town.here you can taste authentic cretan cuisine. the fresh delicious salads are just the beginning....you can also enjoy the atmosphere with a glass of local red or white wine.excellent choise for local and foreign people!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank argiroChania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oinopoieio also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Oinopoieio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing