We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Old Lady, Very welcoming and Extremely friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halepa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Halepa Hotel
Ranked #23 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady, Very welcoming and Extremely friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2008

We booked our hotel via the internet having read the reviews with interest and having looked at the alternative hotels we decided to book the Halepa as it was situated out of the main noisy drag. We wanted to have a good rest when we slept and no interuptions. Our expectations were not high but we always go with an open mind.
We also had secure parking for our cars.

We received a warm and welcoming arrival.

The hotel is a 10 minute pleasant walk to the Venetian harbor along a prommenade that was built to avoid walking on the busy streets. We were surprised at how close everything was as we had read that it took 20 minutes in another trip advisor write up. This is not true. The walk is through a well lit park and next to the sea.

The hotel i would describe as shabby sheik. It has a beautiful garden at the front of the house and huge reception areas to read in and even a reading room up stairs on the 1st floor which was rarely used.
On the roof terrace there was a large place to relax and view the harbor.

The first room we were offered was quite dark and a little small with 2 large single beds and we wanted a double bed., We went down stairs and asked if we could change to a brighter and bigger room and they had no problem in changing it.

Our room was a large double room, with double bed, in the old part of the house. It had very high ceilings, neutrally decorated and a lovely large french window.
The air conditioning was perfectly good too.
The bathroom was small but perfectly good for use.

Breakfast was great. There was a large spread of many foods from eggs, meats, cheases, cereals, toast, fresh fruit. We had more than enough and they could not be any more helpful.
We ate our breakfast in the garden and it was very dreamy and relaxing...

The staff were the most welcoming, friendly and happy people we have probably ever met and they made us feel happy and welcome. They recommended restaurants, beaches and areas we could go to that were not touristic.

Would we go back? Yes, without a doubt. I would also recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a retreat as it was everything a great hotel could offer.
It was very clean, great service, very peaceful and a happy place to stay.

  • Liked — Property and Gardens and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to comment
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Greta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    92
    14
    14
    2
See reviews for
32
134
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2007

The hotel itself was lovely but as stated by another review, the view from the room is non-existant. The room was very clean with hardwood floors and was small but that's to be expected in Europe so it was fine for us. The air conditioning was good. They do have a lovely roof-top sunning area that has a gorgeous view of the sea. The front-desk staff were exceptionally helpful and kind. We did find the hotel a bit far from the port area but it was quiet at least. The breakfast was pretty good as well.

  • Liked — front desk staff
  • Disliked — too far from the port
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OntarioMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
290 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

Halepa Hotel

Just returned from Chania, Crete, where we spent two nights at Halepa Hotel. Found the hotel too expensive for what it offers. Admittedly, the hotel is housed in a beautiful neoclassic building, and the rooms are clean, with a/c and a TV, but that’s basically it. The decoration of the rooms is uninspired, just two chairs to sit if you don’t want to lie down (no small coffee table though), the bathroom is tiny and the bathtub almost too narrow to stand in properly and take a shower. No tea/coffee maker, toiletry articles consist only of shampoo and bath foam. Our view was a cement wall (I believe most rooms have no view of the sea), and the rooms were all but sound proof (we awoke from people returning at night and walking through the hall, the cleaning ladies in the morning as well as a dog howling outside).
There is no swimming pool and the beach close by is not really recommended for swimming (a climb down, rocky and/or stony sea, with algae washing up). To get to a good beach, you need a taxi (ca. 8 Euro one way). It’s quite a walk to the centre (where there is a beach, though not quite as attractive), and while the walk is along the sea, it’s also under the burning sun (not pleasant when it’s 40 degrees Celcius). Plus, there are no restaurants or coffee shops close by. So, to do anything but lie in the room and watch Greek TV, or sit in the hotel garden at one of its six tables (no view) and the roof terrace (view), you need to begin your excursion with a taxi or rented car.
Another thing that disappointed me was that while we were part of a wedding party at the hotel and the landlady knew very well that most guests returned in the early morning hours, no offer was made on her part to move breakfast to a later hour than max. 10 am. Consequently, most guests missed breakfast – and we must have been between 15 -20 people who belonged to the wedding party.
I don’t think I’d stay at Halepa again, for while it is considered one of the best in Chania (hence the price), I consider it positively lacks value for money. Maybe it is best suited for elderly couples that enjoy going somewhere in the morning and then spending the rest of the day relaxing under an umbrella with a coffee or orange juice. Young children will get bored and young people might feel stifled by its supposedly fancy atmosphere and isolated location.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2007

If you look for a nice and quiet place to stay in Chania, Halepa Hotel is the one for you.
We spent 5 nights in a double room in the traditional wing this August. The room is spacious with minibar and airconditioning.
Bathroom is new with bathtub (rare in Greece!).
The breakfast is OK, continental style.
The location of the hotel is really a plus if you want to relax: just 20 min walking from old town (5 min by car).
The staff is very friendly and helpful and they can give you good advice about wher to go and restaurants (the hotel has a bar, but not a restaurant!).

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlod71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, WII
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2007

This was a delightful hotel located about 20 minutes walking from the Old Town. The service was superior. Very friendly staff - couldn't do enough to please us. Free use of office laptop for internet.

Beautiful facility with pleasant grounds for relaxing in the mornings or evenings. During the heat of the day the room has shutters that make it one of the darkest, quietest rooms we've ever stayed in. Great for the mid-afternoon siesta, which is recommended. We saw the cook dozing at one restaurant during a late lunch, and the owner of the restaurant you pass walking down to the market on El. Venizelou was cutting the z's on a lounge chair when we stopped in about 3:00 in the afternoon. Everbody comes out to eat at the open air restaurants along the Old Venetian Harbor starting around 8:30 or 9:00 in the evening.

The room and bath were adequate in size. We had a double room in the New wing, but in hindsite would have booked an upgrade in the older section. The price was comparable to what we paid elsewhere in Greece and Italy for similar accomodations.

Buy a wide-brimmed straw hat and white Greek half sleeve cotton shirt in the market area if you plan to do a lot of walking. I was amazed at how light and cool they were compared to the high tech wicking fabric I packed.

  • Liked — Facility, grounds and staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Heydehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2007

My fiance and I just came back from a 2 week trek throughout the Greek Islands. Halepa hotel was one of the more memorable hotels on our trip. Not only did we look into booking this hotel b/c we saw it on the TravelChannel's show "Great Hotels"--but the reviews on this site seemed to support the excellent ratings as well.

Hotel staff is available (and extremely pleasant and helpful) at all times of the day which we found out the hard way as our hydrofoil came in 7 hours late into Heraklion--so we didn't arrive to Chania until 6am (supposed to be there at 11pm!). Staff was also very knowledgeable about various tours and sights around Chania in addition to helpful transportation info about getting around Crete.

Beautiful grounds and interior well kept--hotel used to be the British Embassy in the 1800's so the decor and ambiance are well above par. Rooms are spotless and decorated beautifully--beds very comfortable! Breakfast is basic, but good enough to start us out for the day.

Location is fine...located right across the water, grounds directly outside the hotel provide a beautiful view of the Sea of Crete. Expect a 15-20 minute walk down to the Venetian port--which is fine b/c the breeze can cool on a 98 degree day not to mention the breathtaking blue water in the background.

Overall, a great hotel for the price...would recommend for a pleasant stay in a great town by the sea.

  • Liked — Excellent staff and beautiful hotel.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bootowork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2007

We stayed at the Halepa for a week end of June 2007 during the heatwave!

The Halepa is a pleasant hotel situated only 20 minutes walk from the main harbours, it cost 20 Euro taxi fare to get here from the airport.

Throughout our stay the staff were both incredibly helpful and polite, seeming eager to greet us and provide much local information. The rooms in the new part of the building were standard and clean. The bathroom was however a little small. The air conditioning worked beautifully. No decent view was visible from our window but this didn't matter to us as we were out most of the time!

The hotel also has a free (small) electric gate secured car park at its rear for your hire car.

Breakfast was available from 0730 till 1000, continental style. Although there is a bar they do not provide any other meals. The hotel staff were happy however to provide an earlier breakfast for those heading off early to the Samaria gorge!

All in all a good hotel, with plenty of character in its foyer and small lounge areas, the staff were certainly friendly and spoke good english.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank majormondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
1.1 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halepa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halepa Hotel

Property: Halepa Hotel
Address: 164 Venizelou Eleftheriou, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#17 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Halepa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to hotel Halepa.Our relaxing haven is conveniently located just minutes away from the city center of Chania, in the well known area of Halepa, from which it has received its name.Nestled in a quiet side road of Halepa area, the hotel blends the charm and personality of yesterday with the amenities and technology of today, making an ideal place for those seeking the historic and modern in one destinationIt has since 1990 being offering accommodation services and our many visitors are a great proof that when they seek a relaxing environment, they will definitely find it within our renowned hospitality. The New Classical architecture has remained even after being converted into a luxurious accommodation facility, as this building has played a great role in Cretan history.Halepa area itself sits just outside the city center, next to Dikastiria (main Court House of Chania) with all the amenities of the city center just minutes away - pharmacy, dentist, doctor, realtor, hair salons, exercise club, super markets, walking trails and dozens of local restaurants and taverns and a cinema are found along the main road leading to Dikastiria. sprinkled among unique shops and entertainment.As a guest you can expect the best hospitality and the latest amenities offered by hotel Halepa. Dedicated and attentive service at the front desk, DSL internet access, the spacious lounging area with the Fireplace and Piano, elegant breakfast area, Meeting room (20 persons), Cafeteria, Bar are enough to satisfy the most eclectic of customers and many more conveniences ensure your happiness while staying with us.Whether business or pleasure brings you to Halepa Hotel, the same warm personal Cretan hospitality awaits you.We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Halepa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halepa Hotel Chania
Halepa Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing