We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 stars at least”
Review of Halepa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Halepa Hotel
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is a fabulous little hotel. Very welcoming. Very stately. Very comfortable. The staff is wonderful, the breakfasts great. There are gardens and a roof terrace. The location is nice. Easy walks to town. Parking. Comfy rooms and beds. We loved it. Even the mix of toruists is interesting, Lots of hiking groups. CLASSY!!!!!

Room Tip: Costs 2 euro/day to use the front desk safe. Beers were a bit pricey. Rooms were all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Halepa was a nice place to stay away from the hustle of old town. Be prepared to walk 45mins though to get to a decent beach, and 25mins to get to restaurants. My wife and I spent six nights there and love walking so halepa was great for us. Big plus, the breakfast was really good!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It seems like I always weigh the pros and cons of staying in an 'old town' district or on the outskirts of town. Usually I favor 'old town' because I rely on local public buses rather than rentingt a car. Moreover, there is a better selection of restaurants and shops in 'old town'. However, I selected Halepa based on positive reviews,beautiful architecture in photographs, and a scenic walk along the coastal road. The three night stay was a positive experience from the cordial and helpful front desk staff to breakfast on the expansive front lawn. I was particularly relaxed sitting in a comfortable chair in the front parlor listening to classical music while writing postcards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My family stayed in this hotel for two nights, and we very much enjoyed it. Particular compliments go to the wonderfully nice front desk person who was there in the afternoon/evening - she was unbelievably pleasant and helpful, although all the staff were great. The rooms were perfect for us, but the hotel really wins on its front courtyard and lobby which -- as you might expect in a former British Consulate building -- convey a sense of luxury and Old World charm that far exceed the price of the stay.

I was concerned about the hotel not being in the heart of Chania, but the walk was short for us -- 15 minutes or less -- and a very scenic experience in its own right, along the seashore. Just be sure to get off the main road as soon as it leaves the water and cut through the obvious park and down some stairs to a lovely promenade along the waterfront. There are some great places to eat very near the hotel -- if the staff doesn't offer on their own, ask about the seafood place around the corner. The tables are perched on the seagrass right at the edge of the water and look as if high tide could float them away. Fabulous food, but you would never find this on your own, or if you were staying at a hotel in the old part of the city!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buttercup63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Nice hotel with great staff who went out of their way to be as helpful and informative as possible. The hotel was in a good location with a nice garden and a decent area for parking.

Only downside to the hotel was breakfast. The breakfast could do with being available slightly later as the staff seemed unable to cope with the high numbers of guests arriving at once.

All in all, great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdp2584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here for two weeks with work. Very friendly and accomadating staff. The only drawback was no food in the evening so a 20 min walk into town which was very easy. Rooms clean and well kept. Use of a fridge to put your own things in or take advantage of the water, coke and beers that were replenished daily for cost price. Small bar downstairs that served most drinks inc coffees. Breakfast was continental with plenty to go around and could be had early if you were off out or off to the airport at some silly time. Clean towels and washing gear supplied. Laundry service but limited. Parking available behind lockable gates. Well recommended hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very spacious room by European standards. Hard bed and awkward shower, but those are typical American complaints. Everything was immaculately clean, very polite staff and great grounds and views. Cool backstory that the building used to be the Brit's Embassy. A bit of a walk from Chania harbor, but a cheap cab ride. Air conditioning and WiFi both worked as advertised.

Room Tip: all floors now have WiFi and the top stories are quieter and have better odds of a nice view. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
423 reviews
4.1 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
399 reviews
3.4 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#17 of 111 in Chania Town
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
565 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#39 of 111 in Chania Town
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halepa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halepa Hotel

Address: 164 Venizelou Eleftheriou, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#17 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £72 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halepa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to hotel Halepa.Our relaxing haven is conveniently located just minutes away from the city center of Chania, in the well known area of Halepa, from which it has received its name.Nestled in a quiet side road of Halepa area, the hotel blends the charm and personality of yesterday with the amenities and technology of today, making an ideal place for those seeking the historic and modern in one destinationIt has since 1990 being offering accommodation services and our many visitors are a great proof that when they seek a relaxing environment, they will definitely find it within our renowned hospitality. The New Classical architecture has remained even after being converted into a luxurious accommodation facility, as this building has played a great role in Cretan history.Halepa area itself sits just outside the city center, next to Dikastiria (main Court House of Chania) with all the amenities of the city center just minutes away - pharmacy, dentist, doctor, realtor, hair salons, exercise club, super markets, walking trails and dozens of local restaurants and taverns and a cinema are found along the main road leading to Dikastiria. sprinkled among unique shops and entertainment.As a guest you can expect the best hospitality and the latest amenities offered by hotel Halepa. Dedicated and attentive service at the front desk, DSL internet access, the spacious lounging area with the Fireplace and Piano, elegant breakfast area, Meeting room (20 persons), Cafeteria, Bar are enough to satisfy the most eclectic of customers and many more conveniences ensure your happiness while staying with us.Whether business or pleasure brings you to Halepa Hotel, the same warm personal Cretan hospitality awaits you.We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halepa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halepa Hotel Chania
Halepa Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing