We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Chania”
Review of Halepa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Halepa Hotel
Ranked #23 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2007

If you look for a nice and quiet place to stay in Chania, Halepa Hotel is the one for you.
We spent 5 nights in a double room in the traditional wing this August. The room is spacious with minibar and airconditioning.
Bathroom is new with bathtub (rare in Greece!).
The breakfast is OK, continental style.
The location of the hotel is really a plus if you want to relax: just 20 min walking from old town (5 min by car).
The staff is very friendly and helpful and they can give you good advice about wher to go and restaurants (the hotel has a bar, but not a restaurant!).

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vlod71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2007

This was a delightful hotel located about 20 minutes walking from the Old Town. The service was superior. Very friendly staff - couldn't do enough to please us. Free use of office laptop for internet.

Beautiful facility with pleasant grounds for relaxing in the mornings or evenings. During the heat of the day the room has shutters that make it one of the darkest, quietest rooms we've ever stayed in. Great for the mid-afternoon siesta, which is recommended. We saw the cook dozing at one restaurant during a late lunch, and the owner of the restaurant you pass walking down to the market on El. Venizelou was cutting the z's on a lounge chair when we stopped in about 3:00 in the afternoon. Everbody comes out to eat at the open air restaurants along the Old Venetian Harbor starting around 8:30 or 9:00 in the evening.

The room and bath were adequate in size. We had a double room in the New wing, but in hindsite would have booked an upgrade in the older section. The price was comparable to what we paid elsewhere in Greece and Italy for similar accomodations.

Buy a wide-brimmed straw hat and white Greek half sleeve cotton shirt in the market area if you plan to do a lot of walking. I was amazed at how light and cool they were compared to the high tech wicking fabric I packed.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Heydehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2007

My fiance and I just came back from a 2 week trek throughout the Greek Islands. Halepa hotel was one of the more memorable hotels on our trip. Not only did we look into booking this hotel b/c we saw it on the TravelChannel's show "Great Hotels"--but the reviews on this site seemed to support the excellent ratings as well.

Hotel staff is available (and extremely pleasant and helpful) at all times of the day which we found out the hard way as our hydrofoil came in 7 hours late into Heraklion--so we didn't arrive to Chania until 6am (supposed to be there at 11pm!). Staff was also very knowledgeable about various tours and sights around Chania in addition to helpful transportation info about getting around Crete.

Beautiful grounds and interior well kept--hotel used to be the British Embassy in the 1800's so the decor and ambiance are well above par. Rooms are spotless and decorated beautifully--beds very comfortable! Breakfast is basic, but good enough to start us out for the day.

Location is fine...located right across the water, grounds directly outside the hotel provide a beautiful view of the Sea of Crete. Expect a 15-20 minute walk down to the Venetian port--which is fine b/c the breeze can cool on a 98 degree day not to mention the breathtaking blue water in the background.

Overall, a great hotel for the price...would recommend for a pleasant stay in a great town by the sea.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bootowork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

We stayed at the Halepa for a week end of June 2007 during the heatwave!

The Halepa is a pleasant hotel situated only 20 minutes walk from the main harbours, it cost 20 Euro taxi fare to get here from the airport.

Throughout our stay the staff were both incredibly helpful and polite, seeming eager to greet us and provide much local information. The rooms in the new part of the building were standard and clean. The bathroom was however a little small. The air conditioning worked beautifully. No decent view was visible from our window but this didn't matter to us as we were out most of the time!

The hotel also has a free (small) electric gate secured car park at its rear for your hire car.

Breakfast was available from 0730 till 1000, continental style. Although there is a bar they do not provide any other meals. The hotel staff were happy however to provide an earlier breakfast for those heading off early to the Samaria gorge!

All in all a good hotel, with plenty of character in its foyer and small lounge areas, the staff were certainly friendly and spoke good english.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank majormondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2006

We saw the Halepa hotel on the TripAdvisor . We stayed at this hotel for only 3 nights but they were a wonderful part of our trip to Crete. The hotel is indeed, only about 20 min. walk from the Venetian Harbour with all its restaurants (great food at reasonable prices )and shops. We enjoyed going for a jog in the morning down to the harbour and saying hello to all the surprised restauranteurs who were just opening for morning coffee!! As well, there is a small beach just 500 m. away where you can swim, sunbathe and watch the locals surf-fish off the rocks. We had a traditional room in the old part of the hotel which used to be the British Embassy and it is well appointed in the old tradition of the times. The 15 foot ceilings and doors are interesting as are the skeleton keys to open your room!! However, all is safe and sound; the crime rate there is very low and you can use the safety deposit boxes at the desk if you wish.
The owners Mary and Anthony are very hospitable and are very forthcoming with information about the area. As well, their other desk staff couldn't be more helpful. (the night staff made us coffee and baked goods at 4:30am when we were off to an early flight !)The breakfasts were great; had the best coffee there that I had in all of Crete. We hope to return some day to explore the area more and enjoy their hospitality.!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank BalancePoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2006

We stayed at the Halepa for four nights in July 2006. Check the hotel's website, it is a very accurate description of the reality. We liked the hotel very much. It is situated at a walking distance of about 20 minutes to the old port. We rented a car, which was quite comfortable since the city of Chania is very streched out. The staff is very friendly and shows a personal interest in your stay. Breakfast is superbe and the interior decoration of the lobby and the bar is very well done and classy. We also liked to finish our breakfast with a cup of coffee at the terrace in front of the house. We stayed in a modern room, which was OK and very clean. An upgrade of the bathroom would have meant "Excellent" in my overall rating.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank StefanFromBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2005

We stayed at the Halepa for six nights and enjoyed it very much. The hotel has comfortable rooms and an above average buffet breakfast as far as budget hotels go in Crete. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They arranged our hike in the Samaria Gorge providing comfortable transportation and a snack. There is free private parking. The only draw back is that it will be a bit of a trek for some walking down to and from Hania (15-20 minutes to the centre). We, though, enjoyed the walk along the water. It provides for the opportunity to stroll through the section of the waterfront frequented largely by locals. Overall, it was a very comfortable stay. Take a look at their website. It's an accurate depiction of the hotel grounds. The hotel is definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travelglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
429 reviews
4.1 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
403 reviews
5.7 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#41 of 111 in Chania Town
123 reviews
3.4 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#17 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halepa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halepa Hotel

Address: 164 Venizelou Eleftheriou, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#17 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £67 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halepa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to hotel Halepa.Our relaxing haven is conveniently located just minutes away from the city center of Chania, in the well known area of Halepa, from which it has received its name.Nestled in a quiet side road of Halepa area, the hotel blends the charm and personality of yesterday with the amenities and technology of today, making an ideal place for those seeking the historic and modern in one destinationIt has since 1990 being offering accommodation services and our many visitors are a great proof that when they seek a relaxing environment, they will definitely find it within our renowned hospitality. The New Classical architecture has remained even after being converted into a luxurious accommodation facility, as this building has played a great role in Cretan history.Halepa area itself sits just outside the city center, next to Dikastiria (main Court House of Chania) with all the amenities of the city center just minutes away - pharmacy, dentist, doctor, realtor, hair salons, exercise club, super markets, walking trails and dozens of local restaurants and taverns and a cinema are found along the main road leading to Dikastiria. sprinkled among unique shops and entertainment.As a guest you can expect the best hospitality and the latest amenities offered by hotel Halepa. Dedicated and attentive service at the front desk, DSL internet access, the spacious lounging area with the Fireplace and Piano, elegant breakfast area, Meeting room (20 persons), Cafeteria, Bar are enough to satisfy the most eclectic of customers and many more conveniences ensure your happiness while staying with us.Whether business or pleasure brings you to Halepa Hotel, the same warm personal Cretan hospitality awaits you.We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Halepa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halepa Hotel Chania
Halepa Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing