We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will come back with great pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Palazzo
Ranked #54 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will come back with great pleasure!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed just for one night in July and it was wonderful! Incredible location, charming building, carefully renovated and well-keeped. When we knew from the owner the age of the building and it's origin, we were just shocked...
Very-very clean and comfortable accomodation. Would recommend to everyone who are planning a stay in a beautiful Chania and will come back ourselves!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey and Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    46
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
71
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I were at Hotel Palazzo in May, 2013. This was our third time to stay here in recent years. The hotel has an "old world" atmosphere, enhanced by creaky wood floors and high, breezy windows in the rooms. We especially enjoy relaxing on the lovely rooftop garden/terrace with views of both Chania and the sea. The reception staff has always been friendly and helpful, and they never failed to greet us with a smile and a kind word as we entered the building. Hotel Palazzo is conveniently located for sightseeing, restaurants, shopping, or simply strolling along the sea. We have always parked in the free parking lot near the waterfront, only a 3-4 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers a wonderful breakfast, including coffee, tea, fruit, eggs, bread, butter, jams and jellies, and best of all, an ample serving of Greek yogurt with honey. We have always felt comfortable and at home while staying here, and the owners were more than happy for us to use the kitchen area on the main floor to heat water for tea in our room (we carry our own tea bags with us) whenever we wanted it, whether day or night. One of my favorite things to do while staying here was to go down to the kitchen area each night, where there is a strong wifi signal, and write in my travel journal or catch up on e-mails. I had the whole kitchen to myself, and I enjoyed the quiet and solitude as I wrote. On our most recent visit, we stayed on the third floor and had a nice balcony overlooking the pedestrian street below. We have also stayed in a room on the second floor, called the "Athena" on previous visits, and it was very comfortable as well. We look forward to another stay at Hotel Palazzo the next time we visit Chania, and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We really like the room called "Athena", and the room above it. The corner rooms we have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Palazzo in May, 2013. This was our third stay at Hotel Palazzo, and we have always enjoyed our time here. We love the "old world" atmosphere of the rooms, enhanced by creaky wood floors and high, breezy windows. We also enjoyed relaxing on the lovely rooftop garden/terrace with views of Chania and the sea. We have always found the receptionist, Anastasia, and her mother to be friendly and helpful, and they always greeted us with a smile and a kind word when we entered the hotel. Hotel Palazzo is conveniently located for sightseeing and restaurants. We have always parked in the free parking lot just 3-4 minutes down the street near the water. The hotel offers a wonderful breakfast, including coffee, tea, fruit, eggs, bread, butter, jams and jellies, and an ample serving of my favorite breakfast item -- Greek yogurt with honey. We felt perfectly at home during each of our stays, and the owners were more than happy for us to use the kitchen area downstairs to heat water for tea (we carry our own teabags with us) whenever we wanted it, night or day. One of my favorite things to do while staying here was to go down to the kitchen area each night, where there is a strong wifi signal, to write in my travel journal or catch up on e-mails. I had the whole room to myself and I enjoyed the quiet and solitude as I wrote. On our most recent visit we stayed on the third floor and had a nice balcony overlooking the narrow pedestrian street below. We have stayed in the second floor room "Athena" on previous visits, and it was very comfortable as well. We look forward to another stay at Hotel Palazzo the next time we visit Chania, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are two windows in the corner rooms, and we especially enjoyed the room on the second floor ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchholz in der Nordheide, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

When we arrived, we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist. We were charmed by the decor and the authentic Florentine style of it. We then went to our room, which was a little on the small side, but we were only staying for one night so it didn't matter. What DID matter, however, was that when we got to the hotel, we had left our car parked in the town center as we didn't know where to park around the hotel. This is where things went wrong.

The receptionist gave us a city map and pointed us to the 'parking lot by the sea', which is FREE (24 hrs) for everyone on our street. It looked pretty full but she said "just drive to it and wait a little, as people are coming and going all the time". So, the only pieces of information she gave us were: it's free for 24 hours for everyone on our street AND wait till someone pulls out.

She neglected to give us the most critical piece of info, though. She forgot to tell us that the lot closest to the sea is for RESIDENTS only. Of course, we just trusted what she said and parked there without looking at the signs. Why would we? As far as we're concerned, she told us what we need to know.

So, as we're leaving for the airport at 5:15 the next morning, we discover an 80 Euro parking ticket on our car. We couldn't believe it! We were not very happy but we were on our way to the airport so we decided to leave it until we got back home.

We then contacted Palazzo by email and told them about the situation and asked them if they would take care of the ticket. They flatly refused and said that they had informed us of the situation and that we should have read the signs.

Well, they certainly hadn't informed us of the dual-lot rules. It is true that we hadn't read the signs, but this is strictly because we trusted the information that we got from the receptionist.

You can be sure that from now on, they will be informing all of their guests about this. It's pretty easy to do. Just tell them that there are TWO LOTS and that only one is for hotel guests. That's all. But, on the other hand, perhaps this is all a cash-grab scheme between the city and some of the hotels? Maybe... hmmm... dunno...

Bottom line: They didn't tell us about it. They say that they did. Our word (the truth) against theirs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrankSchumacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in September 2011 and found the hotel to be a perfect place to stay in Chania. We were in the 2nd floor (one flight up) front facing room with a balcony, overlooking Theokopolous Street. The balcony was a wonderful amenity, and we loved sitting out there in the early evening watching people stroll on the street below. The room is surprisingly large, we have 2 twin beds pushed together and though the mattress is a bit hard, it's a comfortable place to be. The bathroom is modernized, too. The proprietress is very welcoming and helpful, and we felt vey much at home after 5 days here. The breakfasts were excellent - especially loved the Greek yogurt. Chania is a beautiful place to stay for several days, and Hotel Palazzo a great place to stay. It's not a luxury property but it's a lovely small hotel run with a personal touch.

Room Tip: Front facing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The hotel is well placed in the centre of the lovely old town. Less than 5 minutes walk to the harbour. Fifteen minutes from the bus station.
The young lass at reception was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was a bit on the small side and the shower was tight for space. The balcony looked on to the street and it was fun to people watch. The street was not particularly noisy the night we were there. Breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for room looking onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I had a very nice stay in this hotel, very clean and cozy. Also nice breakfast. I will go again without doubt

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#64 of 110 in Chania Town
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 110 in Chania Town
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hera
Hotel Hera
#97 of 110 in Chania Town
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elia Betolo Hotel
Elia Betolo Hotel
#25 of 110 in Chania Town
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#21 of 110 in Chania Town
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#13 of 110 in Chania Town
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo

Property: Hotel Palazzo
Address: 54 Theotokopoulou Street, Chania Town, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Hotel Chania
Hotel Palazzo Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing