We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rate, but difficult spot”
Review of Elia Palazzo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elia Palazzo Hotel
Ranked #61 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Great rate, but difficult spot”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Charming receptionist and great breakfast cook Irina stole my heart but I was in a musty room next to reception which was very noisy much of the time, so no naps for me. My bed was very uncomfortable. Water not much more than lukewarm.
We lucked out by guessing that we could park in the right spot along the water, and had the parking karma all three days. Do not park in residents lot or you will get a big ticket, we were told. Location very nice, within easy walking distance of all the sights. Get out your GPS for getting in and out of town though, because there's some crazy traffic and one-way streets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    47
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
73
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were looking for a small hotel for one night only so we could have a night in Chania and not have to drive back.
I stayed at this hotel more by accident than by design as we wanted something central and not expensive so checked trip advisor and found this one!
The hotel has a great location on the edge of the old town near the harbour within easy walk of the restaurants markets. The hotel is small and very traditional with really friendly staff and a nice feel to it. The bedroom we had faced the small street and had a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs overlooking the street. The room was traditional with a small bathroom and all very clean and well looked after.
There was a little noise from the street but it is pedestrian only and stopped at a reasonable time.
After a few bottles of red we didn't really notice it!
We didn't use the hotel for breakfast as there are plenty of very nice little cafes very close which do breakfast for under 10 euro
If you are lucky there is car parking in the street 200 yds from the hotel with no time restriction.

Room Tip: Room we had was called Athena on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great location near port and restaurants. A little noise from clients at nearby restaurants early in night, but stopped at reasonable time. (We had small balcony overlooking the street.) Very helpful staff ( a family-run hotel). Stayed 3 nights, late October and would not hesitate to go again. Weather was perfect: blue skies, maximum temperatures 25-30 C.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh99_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed just for one night in July and it was wonderful! Incredible location, charming building, carefully renovated and well-keeped. When we knew from the owner the age of the building and it's origin, we were just shocked...
Very-very clean and comfortable accomodation. Would recommend to everyone who are planning a stay in a beautiful Chania and will come back ourselves!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey and Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I were at Hotel Palazzo in May, 2013. This was our third time to stay here in recent years. The hotel has an "old world" atmosphere, enhanced by creaky wood floors and high, breezy windows in the rooms. We especially enjoy relaxing on the lovely rooftop garden/terrace with views of both Chania and the sea. The reception staff has always been friendly and helpful, and they never failed to greet us with a smile and a kind word as we entered the building. Hotel Palazzo is conveniently located for sightseeing, restaurants, shopping, or simply strolling along the sea. We have always parked in the free parking lot near the waterfront, only a 3-4 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers a wonderful breakfast, including coffee, tea, fruit, eggs, bread, butter, jams and jellies, and best of all, an ample serving of Greek yogurt with honey. We have always felt comfortable and at home while staying here, and the owners were more than happy for us to use the kitchen area on the main floor to heat water for tea in our room (we carry our own tea bags with us) whenever we wanted it, whether day or night. One of my favorite things to do while staying here was to go down to the kitchen area each night, where there is a strong wifi signal, and write in my travel journal or catch up on e-mails. I had the whole kitchen to myself, and I enjoyed the quiet and solitude as I wrote. On our most recent visit, we stayed on the third floor and had a nice balcony overlooking the pedestrian street below. We have also stayed in a room on the second floor, called the "Athena" on previous visits, and it was very comfortable as well. We look forward to another stay at Hotel Palazzo the next time we visit Chania, and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We really like the room called "Athena", and the room above it. The corner rooms we have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Palazzo in May, 2013. This was our third stay at Hotel Palazzo, and we have always enjoyed our time here. We love the "old world" atmosphere of the rooms, enhanced by creaky wood floors and high, breezy windows. We also enjoyed relaxing on the lovely rooftop garden/terrace with views of Chania and the sea. We have always found the receptionist, Anastasia, and her mother to be friendly and helpful, and they always greeted us with a smile and a kind word when we entered the hotel. Hotel Palazzo is conveniently located for sightseeing and restaurants. We have always parked in the free parking lot just 3-4 minutes down the street near the water. The hotel offers a wonderful breakfast, including coffee, tea, fruit, eggs, bread, butter, jams and jellies, and an ample serving of my favorite breakfast item -- Greek yogurt with honey. We felt perfectly at home during each of our stays, and the owners were more than happy for us to use the kitchen area downstairs to heat water for tea (we carry our own teabags with us) whenever we wanted it, night or day. One of my favorite things to do while staying here was to go down to the kitchen area each night, where there is a strong wifi signal, to write in my travel journal or catch up on e-mails. I had the whole room to myself and I enjoyed the quiet and solitude as I wrote. On our most recent visit we stayed on the third floor and had a nice balcony overlooking the narrow pedestrian street below. We have stayed in the second floor room "Athena" on previous visits, and it was very comfortable as well. We look forward to another stay at Hotel Palazzo the next time we visit Chania, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are two windows in the corner rooms, and we especially enjoyed the room on the second floor ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchholz in der Nordheide, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

When we arrived, we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist. We were charmed by the decor and the authentic Florentine style of it. We then went to our room, which was a little on the small side, but we were only staying for one night so it didn't matter. What DID matter, however, was that when we got to the hotel, we had left our car parked in the town center as we didn't know where to park around the hotel. This is where things went wrong.

The receptionist gave us a city map and pointed us to the 'parking lot by the sea', which is FREE (24 hrs) for everyone on our street. It looked pretty full but she said "just drive to it and wait a little, as people are coming and going all the time". So, the only pieces of information she gave us were: it's free for 24 hours for everyone on our street AND wait till someone pulls out.

She neglected to give us the most critical piece of info, though. She forgot to tell us that the lot closest to the sea is for RESIDENTS only. Of course, we just trusted what she said and parked there without looking at the signs. Why would we? As far as we're concerned, she told us what we need to know.

So, as we're leaving for the airport at 5:15 the next morning, we discover an 80 Euro parking ticket on our car. We couldn't believe it! We were not very happy but we were on our way to the airport so we decided to leave it until we got back home.

We then contacted Palazzo by email and told them about the situation and asked them if they would take care of the ticket. They flatly refused and said that they had informed us of the situation and that we should have read the signs.

Well, they certainly hadn't informed us of the dual-lot rules. It is true that we hadn't read the signs, but this is strictly because we trusted the information that we got from the receptionist.

You can be sure that from now on, they will be informing all of their guests about this. It's pretty easy to do. Just tell them that there are TWO LOTS and that only one is for hotel guests. That's all. But, on the other hand, perhaps this is all a cash-grab scheme between the city and some of the hotels? Maybe... hmmm... dunno...

Bottom line: They didn't tell us about it. They say that they did. Our word (the truth) against theirs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrankSchumacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Elia Betolo Hotel
Elia Betolo Hotel
#25 of 110 in Chania Town
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#31 of 110 in Chania Town
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#28 of 110 in Chania Town
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#76 of 110 in Chania Town
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#47 of 110 in Chania Town
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#41 of 110 in Chania Town
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elia Palazzo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elia Palazzo Hotel

Property: Elia Palazzo Hotel
Address: 54 Theotokopoulou Street, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece (Formerly Hotel Palazzo)
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elia Palazzo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elia Palazzo is a new Member of Elia Hotels Group it is located at at Theotokopoulou street one of the many charming streets of the historical district that lead towards the ancient Venetian harbor of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Elia Palazzo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Hotel Chania
Hotel Palazzo
Elia Palazzo Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing