We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice rooms, excellent hospitality!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Duca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo Duca Hotel
Ranked #4 of 91 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms, excellent hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed there for one night and our room was very clean, modern and comfortable. The manager and staff (George and Christina) were very knowledgeable and friendly and were very keen to provide us with restaurant recommendations etc. Strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satisfiedwiththebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
137
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We started our trip in Crete here in Chaina- and it could not had been better. Amazingly friendly staff/owner, nice boutique hotel. We enjoyed our 2 nights stay here. The cocomat bed and the nice balcony upstairs that you can use to eat your breakfast or just go up for a drink on your own make it even more special.
In addition, it is right next to a great restaurant (literally across of it) Tamam- which was one of the best culinary experience we had during our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gyorgyigurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My trip to Europe this year included 10 countries. This hotel was the one which made the most impact. From the imformative & very friendly staff, cute location, rooms which have personality not like chain hotels.
I absolutely loved my stay at Palazzo Duca and wish I could have extended my stay there.
I cannot thank the young lady on reception enough. Such personal service. I will be back to stay again!

Room Tip: I found it helpful to have (as I didn't have the internetbon my phone) a few pics of google map...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kclads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We recently stayed at Palazzo Duca hotel for 5 nights (August 2013). The staff and owner were extremely pleasant and helpful. The location was perfect and the rooms were very spacious, clean and decorated beautifully and was very well priced. We would most definitely stay there again when we next visit Chania and would highly recommend.
Helen and Angelo, Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Centrally-located hotel with clean, simple, well-proportioned rooms, offering good value. Limited communal areas. Standard, but friendly/personal service and generous goodbye gifts (bottle of olive oil and local tsikoudia). Great for 1 or 2 nights stay to visit chania. Some noise from nearby bars / restos if you go to bed early

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vassilis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed as a couple acros the North coast of Crete over the first half of August 2013, (Chana, Rethymnon and Heraklion). This was by far the best location, biggest room and fairest price we found, (the best of a very good bunch).
The hotel is small, (less than 10 rooms), and you very much benefit from the personal touch. The staff are very friendly and welcomng and always on hand to offer advice and ideas if one is stuck for things to do, (unlikely). The harbour and old docks are less than 75m outside the font door and it's location means you are immersed in the small passageways and tavernas of the old town with your first step outside the door. That said, it was quiet and peaceful when you wanted to sleep.
The breakfast was fair in content and price for the area and I know they welcomed feedback while we were there, so expect to see a breakfast more reflective of the other excellent characteristics of this hotel if you were to stay.
We were there for 3 nights and it was a wonderful start to out holiday. I would recommend the Palazzo Duca to anyone wanting to stay in Chania. Having spoken with other Europeans while there on their experience of their hotels I would even further urge you to stay here.
This is a lovely quaint hotel with the strengths of a well run and professional team and the benefits of a friendly personal touch. WE WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: Anywhere on the front of the hotel faces out onto the tavernas below and the harbour to the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KuwaitDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The building and rooms are beautiful and George and the rest of the staff are fantastic.

The location is fabulous - right in the old harbor and close to everything. No complaints about this place. Everything was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Travel_Junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
#2 of 91 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Duca Hotel

Property: Palazzo Duca Hotel
Address: Douka Str. 27 - 29, Old town, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Duca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palazzo Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Duca Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing