We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Palazzo Duca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo Duca Hotel
Ranked #7 of 107 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our only regret is that we could not stay longer...Our room was spacious and beautifully restored with modern amenities but an old world charm. Everything was spotless. Our terrace had a nuce view of the harbor which made the room feel even brighter. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The location was great, close to restaurants, shops and the harbor but the room was quiet at night. We hope to come back someday and stay a long time at the Palazzo Duca Hotel in Chania Town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank djsmjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    25
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
143
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Clean hotel, nice furnished, friendly stuff, good location, they even started serving breakfast on remand. Overall its a great hotel and i recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the old town of chania.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenalimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Really beautiful hotel in great location in Chania just off the harbourside Staff fantastic Restaurants and shops on the doorstep We got a great deall for £55 per night We have travelled all of Greece mainland and many islands and as far as small towns i would definately say Chania is the best It's small so a few days 2-3 There are also lovely town beaches within 20-30 mins walk

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomsonsglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very charming hotel in autentic Chania style with lovely staff. We arrived very late without informing the hotel and the receptionist was still waiting for us even though reception closed severak hiurs earlier. We came for our honey moon and had a nice surprise in our room.

Rooms are very clean and very well decorated. We had a nice qooden balcony also with partial view on the harbour.

Definitely a great decision to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiruba84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos I, Owner at Palazzo Duca Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We are always glad to hear that our guests had a nice time. Thank you very much for all of your kind words, and we hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a lovely stay at Plazzo Ducca Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is very clean located within the old town of Chania. They provide a wonderful breakfast and free wifi. Very good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos I, Owner at Palazzo Duca Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Many thanks again for staying at "Palazzo Duca".
We are happy that you had an enjoyable time and thank you for your kind words.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for only one night . It is the most beautiful place. The owner and other staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are furnished to the highest of standards and very tastefully designed- no expense spared- a real gem in the heart of the old town of Chania. The bed linen was luxurious and we were delighted to find a little kitchenette in our room- very useful and welcomed for making tea, a sandwich and having a fridge. Live it and will definitely visit again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoddess2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in lovely room 301 for two weeks from 20th Aug to 3rd Sep and I have nothing but good things to say about this excellent hotel. The room exceeded expectations. Spacious, with modern touches whilst retaining the traditional aspects of the building. Good air conditioning which for a couple of Scottish folk who rarely see the sun let alone experience heat, was a must. Lovely modern bathroom. There's a well kitted out little kitchenette too which makes all the difference especially if you're staying any length of time as it has a fridge and crucially, a coffee maker! What really impressed me was that despite buying washing up liquid to do our own dishes, they were done for us every day and that is simply fantastic.
The reception staff are really nice and always willing to chat and suggest things. They are knowledgeable and efficient and a credit to the hotel.
As far as Chania and things to do, we'll if you stay any length of time as we did, I'd recommend hiring a car and exploring a bit, be it beaches or driving through the mountains - scary but worth it!
In Chania, the Archaeology Museum is small but very worth while. Of course the Venetian harbour is an experience in itself and the central hub of bars and restaurants although it's always worth going a little off the beaten track to find less busy and more authentic places to eat and drink: Mamouth has great nibbles and hosts live music. A good street for smaller, more traditional (where the locals eat) restaurants is Chatzimichali Daliani, a short walk from the main harbour. Another good place is The Green Eye, good food and service and they show premier league football and F1 and they have good free Wifi. We also went snorkelling with Captain Nick and it's a great experience not to be missed, so much so we did it twice. He's the best and will look after you really well, I can see why so many people rate him as a top attraction.
We had a great holiday, made all the better by this excellent little hotel. We will certainly return!

Room Tip: Room 301 has a nice little balcony. They do have a breakfast room now but we didn't try it on ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 108 in Chania Town
472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 108 in Chania Town
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#7 of 108 in Chania Town
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 108 in Chania Town
1,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#20 of 108 in Chania Town
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 108 in Chania Town
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Duca Hotel

Property: Palazzo Duca Hotel
Address: Douka Str. 27 - 29, Old town, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Duca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Duca Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing