We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My mother loved the place”
Review of Palazzo Duca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo Duca Hotel
Ranked #7 of 107 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“My mother loved the place”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My mother is 81 years old and not so good with computers, so I write this for her. She stayed in Palazzo Duca over Christmas, since our house up the street is to small and has to many stairs for her. So I booked this hotel for her for three reasons: the elevator, the location and the many good reviews i read here.

It delivered on all counts and more. Unfortunately, mom's suitcase didn't arrive with us to the airport, so she was a bit worried. But the nice people at Duca gave her lots of support, made many phone calls and I can tell you she will never forget how they saved her Christmas. They know what good service is, it's obviously in their bloodstream and it's called hospitality.

On arrival she got an upgrade to the best room in the place for a very small fee. No big thing for them, since she was the only guest, but good thinking anyway.

The hotel was nice and clean and the location is perfect, just 30 meters from the port, in the nicest part of Chania (that's where we have our house). Te only thing she didn't like was that she was all alone in the hotel the first nights, it made her a bit worried, even though she was perfectly safe.

Comfortable bed, nice balcony and good bathroom. She didn't eat the breakfast, since she preferred to make her own - there was a fridge and a cooker in the room.

So, top marks from mom (and from me, when mom is happy, I am happy)!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    25
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
143
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kassel, Deutschland
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a perfect stay in your rooms.
- Nice interior (nice paintings, lamps, furniture. It looked like normal room and not like a clinical hotel room)
- great bed (comfortable and big)
- clean and modern bathroom
- and a jakuzzi (It is just awesome to jump in after long day)

Thanks a lot!
We had a perfect stay in your rooms.
- Nice interior (nice paintings, lamps, furniture. It looked like normal room and not like a clinical hotel room)
- great bed,
- clean and modern bathroom
- and a jakuzzi.

Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carsten185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed two nights in the run-up to a conference and was not let down by the previous reviews. Room on the top floor was well appointed with a small kitchenette. Best feature was a private terrace with hot-tub. Very friendly staff. Room was quiet - minor noise during the day (solar panels changing position?) but nothing to detract from the overall experience.

Chania lovely too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our only regret is that we could not stay longer...Our room was spacious and beautifully restored with modern amenities but an old world charm. Everything was spotless. Our terrace had a nuce view of the harbor which made the room feel even brighter. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The location was great, close to restaurants, shops and the harbor but the room was quiet at night. We hope to come back someday and stay a long time at the Palazzo Duca Hotel in Chania Town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank djsmjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Clean hotel, nice furnished, friendly stuff, good location, they even started serving breakfast on remand. Overall its a great hotel and i recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the old town of chania.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenalimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Really beautiful hotel in great location in Chania just off the harbourside Staff fantastic Restaurants and shops on the doorstep We got a great deall for £55 per night We have travelled all of Greece mainland and many islands and as far as small towns i would definately say Chania is the best It's small so a few days 2-3 There are also lovely town beaches within 20-30 mins walk

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomsonsglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very charming hotel in autentic Chania style with lovely staff. We arrived very late without informing the hotel and the receptionist was still waiting for us even though reception closed severak hiurs earlier. We came for our honey moon and had a nice surprise in our room.

Rooms are very clean and very well decorated. We had a nice qooden balcony also with partial view on the harbour.

Definitely a great decision to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiruba84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos I, Owner at Palazzo Duca Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We are always glad to hear that our guests had a nice time. Thank you very much for all of your kind words, and we hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 108 in Chania Town
472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 108 in Chania Town
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#7 of 108 in Chania Town
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 108 in Chania Town
1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#20 of 108 in Chania Town
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 108 in Chania Town
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Duca Hotel

Property: Palazzo Duca Hotel
Address: Douka Str. 27 - 29, Old town, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Duca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Duca Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing