We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Duca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Duca Hotel
Ranked #4 of 91 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
2 reviews
“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was in Chania visiting some friends who moved there and chose the Palazzo Duca Hotel and am very pleased that I did. It was all it promised to be and more. The staff were very efficient and extremely welcoming and helpful. It is in a great location and any night noise from surrounding restaurants is completely blocked when the windows are closed. I enjoyed several tasty breakfasts on my balcony looking at the harbor. My room was the suite on the third floor. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vmtDenveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
137
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penn Yan, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 nites in a junior suite on a recent trip and loved it. Clean, modern and comfortable rooms, we had a little balcony and nice little view of harbor/sea. George, the manager was wonderful to us and very helpful, as was rest of staff.... Its a great location if you are looking to stay in old town...near the harbor but not noisy, easy to get to once you get your bearings. Very comforable beds, which in Greece is a big plus (lots of sub par mattresses on our trip)

Room Tip: def pay up for a junior suite if available ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winenerdcron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Palazzo Duca hotel at the end of a two week trip to the Cyclades and it was wonderful. The location is wonderful, the staff so helpful & friendly and our room was lovely. We sampled the breakfast which was better than anything we had in all our travels & great value for money. I thoroughly recommend this great hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank btzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We visited Chania in October 2013 and stumbled across this hotel. We asked to have a look around and we were encouraged to stay at the hotel in the future. We visited Chania again in April 2014 and stayed at Palazzo Duca. The rooms and beds are very comfortable, and the rooms are quite well equipped. There is a good choice of things for breakfast including Cretan options, and it sets you up very well for the day. The staff are friendly and helpful, and we hope to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malia, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I cant explain how perfect our stay was! We had the top suite with Hot tub! :)
The hotel itself was out of this world the attention to detail from every single aspect
was fantastic! What a find! Im a travel agent and love finding new hotels this will be one
that we will return to over and over.
The room its self was beautiful so spacious and private on the balcony, there was even a small
kitchen and fridge so we could keep out champagne cooled!!!
The hotel is directly behind the port with all the shops,bars and tavernas so perfect
position. Breakfast was freshly cooked the next morning for us and was plentiful! :)
For a small boutique hotel it was perfect!

Room Tip: Book the room with HOT TUB! It was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahVagelisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My mother is 81 years old and not so good with computers, so I write this for her. She stayed in Palazzo Duca over Christmas, since our house up the street is to small and has to many stairs for her. So I booked this hotel for her for three reasons: the elevator, the location and the many good reviews i read here.

It delivered on all counts and more. Unfortunately, mom's suitcase didn't arrive with us to the airport, so she was a bit worried. But the nice people at Duca gave her lots of support, made many phone calls and I can tell you she will never forget how they saved her Christmas. They know what good service is, it's obviously in their bloodstream and it's called hospitality.

On arrival she got an upgrade to the best room in the place for a very small fee. No big thing for them, since she was the only guest, but good thinking anyway.

The hotel was nice and clean and the location is perfect, just 30 meters from the port, in the nicest part of Chania (that's where we have our house). Te only thing she didn't like was that she was all alone in the hotel the first nights, it made her a bit worried, even though she was perfectly safe.

Comfortable bed, nice balcony and good bathroom. She didn't eat the breakfast, since she preferred to make her own - there was a fridge and a cooker in the room.

So, top marks from mom (and from me, when mom is happy, I am happy)!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel, Deutschland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a perfect stay in your rooms.
- Nice interior (nice paintings, lamps, furniture. It looked like normal room and not like a clinical hotel room)
- great bed (comfortable and big)
- clean and modern bathroom
- and a jakuzzi (It is just awesome to jump in after long day)

Thanks a lot!
We had a perfect stay in your rooms.
- Nice interior (nice paintings, lamps, furniture. It looked like normal room and not like a clinical hotel room)
- great bed,
- clean and modern bathroom
- and a jakuzzi.

Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carsten185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
#2 of 91 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Duca Hotel

Property: Palazzo Duca Hotel
Address: Douka Str. 27 - 29, Old town, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Duca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palazzo Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Duca Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing