We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected”
Review of Palazzo Duca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Duca Hotel
Ranked #10 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Considering the location of this hotel, we were expecting a tiny room with minimal amenities. When I first opened the door, my jaw dropped. I was met with a beautiful, spacious room with a large, comfy bed, a meals area, a kitchenette and a private courtyard fitted with a jacuzzi. The building is wonderfully restored, keeping the old venetian charm. Amazing. The service from all the staff was fantastic (particularly from George) and right in the heart of the old city.

Room Tip: Check out the Jacuzzi in 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent our first night in Crete in Old Town Chania and we were pleasantly surprised by the kindness of the people, the beautiful renovation of the hotel and the cleanliness and meticulousness room. Our room overlooked a pedestrian road and a small view of the sea, in the morning the sun was bright and warm and perfect for sitting and overlooking the quiet bustle of people preparing for the day with deliveries and cleanup from the evening before. Everyone was very helpful at the hotel, including helping us look for a pharmacy, somewhere to eat and questions about breakfast. And when we left, they gave us a gift from the owner of home-made olive oil and a bottle of homemade Raki(which is similar to Grappa, but less intense). Old Chania Town is quite touristy, but the old architecture is still present if you want to experience the authenticity of old Crete. I encourage you to overlook the fact that it's overrun with tourist shop after tourist shop and pushy restaurateurs.. In fact, look for the restaurants who do not ask you to come inside and the quietest, smallest tourists shops without blinding signage are the best places to find sandals and dresses at a lower price. Food is extremely low-cost and high volume.. you will never starve and you can easily feed a man with less than 7 Euro including a drink, for lunch. And for two, including wine and dessert it was still less than 35 Euro for two, for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjfeliziani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What an incredible stay. The hotel is beautifully restored, in a beautiful Venetian building 1 cobblestoned block from the harbor. Room was also beautiful and sunny, pretty quiet (we heard footsteps on the stairs outside once in 3 days) with a very comfortable bed. Welcome staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very well done, and a great value for the price (pick literally anything on the menu for 6euros pp, and free delivery to your room or the rooftop terrace if you prefer). I can't say enough good things! But I kind of want to keep this a secret :) in case we return - such a gem. And perfect for us on our honeymoon.

Room Tip: The 2nd and 3rd floors have small balconies, which was nice to have. LOVELY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allisone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the staff and quality suite room we had! Room 301 was on the top floor with a view of the water and street activities below. This is a modern room yet very nicely decorated with space to spread out and a comfortable bed. The nights were quiet. The breakfasts were marvelous, and everything exceeded our expectations! This is the place to be if you want to spend time in Old Town Chania! However, by being in Old Town there is no parking so be aware that you will be bringing your luggage by hand from wherever you park, (which will be from a number of blocks away). The experience could be enhanced by offering some means of assistance in these cases. George and Maria will truly take great care of you, and make you feel very special. Thank you both for a great experience! Brad & Diane

Room Tip: Sorry there is no fitness center...I listed this by mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad-Diane_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

An oasis in the old town. Cocomat mattress was heavenly. Facilities were modern but the decor gave you the feeling of old world. Rooms were immaculate. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Even the "small bedroom" was larger than most European rooms. Lovely terrace. Less than a minute to water, cafes and shops. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was in Chania visiting some friends who moved there and chose the Palazzo Duca Hotel and am very pleased that I did. It was all it promised to be and more. The staff were very efficient and extremely welcoming and helpful. It is in a great location and any night noise from surrounding restaurants is completely blocked when the windows are closed. I enjoyed several tasty breakfasts on my balcony looking at the harbor. My room was the suite on the third floor. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmtDenveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 nites in a junior suite on a recent trip and loved it. Clean, modern and comfortable rooms, we had a little balcony and nice little view of harbor/sea. George, the manager was wonderful to us and very helpful, as was rest of staff.... Its a great location if you are looking to stay in old town...near the harbor but not noisy, easy to get to once you get your bearings. Very comforable beds, which in Greece is a big plus (lots of sub par mattresses on our trip)

Room Tip: def pay up for a junior suite if available ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winenerdcron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Duca Hotel

Address: Douka Str. 27 - 29, Old town, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £52 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Duca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Duca Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing