We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair accessible, good people, near the town center”
Review of Akali Hotel Chania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Akali Hotel Chania
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
ATHENS
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Wheelchair accessible, good people, near the town center”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed there for a five days a few months ago, but I should have written then that this is a wheelchair accessible hotel, run and serviced by kind and helpful people. The hotel bears the name of a Cretan goddess, and is most probably protected by her, as, when I had a small problem with my belly, I was taken care off by the cook and served with lapa, well boiled rice, the only thing I could take. I was very much at home at Akali, and I look forward to stay there on my next visit to Chania, one of the most beautiful towns in Greece!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SPYRIDON-OF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    77
    33
    16
    8
See reviews for
35
56
4
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

A10 min walk to most restaurants and the harbor. Rooms adequate and comfortable . Breakfast fantastic. Staff very friendly and helpful. Assisted with organizing a private 4 hour trip to Aptera and the mountains.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank krharris2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have just returned from Chania. Akali hotel is just 10 minutes walk from Chania harbour. We had family room(two connected rooms). My children are 9 and 11 years and this type of rooms was ideal for my family. Rooms are very clean and tidy with every day maid service. They provide all the comfort of 4 star hotel with shower gel and shampoo.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. They are always ready to give you information and help you with maps and directions. Also Mrs Fotini is around the hotel to make sure that all the quest have good and comfortable stay. It is town hotel with few disadvantage like view but we expected that when we have booked town hotel. It seems that all business people stay at this hotel because it is offers good value for money. Also I have noticed football teams stay at Akali because it is in the town and offers the best quality compare with other hotels.
In my next visit to Chania I will stay again at Akali

Room Tip: Swimming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICOLAS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in August 2011. We paid 75 euros per night for our room, which also included a good breakfast. The decoration is a lttle tired, but the room was always kept very clean. We didn't have any issue with noise, although our room overlooked the pool rather than the road. The pool is small, more for a quick dip. However it is a 10 minute stroll to the beach. All in all, we felt it was very good value for money.

What I would emphasise is that the hotel staff were tremendous. Nothing was too much trouble, and they went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one.

It is well located for the main sites in Chania town. The hotel only has a handful of car parking spaces, but it was pretty easy to park in the nearby streets.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DidgeAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 24/12/11 - 01/01/2012 and we have only good things to say about the hotel. We were a pary of 6 adults and 1 baby. We arrived very early in the morning and we were given our rooms immediately and we were pleasantly surprised that even thogh the hotel has no obligation they allowed us to have breakfast at no extra charge. The rooms are spacious and clean and i had no problem with the baby cot provided for my little girl. We would like to giave a special mention to all the staff that made our stay wonderful as half the family came over from South Africa. They were helpful in every aspect wether it was for simple information or any type of service provided. Even though they were working during the holiday season and i am sure that they would all want to be with their respective families they welcomed us with pleasant smiles, curtesy and were always polite.
For an added bonus they gave us new year cake and also allowed us to check out late at no extra charge as our boat was departing late in the evening.
Thank you to the staff of the Akali hotel , we had a wonderful stay and when given the oppertunity we will definitely come back. The Family from SA Gregory,Irene,Eleni,Maria,Zak,Ioanna and baby Anastasia

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nowell929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a business trip and chose it based on its 4 star rating.......it is not a 4 star please take note of the previous reviews as they are true.
If the room price was cheap you'd probably put up with it.
In reality the road is derelict noisy and busy with traffic 24/7 to add to the noise the air con is loud and the beds were hard. Breakfast was bog standard at best.
Chania is nothing special, i'd spend one night there and move on to somewhere else. avoid the restaurants in the port they all sell the same rubbish, find a backstreet taverna!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugnsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Pros (+)
- Service
- Good location (noise avoidance)
- Ordinary american buffet breakfast
Cons (-)
- Lacks of room refurnishment
- Swimming pool size
- Quite expensive in comparison with similar hotels

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_h2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.8 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 109 in Chania Town
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#11 of 109 in Chania Town
917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#39 of 109 in Chania Town
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 109 in Chania Town
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#34 of 109 in Chania Town
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akali Hotel Chania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akali Hotel Chania

Property: Akali Hotel Chania
Address: 55, Kissamou Str., Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Akali Hotel Chania 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to AKALI HOTEL a very recently refurbished 4 star hotel and conference centre, located very centrally in the beautiful city of Chania which in the recent years apart from a very popular holiday destination, has been transformed into the new corporate centre of Crete.Close to old Chania port and our famous traditional market, our hotel has been a very popular establishment, offering accommodation of the highest standard for more than 20 years.Either for a business trip or for a relaxing holiday, AKALI HOTEL is the ideal place to stay combining modern and spacious rooms with excellent facilities and services of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Akali Hotel Chania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akali Hotel Chania Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing