We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location but not a 4 star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akali Hotel Chania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akali Hotel Chania
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Location but not a 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel is very close to the city center about 10 minutes walk. However the hotel is not a 4 star, we would rate it as a 3 star. Swimming pool is very small. The rooms need to be refurbished - very old style. We were promised a room with double bed however when we arrived they gave us a room with 3 beds since they did not have a double bed room available. The balcony was very small and there was no space to place our swimsuits or our beach towels when they were wet. There was dust on the furniture into the room and there was not any label for linen change. We had to tell our selves the cleaning lady to change the linen the 2nd day of our stay. Also the staff were not placing any new shower gels or shampoo unless they were requested from us to do so.Breakfast was ok. However the hotel really needs to employ more staff to assist since food was not replaced unless it would finish completely from the trays. So we had to wait until staff realize that breakfast items finish and replace the trays.Bread was not fresh since they used the one from the previous day. However staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STELLA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    71
    33
    16
    8
See reviews for
33
56
4
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaca, Larnaca, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel was a let down as it was not what you see on their website,rooms are very old they need to be renovated,the air- con sounds like a tractor and our room faced the road, all you see when you look out is deserted old buildings. All the staff were very kind and helpful and I must say the room was clean.I would rate the hotel a two star.Pool very very very small with only five sunbed and a terrible view around the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moyock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Okay so I booked this hotel last minute with high expectations. Boy was I disappointed. First off my arriving flight was canceled and I had to arrive a day late. I called to see if I could be reimbursed for the night I would not be here. They said sure, but had to charge a cancellation fee, which was more than the credit I would be owed so I would have to pay them more money! I said no way and just arrived a day late with my existing reservation and was out the cost of 1 night. Upon arrival I asked if, since I arrived a day late, I could just check out a day late. She said sure, but they would charge me! Talk about lack of customer service!

When I booked the reservation I paid extra to have a double/pool view room. We were assigned a room on the 4th floor and wouldn't you know it, there was no double bed and no pool view. I called down and the woman said I was right that I paid for a pool view room, but there were none available and she could move us the following day. Okay, mind you...I have already paid for the room the previous day and not showed up, so they gave away the room I paid for and would not reimburse me!!!! Talk about shady business. I asked to simply be reimbursed for the money I paid for the pool view and she said she could move me the next day and would not reimburse me. Oh my god, seriously? Do the Greeks believe in making a customer happy, or just taking there money and not giving them what they pay for?

Okay, now, after she said she had no rooms available, she calls us 20 minutes later and said she had someone checking out and could give us our pool view room. Great...

Pros: Great location in Central Chania. Easy walking distance to most everything. A local beach within a 10 minute walk, city center within 20 minute walk, grocery stores, mini marts, restaurants.
Wifi is free, and we had a free breakfast. Breakfast was probably the best included breakfast I've ever had! No joke, Turkish coffee, american coffee, fresh squeezed OJ , eggs, breads, greek yogurt, fruit, feta, tomatoes, cereal, bacon little sausages. Great breakfast! The pool is cute, quiet and hardly anyone ever there. The main part of the hotel is beautiful...but wait til you see the outdated gooms!

Cons: Small rooms, terrible A/C, teeny tiny shower, gross carpet that smells of cigarette smoke, terrible customer service, only ever give you two towels, hard beds...oh there is free parking, but its simply in front/side of hotel and if you get there too late its all full. This is definately not a 4 star hotel, I'm not really sure how they call it 4 stars, but maybe pushing 2.5. It is definately not appropriate for more than 2 people in a room, there is no couch, only a small table and chair...unless they have bigger rooms available.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are better, seem to be better furnished and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed there for a five days a few months ago, but I should have written then that this is a wheelchair accessible hotel, run and serviced by kind and helpful people. The hotel bears the name of a Cretan goddess, and is most probably protected by her, as, when I had a small problem with my belly, I was taken care off by the cook and served with lapa, well boiled rice, the only thing I could take. I was very much at home at Akali, and I look forward to stay there on my next visit to Chania, one of the most beautiful towns in Greece!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SPYRIDON-OF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

A10 min walk to most restaurants and the harbor. Rooms adequate and comfortable . Breakfast fantastic. Staff very friendly and helpful. Assisted with organizing a private 4 hour trip to Aptera and the mountains.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank krharris2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have just returned from Chania. Akali hotel is just 10 minutes walk from Chania harbour. We had family room(two connected rooms). My children are 9 and 11 years and this type of rooms was ideal for my family. Rooms are very clean and tidy with every day maid service. They provide all the comfort of 4 star hotel with shower gel and shampoo.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. They are always ready to give you information and help you with maps and directions. Also Mrs Fotini is around the hotel to make sure that all the quest have good and comfortable stay. It is town hotel with few disadvantage like view but we expected that when we have booked town hotel. It seems that all business people stay at this hotel because it is offers good value for money. Also I have noticed football teams stay at Akali because it is in the town and offers the best quality compare with other hotels.
In my next visit to Chania I will stay again at Akali

Room Tip: Swimming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICOLAS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in August 2011. We paid 75 euros per night for our room, which also included a good breakfast. The decoration is a lttle tired, but the room was always kept very clean. We didn't have any issue with noise, although our room overlooked the pool rather than the road. The pool is small, more for a quick dip. However it is a 10 minute stroll to the beach. All in all, we felt it was very good value for money.

What I would emphasise is that the hotel staff were tremendous. Nothing was too much trouble, and they went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one.

It is well located for the main sites in Chania town. The hotel only has a handful of car parking spaces, but it was pretty easy to park in the nearby streets.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DidgeAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
13.1 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#29 of 111 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#39 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akali Hotel Chania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akali Hotel Chania

Property: Akali Hotel Chania
Address: 55 Kissamou str., Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Akali Hotel Chania 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to AKALI HOTEL a very recently refurbished 4 star hotel and conference centre, located very centrally in the beautiful city of Chania which in the recent years apart from a very popular holiday destination, has been transformed into the new corporate centre of Crete.Close to old Chania port and our famous traditional market, our hotel has been a very popular establishment, offering accommodation of the highest standard for more than 20 years.Either for a business trip or for a relaxing holiday, AKALI HOTEL is the ideal place to stay combining modern and spacious rooms with excellent facilities and services of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Akali Hotel Chania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akali Hotel Chania Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing