We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff Are the Hotel's Pride”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Civitel Akali Hotel
Ranked #59 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I stayed in this hotel for business purposes. Although not located directly downtown, (which may not be seen as a plus for visiting tourists,) the hotel was within easy walking distance, with most places taking only 5-15 minutes. The rooms were fairly modern, however were exceptionally cleaned daily by cheerful chamber maids who always greated me. Breakfasts are a continental style with ample coffees, teas, sweets and included eggs, bacon and sausage. Greece's famous yogurt could be had each morning! What stood this hotel apart from most was the exceptional staff. The staff are mostly young but highly knowledgeable and very warm and friendly. The made a point to know me by my first name and made me feel very welcome. Staff with only moments notice, were able to locate a watch repair shop just off their memory recall alone with easy directions provided. The shop was located ten minutes away by walking and my watch was repaired while I waited - free of charge too! Staff were keen on assisting with planning my running routes for my daily fitness routine, encouraging me often with a few friendly comments each day. Laundry can be sent for dry cleaning at a premium on site, yet staff were able to recommend laundry services nearby for my extended stay. Room changes were easily made and accomodated by their staff in order to locate me closer to my work colleagues. Great service makes for a great stay and I know they would likely remember me by name next business trip. Over all, a very good hotel if you're looking to rest and relax after a long work day, but close enough to downtown to take in the city's evening charm.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing inwards to have the old neighbourhood charm feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CDN_W0rld_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

Clean rooms, nice marble bathrooms, with helpful staff. Annita at the front desk was great an had some really good tips about where to go in Chania at night in addition to good beach spots on the Island Crete. Good home base to explore west side of the island.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PieterReidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The Akali hotel locate just 5 min walk from the center I use to stay at this hotel due of my work I visit often chania city
The plus of this hotel is clean room, very good bed, very rich breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff only one think they have to improve is the wifi in the room

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KONSTANTINOS_CRETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We chose this hotel because it was the closest available Hotel with a pool to the Old Town.
Lots of positives.The staff are lovely and genuinely helpful (either that or they have a hell of a staff training scheme). We visited beforehand and the very helpful receptionist took us for a tour of available rooms before we booked. The breakfasts are great. The pool felt like a private pool when we used it - we were the only ones. The room was clean etc as per other reviews. However we could never get the air con to work properly - we should have reported it but didn't. The hotel is located on a busy road, so poolside rooms are essential. view out the back at other properties was not spectacular but did give you a feeling of living within the town. We left to move to a hotel closer to the harbour but strangely left with a sense of affection for this hotel.

Room Tip: Poolside room is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flyswatter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The hotel has 4 stars but I am giving it a full credit for many things which are listed below.

As many people mentioned, rooms are not as great as on the website, however it's not a tragedy! Our double bed was huge with fresh bedding every day, the room was cleaned daily and new towels were left in the bathroom. We were not run out of anything as all stuff like shampoos, soaps, etc. were replaced by cleaners. The room had LCD TV with English channels, small fridge, AC, hair dryer and lots of different light settings (good if your "second half" wants to read a book before a sleep). The balcony was not huge and there was one table and two chairs.

Staff of the hotel is mostly very young with keen to help others. There arranged a car rental for us with good price and they were always very helpful.

Akali hotel has wifi connection from every room without any password. There are also 2 quite new PCs at the ground floor with a printer for guest usage - they are keep clear of any viruses and you can browse internet with Mozilla in Private Mode (nothing (passwords, history, cookies) will be stored at the computers).

The pool is small (up to 1,5 m deep) but it's clean and tidy.

Breakfasts were jolly good! We could choose from Original Cretan Food and Continental. The buffet was always full and there was at least one member of staff waiting with coffee jug to top up our cups.

Location - it's not in the old town centre but it's about 10 minutes walk from there.

Overall, the hotel deserves for 4 stars, however I am giving it a 5 stars because my experience was not as negative as other people's reviews. Very good value for money!

Room Tip: Take a room with a pool view to avoid noise from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WooKeeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel is very close to the city center about 10 minutes walk. However the hotel is not a 4 star, we would rate it as a 3 star. Swimming pool is very small. The rooms need to be refurbished - very old style. We were promised a room with double bed however when we arrived they gave us a room with 3 beds since they did not have a double bed room available. The balcony was very small and there was no space to place our swimsuits or our beach towels when they were wet. There was dust on the furniture into the room and there was not any label for linen change. We had to tell our selves the cleaning lady to change the linen the 2nd day of our stay. Also the staff were not placing any new shower gels or shampoo unless they were requested from us to do so.Breakfast was ok. However the hotel really needs to employ more staff to assist since food was not replaced unless it would finish completely from the trays. So we had to wait until staff realize that breakfast items finish and replace the trays.Bread was not fresh since they used the one from the previous day. However staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STELLA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel was a let down as it was not what you see on their website,rooms are very old they need to be renovated,the air- con sounds like a tractor and our room faced the road, all you see when you look out is deserted old buildings. All the staff were very kind and helpful and I must say the room was clean.I would rate the hotel a two star.Pool very very very small with only five sunbed and a terrible view around the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
1,105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Irida
Hotel Irida
#57 of 111 in Chania Town
101 reviews
13.1 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#41 of 111 in Chania Town
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civitel Akali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civitel Akali Hotel

Address: 55 Kissamou Str., Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece (Formerly Akali Hotel Chania)
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £70 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Civitel Akali Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Civitel Akali Hotel a very recently refurbished 4 star hotel and conference centre, located very centrally in the beautiful city of Chania which in the recent years apart from a very popular holiday destination, has been transformed into the new corporate centre of Crete.Close to old Chania port and our famous traditional market, our hotel has been a very popular establishment, offering accommodation of the highest standard for more than 20 years.Either for a business trip or for a relaxing holiday, Civitel Akali Hotel is the ideal place to stay combining modern and spacious rooms with excellent facilities and services of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Civitel Akali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civitel Akali Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing