We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Civitel Akali Hotel
Ranked #60 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We looked at the pictures online and were very excited to stay in this hotel. The actual room was nothing like the pictures though...The decoration was old and it even smelled "old", though clean enough.
The pool is tiny and old too but that wasn't as important as the room. It was way too expensive and a poor value for money. It's also difficult to park near. Maybe it's good for people on business trips, travellers with no car, winter time visitors or people who just want to be in the center and don't care about paying more for a barely decent room.
We've been visiting Chania for the past 3 years and have stayed in 5 different hotels, all cheaper and way nicer than this.
The upside is the breakfast, which was very nice and in good quality. The staff was also polite and helpful. But other than that, I wasn't satisfied with this hotel. The website and the professional photos are very misleading.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a renovated room like they show in the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ChristinaDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very nice hotel in the centre. Lots of choice at breakfast although some of the hot choices were only warm at best. Maid service timings a little strange .... after a day on Neo Chora beach came back and room not made up, we thought this was because it was Sunday, we were traveling light with no toiletries so we had to make do ... . when we returned in the evening our room had been visited after 7.30pm, found that a little late! However staff generally helpful and pool and bar area very nice considering the position. Would certainly use it again for a short stay. Did expect a balcony and asked for an extra chair in the room which didn't materialize. We were moved to this hotel after a mistake by Alpha Rooms, we originally booked into the Samaria opposite the bus station (for convenience of travel) but this was obviously undergoing major renovation although we weren't told this by Alpha until a week before we travelled .... they actually said there had been a mix up with the booking! We will be seriously thinking about using them next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolihullLolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Akali hotel is a very comfortable place to stay in Chania. Rooms are cosy and it is also nice to spend some time at the pool. The best thing at the hotel, however, is the staff. We only met friendly and helpful people in Akali hotel. Thank you Anitta and Stella for all the tips, help and arrangements (for example car rental and tickets to a sea cruise). Breakfast was great, specially the local delicacies.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannaleena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We only stayed here one night as were looking for a different kind of facilities for our holidays, but while sorting out our initial problems we stayed at this hotel.
The members of staff were kind and helpful. The rooms are nice and clean, more suitable for professionals or couples than families.
The buffet breakfast was varied and tasty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Great place to stay for business with free Wifi and the only hotel with a pool, only downside is the limited sun bathing area and loss of sun about 1800 due to buildings all around. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble, Anita, Stella and the rest of the team were so helpful. The beach is a 5 minute walk and about 15 minutes to walk down town where you are lost for choice amongst the plethora of restaurants over looking the harbour. Overall, a great stay at good rates compared to some. Hotel is very clean, the maids are uber efficient and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Preferably get a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Unbelievable staff they are gems to the hotel.specially Anita Alexander Nikos cleopatra they are outstanding. Especially Anita I will miss you. Rooms and services excellently classic. May be I come again another time.

Room Tip: Take superior rooms they are just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pnk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Very close to a lovely beach where i spent most of my time in crete. Close to restaurants, downtown and the bus station with shuttle service to the airport for a couple euro. The staff are super helpful the rooms and the view of the mountains are lovely. Just a great experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heather4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.8 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
1,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
1,356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Irida
Hotel Irida
#57 of 111 in Chania Town
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civitel Akali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civitel Akali Hotel

Address: 55 Kissamou Str., Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece (Formerly Akali Hotel Chania)
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £74 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Civitel Akali Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Civitel Akali Hotel a very recently refurbished 4 star hotel and conference centre, located very centrally in the beautiful city of Chania which in the recent years apart from a very popular holiday destination, has been transformed into the new corporate centre of Crete.Close to old Chania port and our famous traditional market, our hotel has been a very popular establishment, offering accommodation of the highest standard for more than 20 years.Either for a business trip or for a relaxing holiday, Civitel Akali Hotel is the ideal place to stay combining modern and spacious rooms with excellent facilities and services of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Civitel Akali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civitel Akali Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing