We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Civitel Akali Hotel
Ranked #59 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A very friendly staff - always helpful. Clean and provides an excellent breakfast. A bit away from Old Town, but that allowed us to walk off the excellent meals we enjoyed at restaurants such as Chrisostomos.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Arnold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Friendly, efficient staff, great buffet breakfast with a wide choice. Bedroom serviced daily to a high standard and very clean
Great location for city buses to the beaches to the west. Bus stops each way a few metres away, out the hotel doors and turn right towards town. Buy tickets on the bus, terminating at the Panorama Hotel Kalamaki 1.50E (single) and 1.10E to the nearer and better (in my opinion) of the beaches at Ayii Apostili 1.10E.
Buses here also for the east towards Souda Port etc.
The main bus station is 5 minutes away , out hotel doors turn right, take right fork and is on your right. You can also can get the city buses to west and east from nearby at the 1886 square, buy from Kiosk or machine.
The old town is 10-15 minutes away, out hotel doors, turn right and take the left fork
The nearest city beach is at Neo Hora (5 minutes plus) out hotel doors turn left then first right (Vassou Street), left down Skinner Street and you arrive at the new Marina
Ouzythino First taverna on the pier great for drinks but did not eat there. Manos Taverna nearby has good reasonably priced food
Largish supermarket (Inka) a few metres away, turn left out of the hotel and it is on the opposite side of the road.
Wi- fi (sometimes a little slow) throughout the hotel. There are also two PC's in the lobby area totally free to use
Air conditioning and Room safety deposit box included. We didn't have tea and coffee making facilities but asked and they promptly obliged
Tip: the road outside can be quite busy so take care when crossing to the beach or old town.
Downside : Not in the the prettiest area and rooms need of a refurbishment but still a great hotel. Reception/breakfast /lounge/bar/pool area are to a very good standard.
Would defiantly return again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Benji89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I booked this hotel through British Airways on airmiles, so I figured it would be a safe bet. It was!
Despite a problem on the first night (the previous occupant of our room had had to go to hospital so the room wasn't ready - they sorted us out a room in another hotel and paid for our cabs), my friend and I had a very pleasant stay at the Akali.

Our room faced the road, and the rooms this side seem to be a bit more dated than those on the other side (ours had rather curious reddish paint on the walls), but the beds were comfy, there was plenty of space, and everything was very clean.
The staff could not have been more helpful, the breakfast was good, and the (small) pool was a nice touch for when the hustle and bustle of town all gets a bit much. (The official photos are taken with a *very* wide angle lens, but there's enough space for a few sun loungers, and that's all that really matters!) The measures at the bar are also VERY generous!

There's no doubting that the location is convenient - it's a short walk to the old harbour or down to the sandy beach - but it is on the main road which isn't the most scenic of spots. The air con in our room was also a bit finicky and could probably do with a new one.

So my friend and I were happy with the hotel, but it would be nice to see the darker rooms get a fresh coat of paint in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed 1 night at this hotel and felt comfortable. Lobby was designed modern and room clean but a little dated.a nice balcony,a little but fine pool,excellent breakfast and helpful staff. It is near to the beach and the old town . creta is a beauty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yokabed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel was exactly what we needed after arriving in Crete at 10pm and then driving from Heraklion to Chania. It's 24 hour check-in meant our midnight arrival went seemlessly. Our connecting rooms were spotless and the breakfast the following morning was bountiful and delicious. We stayed three nights while exploring the area around Chania and this hotel was in the perfect location for this. We could walk into the old town to explore the harbour yet make a quick and easy getaway out of the town centre for our drives to Elafonisi Beach and Samaria Gorge. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly as well as smiling with affection at our attempts to wish them a good morning and thank them in their native tongue. Not the cheapest option for a stay in Chania but worth the extra money. The only drawback for us was that as a family of 5 we needed an extra bed in the connecting room for which there was really not adequate space but this was a very minor moan as we spent little time in our rooms anyway.

Room Tip: If you are a family of four the connecting rooms would be superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed at Akali hotel for my holiday in Chania. It is conveniently located near the Old Town. It has parking space free of charge just outside the hotel and this is convenient too.
The hotel is extremely clean and the staff are polite and helpful. The building dates from the sixties and it is partially renovated, with good taste. The rooms are of good size, while the bathrooms are rather small. Do not expect nice views, this is a city hotel. However, it has double glazing and the noise will not bother you. The hotel has free wi-fi, computersand printing and faxing services. The breakfast was good and the bar prices very fair.
Do not expect luxury if you choose Akali. However, expect a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fenny-athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the first and last day of our holiday. Reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean and breakfast was very good with everything you could possibly want. All staff are extremely friendly but a special thank you to the manageress who sorted a room for us when there was a problem with our booking.
We will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50Ruby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
587 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 110 in Chania Town
436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#9 of 110 in Chania Town
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
1,365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#39 of 110 in Chania Town
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elia Betolo Hotel
Elia Betolo Hotel
#21 of 110 in Chania Town
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civitel Akali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civitel Akali Hotel

Address: 55 Kissamou Str., Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece (Formerly Akali Hotel Chania)
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £74 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Civitel Akali Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Civitel Akali Hotel a very recently refurbished 4 star hotel and conference centre, located very centrally in the beautiful city of Chania which in the recent years apart from a very popular holiday destination, has been transformed into the new corporate centre of Crete.Close to old Chania port and our famous traditional market, our hotel has been a very popular establishment, offering accommodation of the highest standard for more than 20 years.Either for a business trip or for a relaxing holiday, Civitel Akali Hotel is the ideal place to stay combining modern and spacious rooms with excellent facilities and services of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Civitel Akali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civitel Akali Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing