We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Palazzo di Pietro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo di Pietro
Ranked #27 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at Palazzo di Pietro for 3 nights. The Hotel is perfect, very clean, warm with luxury beds and very nice old wooden furniture. The fridge is full of fresh fruits and local drinks free of charge. The family that owns the hotel are very kind and polite people and they give their best to have an excellent staying. Is located in the centre of the old city of Chania next to the port and you can go anywhere you want by walking. Ihighly recoment it for your vacation...Excellent!!!

Room Tip: Very clean, good location, perfect staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timoklia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed in Palazzo di Pietro 4 nights. It was a very good choice because of its position in the city center. The rooms are nice with wood forniture in venitian style. They are very clean and the owner is very kind. There is also a terrace on the roof with several plants (maybe too many....I would leave more space for deck chairs for the guests). Anyway i would defenitely suggest this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Fedand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This was our second stay at the Palazzo di Pieto (10 years ago was the first). We cannot say enough good about the overall experience and the graciousness of these family owners. It is a beautifully restored hotel (recently reopened) with large rooms, comfortable beds, excellent a/c, nice kitchenette. They provided a welcome package of drinks and fresh fruit that was greatly appreciated. Eleftheria was wonderfully attentive and very helpful as my wife was sick the day we arrived. She also recommended a nice mountain drive in the town of Theriso for lunch. We highly recommend Palazzo di Pietro!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimTsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We spent 5 nights of our touring honeymoon here a few years back. Our spacious apartment/suite had a fab little balcony complete with a dreamy four poster bed decorated with petals, sweets and chocolates which was an unexpected surprise. There was even a complementary hamper with wine & fruits also. Christine the manageress and her family could not have been more helpful throughout our entire stay. We actually decided to extend our stay as we enjoyed the old venetian town of Chania so much. As we visited over the Greek orthodox Easter period the petrol station on the outskirts of town had closed early we were unable to proceed to our next destination and it was getting very late! We called Christine to explain we were stranded and her father came back to the hotel especially to ensure that we had a place to stay that evening. We were given another equally beautiful apt/suite to stay in overnight! We have nothing but the highest praise for the management of this charming hotel and it's location. Looking forward to revisiting again one day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

I really should have written about Palazzo di Pietro a long time ago. It's fair to say that Chania has hotels for every taste and budget. I agree with most of the other reviewers that Palazzo di Pietro is an outstanding choice. It is a charming and intimate small hotel in the historic port area of Hania. I was put in the annex, which was actually a studio apartment in the building behind the main one. I had total privacy. The furnishings were simple, elegant and rustic at the same time. The owner was very nice and helpful in renting a car. I liked the place so much that I booked my brother and his wife in there when they took an anniversary trip to Crete.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortsOfCall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

My wife and I decided on a late holiday this year back in Chania where we have spent many happy holidays when our children were growing up.

We decided to stay again at Palazzo di Petro (PdP) where we had spent a lovely holiday with the girls back in 2006. When we contacted Christine to enquire about pricing she told us that high season prices remained in force right until the end of October because they stayed busy right through. In the end despite some huge misgivings we decided to pay 135 euros per night for this place based on the location and our ignorance of late season pricing here.

When we arrived we were shown by the loquatious Christine up to a room at the top of the hotel up 4 long flights of wooden stairs - I was close to passing out by the time I had lugged the second of our big cases up this vertical assault course.

All that said we spent our holiday in glorious enjoyable isolation untroubled by other guests or indeed by Christine until the power went off during a thunder storm on the last Sunday. We had no means of contacting anyone and in the end we went out without being able to shower, change or freshen up. When we arrived back later that evening the power was still out but we did discover a number to call on the outside wall of PdPand help came at last to reset the fuse box. At this point we realised that we were just paying way too much for this hotel and the next day by way of research for next time we checked alternative prices in the area. In the very same street we found rooms just as nice with permanently manned receptions for 35-60 Euros. When we settled up with Christine the following night we decided to be honest and to tell her we were really not happy with the value for money and level of response.

We then saw another side of Christine and the whole experience became slightly surreal.The fact is that this business seems to be her total obsession and she cannot take any critiscm at all without taking it very personally. In an extraordinary and emotional outbust she defended her hotel like we had just insulted her children and made a number of weird and illogical points in a 10 minute tirade - my wife and I stood open mouthed as the hotelier told us off in the style of a Greek Basil Fawlty - here were the highlights and please keep in mind I was just about to pass 1180 Euros cash to her as the balance of our bill.

1. Christine said that we had contacted her not the other way around - she did not force us to agree to pay this amount!

2. She said the hotel had been quite busy throughout this period and most of the these (phantom we think) guests had complained about the noise we were making in our room.

3. She said that we had created great costs for her as we asked for towels to be changed most days compared to the Greek standard of every three days.

4. She complained also that we regularly spilled talc on the wooden floor making it slippery for the maid.

5. She said that she paid her maid a staggering 2000 Euro per month (a huge wage in this town) which meant that cash and valuables would be safe at PdP but there were no such guarantees at the other hotels where immigrant maids were employed and theft was rife. The maid wage comment caused uproar at our local bar where everyone of the expats living in the area wanted to interview for this position. We should have said that any level of theft below 100 Euros per night would have left us in pocket but by now there was a dangerous look in Christine's eye and we thought better of it.

6. As a last resort I informed her that I intended to write an honest review about PdP on TA and she said to go ahead as all these flattering reviews just made people think she is was a soft touch and actually created more work for her!

I probably stay an average of over 100 hotel nights per year but have honestly never had an exchange like this before. I have paid for 40 nights at PdP in the past and for the want of an admission, an apology or a minor refund we may have stayed there again - but after this - never again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank NewspaperDirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

We recently spent 6 nights at the Palazzo di Pietro & would highly recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to stay somewhere that little bit special in Chania.

At the risk of repeating other reviewers comments, Christine & her father make this hotel a great place to stay. From the delightful (award winning!) rooftop terrace to the very generous fully stocked fridge including homemade wine, raki & delicious olive oil, this place was a real treat.

The room & bathroom were spotless & the much needed air conditioning just right.

We had a little balcony overlooking the street below which was nice and quiet even though it's only 5 minutes walk from the bustling & very busy harbour.

Lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank C_and_SManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#46 of 111 in Chania Town
110 reviews
13.5 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo di Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo di Pietro

Address: 13 Agion Deka | Old Harbour,, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range: £59 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo di Pietro 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Palazzo di Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Di Pietro Chania
Palazzo Di Pietro Hotel Chania
Palazzo Di Pietro Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing