We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Review of Palazzo di Pietro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo di Pietro
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed 7 June 2006

Just returned from four nights at the Palazzo di Pietro and felt compelled to write something to further recommend this great little hotel. Without wanting to repeat all that's been said before, I can't recommend this intimate, family-run hotel highly enough. We were extremely lucky to get a last-minute cancellation which I understand is very rare as this place gets booked up months in advance. We stayed in the Athina Suite on the top floor and it was just lovely. Considering Christine didn't have much notice of our stay (we literally confirmed the reservation a few hours before we were due to arrive), the room was beautifully presented with fresh flowers and chocolates on the huge four-poster bed; champagne, home-made wine, raki and a huge fruit basket all nicely chilled and waiting for us. We arrived very late - around 1am - and Christine and her father not only waited up for us but even walked to meet us in the main town square to personally escort us to the hotel as we didn't know the exact location. A few specific words of advice:-
* Firstly something I feel I should mention on Christine's behalf is that she suffers with a knee problem so actually isn't able to carry people's bags up the stairs to the third floor (contrary to one previous review on here) - so if you reserve one of the upper rooms, be prepared to carry your own luggage (no great hardship).
* The Palazzo di Pietro just a few days ago won first prize from the Chania Municipality for its roof garden. We particularly recommend watching the sun set up there and taking advantage of the spectacular aerobatics display provided by the huge population of swifts - great fun.
* If you are renting a car, parking around the old harbour area can be pretty tricky so be prepared to fight for a space. Also a word of warning to pay heed to the parking notices, which aren't always obvious - we parked in an area we thought was OK but ended up with a 65 Euro ticket.
* A simple thing worth mentioning is that this hotel also provides you with lovely big, soft beach towels and also slippers so you don't need to take up valuable luggage space with these items.
All-in-all this is one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in, in one of the most beautiful old towns. We only had four nights and will certainly be returning - if we can't stay at the Palazzo di Pietro though, it just won't be the same... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank sadey70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
69
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 May 2006

We spent four days in Chania last July, staying at the Palazzo di Pietro, in the town's historic section. As all the other reviewers have mentioned, the family's hospitality and especially Christina's gracious and tireless efforts made our stay most enjoyable. We stayed in one of the honey moon suites, though we were not exactly in our honey moon. Our sons, ages 10 and 20, were with us, and they especially appreciated the various sweet treats and fruit (welcoming basket) that were in the suite. The suite slept four comfortably. There is a front room that includes a king-size bed and a couch (where our younger son slept) and a back room with a double bed (where our older son slept). The back room does not have natural light, but it communicates with the front room, which has french doors and a small balcony. The rooms are tastefully decorated and in character with the restored building. Our balcony overlooked the narrow pedestrian street and the restaurant below. We enjoyed sitting there and taking in the action--quiet during most of the day, more animated at night, but never too loud. We had several discussions with Christina, who goes above and beyond the call of duty to make all her guests feel at home. By the end of our stay, we began to worry that her tireless commitment to our welfare might be affecting hers in a negative way. She needs to take some time off during the day, and have an assistant take over the desk! We want to congratulate the family for their excellent hotel and service and hope to visit the Palazzo di Pietro again soon. Of course, Crete itself is irresistable. According to our younger son (who has visited many parts of Greece), Crete has the best fruit and the best food all around!

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver British Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2006

This is a well-placed hotel in Chania close to the harbour with traditionally appointed rooms catering to the well-seasoned traveller. The restoration of this Venetian merchant's home is striking and adheres architecturally very closely to the original. It was such a pleasure to view all the detailed additions which were incorporated in the plan.The adjoining ensuite washroom contained a corner sitz bath and hand held shower which were sparkling clean and adequate. (You might want to bring your bar soap since this is not provided. Another suggestion is a hairdryer unless you can cope with a low voltage one provided by the hotel.) Christine was tireless in her efforts to accommodate us in every conceivable way and was able to procure an automatic automobile at an excellent price. She is a fount of information for excursions and sights to see and will assist you with all her might.

We dined in the restaurant next door which was ok but you might like to try the establishments recommended in your guidebooks. There is one at the Far end of the harbour recommended by every guidebook in print and it was amazing.

The e VERY best lunch was in the covered market. We had lunch at the end of the market in a cafe run by a couple of Greek ladies who cooked like a dream. In the market Buy Lots of spices to take home. They are topmost quality and cheap. Great nutmegs, Greek mountain teas (VERY healthy and induce sleep at night) the food in Crete by the way will transport you. It is all organic and Totally in a much higher league than the mainland food. It is Spectacular. Stay away from red meat dishes and stick to their specialities of seafood and vegetables. In the afternoons we often sat in the harbour cafe sipping greek coffee and watching the people promenade. Such a pleasure! By the way you might want to get into the greek routine of lunching at two, coffee at five and dinner at nine. You will get the best selections and truly be part of the greek scene. While you are at it learn a few greek words before you go. The Cretans are the most hospitable and kind people in creation and do appreciate hearing please and thank-you in their own tongue. You should also be aware that this is a very traditional society. Although rude behaviour by tourists is tolerated . ( Excess drink comes to mind) It is not tolerated amongst the greeks themselves. In fact to drink and not eat something with it is considered barbaric. A glass of wine is drunk with dinner and a shared bottle by two individuals is seen as "over the top." If you are lucky enough to be invited out by greek acquaintances it is de rigour to dress up. Jeans are sported by only the under 25's in the evening. Sights not to be missed include the Amari valley. It looks like the original Garden of Eden and you will never be the same after seeing the beauty of this place. WE visited in April which was Perfect sight seeing weather. You will not have as great a time if you go in the summer when all of Greece and most of Europe is poured on to Crete. Awful. If you wish to swim, the end of Sept. to Oct would be perfect. The sea has warmed up, the fruits are ripe and everyone has gone home.
Lastly Across the street from the palace of Knossos is what Looks like a kitschy tourist stand . DO NOT MISS GOING IN. I bought some museum quality icons ( Stamped on the back for authenticity- gold leafed on canvas and wood) These are copied by monks from originals and the proceeds go the upkeep of monasteries. They are Spectacular. The 6 by 8 inch ones are the best and he has more in the back to show you. Also look at the HAND PAINTED BEIGE ceramics. The artwork is wonderful. ( Don't even Bother with the orange on black vases dear reader, they are Too Too.....) After you select the items take off 20 % and offer him that amount. He may counter but you will be getting a bargain in any case.

On the corner of - across from - the Back of the church are traditional linens. One afternoon the shop owner made me 12 Heavy cotton napkins to take home. They are embossed heavy white Egyptian cotton which I would Never find anywhere in America. It was a find. ( They cost 5 Euros each !)

Stay at the San Pietro and have a wonderful trip !

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Haroula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2006

This hotel really stands out from our entire trip in Greece. The hotel is lovely -- the rooms beautiful and very very special. This definitely is not a place that you will find in every city.

However, what makes this place stand out is the hospitality of this family (father-daughter) run hotel. Upon our very late arrival, we were greeted by the owners of the hotel who had decorated our four-post antique-wood bed especially for our honeymoon (we took the honeymoon suite), and had filled our room with wine, fruit, and other treats. The next day, the owner walked us around town and gave us a mini-tour of the area. He also directed us to a car-rental agency to ensure that we were given a fair rate by the scam-artist rental car agents, and gave us recommendations on places in Crete to drive to on day trips.

This definitely is not a place where you are going to stay anonymously -- if that bothers you, we would not recommend going. That said, you will be missing out on a very wonderful experience with a a very hands-on staff.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank theaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2006

My husband and I stayed at Palazzo di Pietro last August and had the pleasure of meeting Christine and her father Petros. Both spent an unbelievable amount of time with us helping us get oriented with Chania and set up for all of our sightseeing on the rest of the island. Although Christine is often juggling several different tasks at the same time, she is always smiling and ready to help or just hear how your day was in this beautiful place. And of course, the inn is absolutely gorgeous and set right in the middle of the city on a quiet pedestrian street. Try the restaurant next door as well...

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Baltim0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2006

My sisters and I visited Crete for the first time in October 2005 and were lucky enough to find this idyllic retreat tucked away behind the harbour in Chania in a quiet pedestrian streeet behind the Metropolitan Cathedral.

Arriving late in the evening Christine, the manager and member of the family who owns the hotel, made us feel at home right away and gave us the guided tour of our bedrooms which occupied the whole second floor. She showed us where everything was and gave us a brief history of the hotel. She was later to prove a fountain of knowledge on places to visit and beaches to explore- even phoning ferries and taxies on our behalf and going out of her way to make us comfortable - Christine deserves a medal for all she does and perhaps some extra help so she can have a day off as she works so hard.

From the moment we stepped into the lovingly restored 13th Century building it was like traveling back in time. The small boutique hotel run by the family is rich in luxury and detail - ancient stone walls line the stairways and bedrooms and rich hardwoods gleam everywhere. There are 7 induvidual rooms - all different- which range in size from the Honeymoon Suite with King size bed, separate kitchen and balcony overlooking the street below to smaller single rooms - all luxurious, spotlessly clean and airy,

Our rooms were spacious and beautifully appointed with firm 4 poster beds hung with glossamer curtains in either delicate white or warm golden sunset colours giving the room a rich romantic feel. Wooden shutters filtered the dawn light without shutting out the soft cooing of pigeons that roosted on the windowsills.They would often rise in a smudgey cloud of grey and white as the church bells rang out early in the morning filling the air with the sound of their soft wings.

The small kitchenette was well equipted with cooking facilities, utensils and coffee pot and kettle with a great selection of tea and coffee. There was a small fridge which contained complimentary offerings of red and white wine, soft drinks, home made olive oil, locally grown apples, oranges and pears, champagne and candies. Fresh flowers were placed around the comfortable room which also had table and chairs, dressing table with hairdryer ( which allowed N.American plugs)a large closet and very luxurious day bed groaning with soft cushions. TV, phone and radio were welcome additions. The large bathroom consisted of a corner tub with telephone shower head, washbasin, large mirror, toilet ( remember you can't flush toilet paper in Greece!) and lots of fluffy white towels. The Palazzo also has a lovely roof garden where watching the sun go down became a daily ritual and there is plenty of reading material in the reception area if you just want to relax.

Outside the hotel, within a 2 minute walk was an Internet cafe, laundry, the best gelato I have ever had, an incredible bakery with unbelievable cakes and pastries and the most amazing shops with great bargains in jewellry,leather, honey and soap to name a few and of course the Habour and Lighthouse with its glistening white mosque set against a backdrop of snow capped mountains and sun soaked sea.

Restaurants in the immediate area are numerous- the one next door had the best Mousakka I have ever had and both "Tamam" ( try the lamb in yogurt and tomato with hot pita bread), and the award winning "Well of the Turk", both a few minutes walk away, were supurb!

At no time did we ever feel unsafe even while walking around the ancient winding Venetian street in the evening - everyone was so friendly and helpful we felt as if we were relatives coming for a visit- and of course everywhere we went we were plied with complimentary Raki - Ctete's national liquor ( fabulous - just don't mix it with any other alcohol!)

Bus excursions from Chania are both cheap and comfortable. The bus station is about a 5 min walk away ( there is a shop across from bus station that sells the most incredible jeans embroidered with crystals for $15 a pair!)and the buses to the numerous west coast beaches are clean,very modern and on time. Sometimes it is hard to get away from Chania as there is so much to see and do but any trip is well worth the effort as the pink sanded beaches and wind swept castles of the south coast are incomparabable.

When we return to Chania - as we must, as 12 days really was not long enough, we will certainly return to the Palazzo di Pietro for its comfort and hospitality. The family were gracious and welcoming and the epitome of Greek Hospitality, the kindness we received and attention to detail were unequaled and the prices very reasonable.
This is one hotel you will always remember as a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
49 Thank medea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 December 2005

I just came back from 5 days in this wonderful, charming little hotel in the old part of Chania, near the port. I cannot think I could have stayed in a better place in Crete, especially at this time of the year. The room was lovely, so cozy and romantic. If you are planning to go to Crete, and you want a romantic vacation, this is your choice.
Christine, the manager,was the best and she made sure we had a wonderful experience; fresh flowers, wines and a killer olive oil in our room. It made us feel so comfortable.

Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#21 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#15 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#31 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#40 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elia Betolo Hotel
Elia Betolo Hotel
#25 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo di Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo di Pietro

Property: Palazzo di Pietro
Address: 13 Agion Deka | Old Harbour, (behind the Metropolis church), Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo di Pietro 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo di Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Di Pietro Chania
Palazzo Di Pietro Hotel Chania
Palazzo Di Pietro Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing