We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christine is a sweetheart”
Review of Palazzo di Pietro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo di Pietro
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2006

This lovely boutique hotel has been praised to often that it's hard to add anything new. Suffice it to say that this hotel really is as good as it's cracked up to be. My wife and I had one of the rooms at the rear of the hotel for a week and it was like having our own apartment. One of the reasons we loved Chania so much as this hotel. Christine helped make it a memorable experience with everything from her father's wine, raki, and olive oil to decorating the bed as if we were Cretan honeymooners. This is a very special hotel that's conviently located and run by a very special person.
Bob Wisehart
blwisehart@aol.com

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bob48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2006

We are a Norwegian family who has just returned home from a one week holiday in Chania - nice weather, comfortable sea temperatures, pleasant surroundings, good restaurants - and not least the most excellent little hotel, with an exceptionally friendly and warm atmosphere. The entire family - my wife, our two daughters of 9 and 7 and myself - really did enjoy the spacious two-room suite in the narrow Agion Deka pedestrian street. We also had a small terrace facing the street, and could make use of the beautiful roof-top terrace as well. From our arrival until we left, the hostess Christine took really good care of us - having provided fresh fruit, soft drinks, wine and champagne in the fridge upon our arrival and having decorated the rooms and beds nicely with flowers as well. And always eager to inform and assist us. Conclusions: Really a nice hotel to recommend to all good friends and to come back to.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Halvard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

We just returned from a week's stay in Chania and knew from the minute we walked in the door of the Palazzo Di Pietro that we had made the right choice. It would be hard to even know where to begin raving about this place. Christine was everything and more than people have described in their reviews. She did everything possible to make us comfortable including letting us have our room long after check out time because of our late departure on the ferry. She is an incredibly busy woman and soon is going to eliminate her email address from her website because of all the problems it's causing her but the contact form wil be left in order that she can get back to those people with questions.The location in old town Chania was perfect for all that we wanted to do. Sitting out on the balcony and watching the people go by or listening to the music from the restaurant next door was very enjoyable, as was sitting out t here in the early morning listening to the church bells and watching the cats play. We were afraid it would be too noisy, but the heavy wooden doors closed out all the outside sounds. Our room was spotless and the fruit and champagne in the fridge was a very special touch. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johannah4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2006

The Palazzo di Pietro is a restored Venetian mansion in the heart of Chania's old town, a few steps away from the seafront. It is owned by a family distantly related to the original Venetian owners.

Each room has an excellent, spotlessly clean bathroom, with a proper bath as well as shower facilities. A few of the rooms, those at the back of the buiding, are accessed from a street parallel to the street on which the hotel is located.

All rooms have basic cooking facilities. Breakfast is not served, but the hotel provides a generous supply of fruit, coffee and other goodies in the refridgerator. You can take your food up to the well-tended roof garden.

The daughter of the family manages it with intense commitment and enthusiasm. She knows Chania well, and can give visitors new to Western Crete plenty of information. People intending to walk the Samaria Gorge will find that she can tell you everything you need to know.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ESKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2006

We have just returned from a relaxing week's stay at this beautiful hotel in Chania. As everyone else has said, the host (Christine) was fantastic - she made us very welcome and willingly helped us to plan our days around Chania. The hotel location was central and perfect for anyone wanting to be close to the harbour/shops/restaurants/public transport yet also wanting peace and quiet.

We stayed on the third floor (you need to be fit enough to carry your luggage!) and had sole use of the communal rooftop terrace most days ... very relaxing! Christine left us fresh fruit, soft drinks, chocs and wine - a nice touch.

The room was clean, spacious, the air conditioning very effective and the view over the street lovely. There was plenty of room for a family of 4 to stay in this suite. Beach towels were provided so you don't need to pack any!

The trips we went on included a 2+ hour bus ride to Elafonissi (a long and winding trip but lovely mountainous views and a few hair-pin bends!). It was worth the trip .. the beach was fantastic and the sea crystal clear. We also went by bus to Falasarna - again 2 hours + but the beach again was worth the trip. The caves and rocks were picturesque here. See photos ....

We can definitely recommend the Ela taverna - in fact we didn't have a bad meal all week apart from the taverna over the harbour (can't remember the name but it begins with F, and there is only 1). A free boat trip is provided .... really not worth the effort!!! Nice scenery, poor service and food. Try the restaurant next door to the hotel and say to hi Johnny from Tim!!!!

Have no hesitation in recommending the hotel (best we have stayed in 8 holidays to Greece), Christine was fantastic and we loved Chania. Stop reading and get booking!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jacquelineroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Pietro two weeks ago, we stayed for the minimum one week stay. We made the reservation in early January, 6 months prior to our arrival since we had learned early from reading the reviews of the extended time needed to secure a room. We made the reservation directly with Christine by calling and emailing.
All the reviews are correct, the location, the rooms, and Chania are beautiful. Since our arrival time was during Christine's break and our flight had been delayed, her mom greeted us and took us to our room. Our room was behind the hotel, it was the only seperated room from the main part of the hotel, and we didn't mind this a bit, less noise from the other guests, one of which had a small child. Don't misunderstand we love children, but the child crying could be heard in the stairwell when we arrived. So we liked our secluded apartment with the tub instead of the standing shower. The room was beautifully decorated upon arrival, and the fridge was stocked with wine and champagne. A coffee maker, a small stove, kitchen sink, and refrigerator were in the room. The hair dryer is adequate for men. My wife had a problem with it though, we are asian indian, her hair is thick, so the hair dryer couldn't cut it, unless she stood there for an hour. We brought our own hair dryer, we used the adaptor, but it tripped the circuit breaker on the first night. It tripped it so badly that after resetting the breaker, later that night everything turned off due to burnt wiring. We have taken this hair dryer with us everywhere, included Thailand, Nepal, Singapore, the UK, Amsterdam, and Mexico, but for some reason it tripped the breakers here. Nevertheless, the family found and fixed the problem before we returned from our outing. That is what good service does.
My wife and I like to make use of our days, so we went to Falassana, Elfonossi, Stavros, and Golden beach. The latter we took a taxi to, which was polluted, and definetly not a good representation of what Crete has to offer in beaches. The first three we drove to, and they were wonderful. Falassana, and Elfonossi are AMAZING, there is no finer beauty then that which is found in nature, these places exemplify that statement. My wife and I took the time to drive to these places through the mountains, and gorges, the views at times were breathtaking. The drive gets a little hairy at times, but drive with caution and all is good. On your way to Elfonossi, stop at the Cave of Agais Sofia, you cannot miss it, everyone is stopped there, walking up the side of the mountain, it is a worthwhile stop. Also on the way back stop in the town of ELOS for a small snack. The lagoons are gorgeous, take snorkeling equipment as well. When you go to Falassana make sure to drive to the Minoan ruins and take a look around, the road is rough so drive slowly and carefully there as well. All of these beaches have snack bars, and beers available. Stavros is nice as well, only a half hour away, there was a nice island off of the shore that my wife and I snorkeled to as well, some people actually climbed up the rocks and hung out there. The beach here is nice as well, not polluted like Golden Beach.
In regards to dining, my God, if you like Greek and Cretan food, this place is like going to culinary heaven. The food was great, even when it was mediocre, it was great. A bottle of wine a night, plus beer at the beach, Greek beer of course, and Raki at night was what the doctor ordered. We mainly dined at one of the MANY restaurants on the harbour. They were all good, we are not foodies, we don't claim to be, but we like good food. We felt we ate good food at every place, some were better then others, but take your pick, by the way don't get a hamburger in Crete, eat some local foods, those are made daily and fresh.
We loved our trip, it was amazing, the measure of a good trip is when it ends too soon. This was one of them. The hotel was a perfect launching pad for our excursions. We would definetly stay there again, the atmosphere is memorable and the people are very hospitable.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank dharmadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2006

You know that a place is utterly fantastic when you feel compelled to write about it while on vacation! We arrived on Thursday, and were greeted by the young owner Christine, whose family has lovingly restored every inch of a Venetian townhouse dating from the 1200s.

Christine spent nearly an hour with us as we settled into our magnficent suite, explaining every nuance of the room, and answering our countless questions about Chania. She offered us candies, champagne, and wondeful peaches from our stocked fridge ( on the house) and delightfully posed for pictures beside our bed, which she had decorated with more candies and flowers from her roof garden!

The lovely harbor is only a two-minute walk from this hotel. Christine is full of suggestions about how to get to the best beaches and places with or without a car. All I can add to the many other compliments she's received already is that if you are visiting Chania, and don't stay here, you're out of your mind! After many trips to Europe, this family-run B&B is a place that's at the top of our list. We hope to return again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
1,365 reviews
13.5 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo di Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo di Pietro

Address: 13 Agion Deka | Old Harbour,, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range: £61 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo di Pietro 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Stayforlong S.L. so you can book your Palazzo di Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Di Pietro Chania
Palazzo Di Pietro Hotel Chania
Palazzo Di Pietro Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing