We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I will be ever back in Chania I will choose this same hotel !!”
Review of Royal Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Sun Hotel
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent there whole week, and if I will be ever back in Chania I will choose this same hotel one more time! Rooms were cleaned every day. View from hotel restaurant is amazing, you can see whole city and the sea. They also have free transfer from/to city all day! Friendly and helpful staff!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandros G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed for a week in August making daily use of the hotel's excellent pool and loungers, plus free use of pool towels. Wonderful views across Chania: the photos here on tripadviser are accurate but cannot convey the sheer joy of looking out across the Chania whilst enjoying a cocktail, watching an unimpeded sunset from the restaurant balcony. The Royal Sun was until 2012 used exclusively by the RAF and USAF, a legacy marked by photographs and memorabila displayed on walls. For this reason it is little known in Chania - but this is changing as its reputation grows quickly. The English-speaking staff are clearly used to running a well-organised operation doing so with a light touch: professional and good-humoured. Food is of good quality using fresh local produce where possible and the menu is based on Cretan and Greek dishes. It takes around 45 minute to walk to the old harbour, but the hotel's mini bus makes the trip in a continual loop from 10.30am to midnight. Alternatively, taxi fare is inexpensive. I hope to return .... but I fear in future it will be booked up months in advance!

Room Tip: You pay a little more for a sea view, but it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and would stay there again in a heartbeat. The view of Chania from the top is gorgeous! The room was spacious and very clean with great boxspring beds and airco. The bathroom was a bit run down and small but sufficient. The pool is huge and lovely layed out. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. The service in general was fantastic and friendly. We highly recommend this hotel if you want to visit Chania. They also provide you with transport to and from the city center.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonandCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We've just spent a week at this hotel.It was reallt clean and spacious!We were provided with clean towels and sheets and bathroom supplies every day.The pool is large and the view is superb since you can enjoy the whole city from the balconies.Really helpful stuff and the owner is absolutely friendly and professional!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Δέσποινα Κώστας Α
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was a lucky chance for me, I got caught out in Crete without a hotel and decided to give this one a go without prior booking, I was lucky as it seems they are normally fully booked.
The cost was good and I had the included breakfast which had enough options to keep anyone satisfied.
They are a little tricky to find but then I find several places hard in crete as their signs are a little lacking but this probably goes in their favour as it is in a quiet area away from the roads and tucked up in a residential area. You will need a car or a shuttle service to get to the hotel as its quite a hill climb from the main road.
The views to the sea/city and surrounding hills. There is a large pool area at the front, included towels, what is nice is that you will not be fighting for a sun bed.
When I return to Crete I will be trying to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo_Branco_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We paid €35 for a double room, plus €5 pp for a very good breakfast. Car necessary to reach downtown Chania, but the hotel provides free shuttle (we didn't use it). Front rooms have superb view to city and sunset, some back rooms underground. Large pool, surprisingly only used by very few guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimitriVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Friendly and helpfull staff, a smashing view over Chania and Sea. Very good, big portions of food, if you didit eat up, they gave you a "doggy-bag". Good breakfast for a low price. Nice atmosphere to relax. Rooms clean and beds are nice.. We spent 10 days here, Enyoing the large swimming pool, Visiting Chania by their pick-up buss to/from city. The hotel lies 3 km from town, for us it wasnt a problem. Just took the elevator upp to the bar who hade a large various of different beers. :) We recomend this hotel

Room Tip: choose seaviewroom, otherwise you could end up looking at mountwall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank partypinglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
2.1 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
585 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
899 reviews
7.9 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
436 reviews
1.9 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
1,365 reviews
62.1 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Hotel

Address: 36 Paizi Gianni, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £34 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing