We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel +Amazing island=Amazing holiday”
Review of Royal Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Sun Hotel
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel +Amazing island=Amazing holiday”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I went with my friends and everything was great : the food, pools, location of the hotel, room view and the staff were amazing and very welcoming. As soon as we arrived at 7am we were allocated to our rooms. The room had everything you needed. At breakfast the food was fantastic and very delicious. Every day our room was cleaned .
This was my best experience on Greek island, I had a fantastic holiday and would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    135
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
72
378
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Royal Sun Hotel is located on top of a hill overlooking the Med and the city of Chania. You can experiance breathtaking views while enjoying a beer from the bar, (which has the most extensive beer selection in Chania) or while enjoying an exquisite meal outside on the balcony. The rooms are nice with modern amenities while the pool area has recently been upgraded with a newly tiled pool and pool deck and new sun proected lounge chairs. Also, the Royal Sun is a reasonable cab ride to downtown Chania which alleviates the issue of parking in the downtown area. Overall, the Royal Sun has it all and I'm sure that Tony and his dedicated staff will take care of all of your needs!

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFErich127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent there whole week, and if I will be ever back in Chania I will choose this same hotel one more time! Rooms were cleaned every day. View from hotel restaurant is amazing, you can see whole city and the sea. They also have free transfer from/to city all day! Friendly and helpful staff!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandros G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed for a week in August making daily use of the hotel's excellent pool and loungers, plus free use of pool towels. Wonderful views across Chania: the photos here on tripadviser are accurate but cannot convey the sheer joy of looking out across the Chania whilst enjoying a cocktail, watching an unimpeded sunset from the restaurant balcony. The Royal Sun was until 2012 used exclusively by the RAF and USAF, a legacy marked by photographs and memorabila displayed on walls. For this reason it is little known in Chania - but this is changing as its reputation grows quickly. The English-speaking staff are clearly used to running a well-organised operation doing so with a light touch: professional and good-humoured. Food is of good quality using fresh local produce where possible and the menu is based on Cretan and Greek dishes. It takes around 45 minute to walk to the old harbour, but the hotel's mini bus makes the trip in a continual loop from 10.30am to midnight. Alternatively, taxi fare is inexpensive. I hope to return .... but I fear in future it will be booked up months in advance!

Room Tip: You pay a little more for a sea view, but it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerhugowaard
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and would stay there again in a heartbeat. The view of Chania from the top is gorgeous! The room was spacious and very clean with great boxspring beds and airco. The bathroom was a bit run down and small but sufficient. The pool is huge and lovely layed out. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. The service in general was fantastic and friendly. We highly recommend this hotel if you want to visit Chania. They also provide you with transport to and from the city center.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonandCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We've just spent a week at this hotel.It was reallt clean and spacious!We were provided with clean towels and sheets and bathroom supplies every day.The pool is large and the view is superb since you can enjoy the whole city from the balconies.Really helpful stuff and the owner is absolutely friendly and professional!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Δέσποινα Κώστας Α
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was a lucky chance for me, I got caught out in Crete without a hotel and decided to give this one a go without prior booking, I was lucky as it seems they are normally fully booked.
The cost was good and I had the included breakfast which had enough options to keep anyone satisfied.
They are a little tricky to find but then I find several places hard in crete as their signs are a little lacking but this probably goes in their favour as it is in a quiet area away from the roads and tucked up in a residential area. You will need a car or a shuttle service to get to the hotel as its quite a hill climb from the main road.
The views to the sea/city and surrounding hills. There is a large pool area at the front, included towels, what is nice is that you will not be fighting for a sun bed.
When I return to Crete I will be trying to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo_Branco_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
453 reviews
6.8 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 109 in Chania Town
510 reviews
5.1 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 109 in Chania Town
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#16 of 109 in Chania Town
265 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 109 in Chania Town
359 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#6 of 109 in Chania Town
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Hotel

Property: Royal Sun Hotel
Address: 36 Paizi Gianni, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing