We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in Chania! ”
Review of Royal Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Sun Hotel
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Perched on a hillside overlooking the whole of Chania town and harbor.
Pool rooms have fantastic views. Beds are soft and super comfortable. rooms vary in size based on whether they are mountain view (really just a view of the parking lot).
The swimming pool is in great shape and very inviting.
The restaurant has a wonderful buffet breakfast till 10:30 in the morning and fantastic Greek and American dishes for lunch and supper. Has both indoor and outdoor tables to choose from. Breakfast on the restaurant balcony will always be one of my favorite memories of the Royal Sun.
Poolside rooms (100 series) have ground floor direct access to the pool with open but private patios. They also come with a separate bedroom with a single bed for that extra guest.
Internet access was better in the mountain view rooms.
Free shuttle service to and from the hotel.
My favorite place to stay in Chania.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just had a week at the Royal Sun Hotel Chania. What can I say ?? The staff are excellent especially Rula & Christiano. The hotel is immaculate, the view is to die for, the buffet breakfast is excellent. There is a courtesy taxi from and to Chania every half an hour. Will definately be going baack next year

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Royal Sun is a small hotel with friendly staff and a beautiful pool area with a view across the town of Chania. I adored the pool which was quiet in June and equipped with super comfy wooden sun loungers paired with luxurious cushions! Our room was also nice, newly refurbished in an ultra modern style, and it was such a pleasure to open the curtains each morning to the wonderful view. There is also a good and reasonably priced restaurant in the hotel. The shuttle to the centre of Chania was a godsend (as parking in the town was very very difficult). The breakfasts were a bit chaotic and, after the first day we decided to have breakfast out of the hotel and tried various beach cafés and mountain tavernas which we personally preferred.

Overall, a great stay and I simply didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms, I think they cost a little more, but they're worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great staff that made our stay amazing. Everybody was super friendly and went out of there way to make our stay as comfortable as possible.Will be going back again for sure. Thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Facadaacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I used the Hotel for a second time within three weeks.
The stuff is realy friendly, the hotel is realy good, about 3 km from the city.
The breakfast is very good, the dinner is ala chart and it's not so expensive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful accommodations, pleasant staff. Great selection of Belgian beer and late night bar snacks. Comfy beds, gorgeous pool! Perfect place to stay for a few days. Not so close to town, but they have a shuttle service, and a gorgeous view of the harbor.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Amazing hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful. If you are staying in Chania, definitely the place to stay. Although 3km from the centre of Chania there is a free shuttle bus service every 30 mins from morning till late at night. The pool was gorgeous and the view from the rooms and the restaurant were breath taking facing west with fabulous sunsets. Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: book a room with sea or pool view - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
1.7 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
429 reviews
1.9 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,345 reviews
2.1 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
885 reviews
5.1 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#22 of 111 in Chania Town
403 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Hotel

Address: 36 Paizi Gianni, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £33 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing