We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must-go hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Sun Hotel
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must-go hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Outstanding customer service! Breathtaking views. Spend there last two days and honestly regret we didn't go there earlier. Sunset from the balcony was amazing, staff very helpful with various staff. Free transfer to the city and back so felt like we had our own taxi driver! Manager professional, extremely helpful and with sense of humour. Pool felt like a private one, no laud music but relaxing atmosphere . HIGHLY RECOMMENDING THIS ONE

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Na B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    129
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
69
342
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

From the moment we arrived at the Royal Sun we felt completely welcome. All staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us throughout our stay. The food at the restaurant and bar couldn't be faulted and the selection of beers and wines was wonderful. The pool area was fab and very clean as are the rooms.

Overall we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for a week in the sun to explore the beautiful Chania, we already cannot wait to return.

Thanks all at the Royal Sun

Room Tip: We stayed in room 505, beautiful views of mountains, sea, and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarsar90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We spent one night here after late arrival to Chania airport. The hotel is very pleasant, we had a room right beside the pool and it is worth paying extra for this. The room was large and comfortable and the view over Chania in the morning was wonderful. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. On the negative side however, we didn't want to eat a meal as we had arrived so late so just ordered a toasted sandwich. It was just dreadful, burnt and dry. Breakfast in the morning was no better. The cooked eggs, bacon etc looked most unappetising. There were an awful lot of little cakes and biscuits in plastic wrappers so the only thing we could eat was bread. The orange 'juice' was an unpleasant juice drink. In summary, by all means stay here, just try and get a room only rate and eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a wonderful week this July at the Royal Sun high above Chania. We enjoyed the breathtaking view, the excellent food in the hotel's restaurant, the big swimming pool and the friendly staff. We would go back to the Royal Sun any time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sritell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My spouse and I just left Royal Sun and we had an amazing time.

Pros:
- superbe view of Chania
- hotel is very clean
- personnel is friendly
- pool area is impressive and very modern
- there is a free shuttle to the city center
- wi fi working perfectly even at the pool

Cons:
- some rooms are not renovated but they are still very clean
- there is only one person at the front desk. If many clients arrive at the same time, the wait can be quite long

If we go back to Crete, we will certainly book at the Royal Sun if the prices stay the same. The value is amazing!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis-Charl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The place has good quality compared with average in the city.
It is not inside of the city, but they have a car service to bring you and pick up you from 10:30h to midnight.
The views of the city from the pool are really nice.
Around the hotel there is not nothing to visit by walk and the access to the hotel is not easy.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank a_rayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We were considering staying in Chania town, but after reading the reviews and seeing the view online we decided on the Royal Sun. I thought it might have been two far out of town at first, but after a night in Chania I was glad we picked the royal sun. It's such a relaxing hotel and away from all the madness in Chania. There is a free shuttle that will have you in the city Centre in 5min, this finishes at 12 but a taxi is only €7. The staff were excellent and Chris the manager is a sound bloke who's very approachable and helpful. Make sure you book the newier rooms if you can, we stayed in an older room. There was nothing wrong with it, but the new room are very very nice, ours was nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
6.8 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.0 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Hotel

Property: Royal Sun Hotel
Address: 36 Paizi Gianni, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing