We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Sailing Experience (Μια εκπληκτική εμπειρία ιστιοπλοΐα)”
Review of Notos Day Sailing

Notos Day Sailing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

If you find yourself on the island of Crete, make a trip to Chania harbor for a day sail on the Notos. Captain Niko Pentarakis took us (my wife and self plus 6 friends from Scotland) on a fantastic sail into the Cretan Sea. We enjoyed amazingly clear water (bottom visible beyond 20 meters), warm waters, superb food (OK it was snacks but it's perfect) and a very special surprise at the bottom (I am not telling what). Snorkel gear is provided as is an in depth historical over-view provided by the multi-talented Niko. Plain and simple, you don't want to miss this. If you are on Crete, make the trip to Chania and the Notos. It's well worth it.

Thank Traveldude101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notosmail, Owner at Notos Day Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words and photo. Next time when you come on board we will enjoy Scottish whiskey together :) say hallo to the rest of the crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Notos Day Sailing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I spent a day sailing along Chania's coast on the Notos yacht in August, during our honeymoon, and it was truly the highlight of our holiday. Nikos, the skipper and owner, is incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, funny and customer-oriented, speaking English and German fluently. Notos yacht is not only spotlessly clean, but also beautiful - as soon as you come on board, all you want to do is find a comfy space on deck, watch the horizon and listen to the waves. While a day sailing on a private yacht is of course more expensive than doing a 1-3h trip on one of the many tourist boats (with or without glass bottom) that leave from Chania's habour, it is worth every penny. Avoid the crowds and do not waste money on those crowded trips - the boats never leave until they are completely full, meaning you might have to wait around for ages, and are only for those who fancy feeling like a sardine in a tin. On the contrary, Nikos will tailor the day and route according to your wishes, and from the moment you step on deck you will feel relaxed, peaceful and a world away from the hassle of everyday life. Utter bliss!

Thank AllyTowanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notosmail, Owner at Notos Day Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words. For me it was also a very enjoyable day. Hope to see you again on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It was a beautiful day, full of fun, owner is a very nice guy, very good english, we went close to the island, and went snorkelling.

Thank Aleksandr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notosmail, Owner at Notos Day Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your nice words! It was a pleasure to sail with you. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We spend one sailing day with nikos in Chania Bay, it was a delicious day.

Nikos's boat is great and well equipped, he also takes time to give some sailing "lessons" in particular to kids (we were 4 adults and 2 kids) and and explain a little bit more the Cretan history.

We left at 10 am and sail during the full day with 2 great stops in beautiful creeks perfect for snorkeling, swimming and have a nice lunch on board with cretan products.

This day was a particular peacefull and quite day, some wind let us the opportunity to sail good.

No hesitation nikos is the good captain...

1  Thank SoSparkling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notosmail, Owner at Notos Day Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your nice words and photos! Hope to travel with you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

In the old harbour of chania in the part where the sailingships are we rented the sailingboat notos with captain Nikos . We started in the old harbour of chania and Nikos showed us interesting buildings and told us historical facts of times long ago . We went to a nice little bays and islands to do some swimming and snorkling . He brought al kinds of drinks and fingerfood for lunch . We recommend this trip very much ! It is really good value for your money , a perfect day to remember ! Thank you Nikos

1  Thank Peervmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notosmail, Owner at Notos Day Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you my crew! It was nice to meet you on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Notos Day Sailing also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Notos Day Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing