We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a try, you wont be disappointed.”
Review of The Green Eye

The Green Eye
Ranked #57 of 423 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Give it a try, you wont be disappointed.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just returned from 3 weeks holiday in Crete, had chance to visit a few restaurants in the Chania area. Once again we visited The Green Eye and in my mind it has to be my favourite. The meals appear better than ever and are on larger plates giving you a lot more to eat. The staff are very attentive and the food is quickly served. I noticed that quite a few of the customers were Greek, which means a lot to me. I also noticed that although the nearby restaurants were quiet, The Green Eye was very busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pc2827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    69
    25
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Bland food and abrupt service.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was looking forward to a nice lunch under the trees but it wasn't very nice, to be honest.
Took a long time before anyone came to serve me. When I ordered, the drink took an age to arrive and with the starter as well. I prefer to have a drink while I wait for my food.
The souvlaki was overcooked, the chips undercooked. Salad was fresh.
There are better places to eat in Chania more relaxing and welcoming.
Give this a miss.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RumblesBird04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxing!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A wonderful place to return to..made to feel like an old friend. Food always to excellent standard and I love just do sit and people watch with a glass of wine. No hard sell here like some places on the harbour either!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicoletta81499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Very popular”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The restaurant is in a very nice area with many other eateries around. We were there on the new year's eve, around noon,hence the menu was limited, but what they had was still good. The service was very friendly. Dragos,the waiter took good care of us. The customers (many in large groups) looked all locals and everybody was having fun. Good atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryokogasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good food”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The restaurant is located in nice place. It is clean and they serve really good food. Service is very friendly and helpful. I recommend this place in Chania.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rambolec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Eye also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to The Green Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing