We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location, Great Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Aphrodite House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TubbinFoo...
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Apartment”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This apartment is in a great location for a stay in Chania. We were surprised how close we were to everything in town. We loved the feel of walking down an alley, past the cafe's and bakery, pausing at a small door and slipping into our oasis in the city. The kids loved going down to the bakery in the morning to get their own breakfast.

The apartment is well appointed. There is a nice living room and two more bedrooms. The a/c and wifi work well and it unit has a washer which we appreciated at this point in our trip. The stairs are steep similar to what we found in most places we stayed in Greece.

Natalia was so helpful. At check-in, my daughter mentioned she would like to ride horses. Natalia knew of a place where she could ride to my surprise helped us make arrangements.

If you like staying in the cities and in the middle of everything, this apartment is a great choice.

Overall a superb location and accomodation xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Hi Clyde,
Thank you very much for taking time to leave a feedback our Aphrodite House. I am sure you your review will be helpful for out future guests! It was a pleasure to host you and we are looking forward to welcome you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karengir
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb visit ”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Have just spent a few days in this excellent apartment right in the centre of old Chania town. The location could not be any better located down off of the small alleyways within 5mins walk of the harbour and all its cafes and bars.

The apartment itself is very well appointed with everything you need including good wifi. Yes, if you have any physical issues that mean you cannot climb stairs then this is not for you but the same could be said for any similar properties of this style in the area. Yes there is a big of noise from the cafes etc in the alley until late at night bug can't say it was excessive.

Natalia, the agents representative was excellent and gave us her number to contact her with any issues and arrived promptly for our arranged checkout time.

Overall a superb location and accomodation xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Dear Nick,
Thank you very much for taking time to leave a feedback and for your kind words.
You are right, houses in the old town all are maisonette style and they have stairs leading to the bedroom and roof-terrace. However, this is charm of venetian Chania.
It was a pleasure to host you and your friends and we are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best wishe to all of you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwi-trav...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
686 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Good old town location - BUT noise goes on until 3am”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As per other reviews a nice place and good service from our greater

Ok wifi

But i would not stay again as i found the night time party noise outside our front door to much to sleep through - 30 years ago i would not have an issue!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you for taking time to review Aphrodite House. Bars is a part of Chania's rich night - life, and they usually work until late only on Friday and Saturday night. and we hope you still enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to welcome you again,
Natalia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dwhitting...
dallas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spacious and well located”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this for one week in June 2014. This is a very spacious apartment and the management was very attentive and responsive to all our needs. Travelled with a 7/13 year old and my wife.

The Good +++
Space, washing machine, location, terrace, air conditioning, wifi, and general management.

The Down Sides.
One bathroom on the main floor
Steep Steps (not for elderly or physically challenged)

Neutral things:
Both a good and a bad... you are in the HEART of downtown Chania. So this is Greece and they party till 2am :). Just be aware it is not necessarily quiet :).

I feel this is a great location and apartment.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D H
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Chania Venetian Old Town”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautifully rennovated and superbly presented 3-floor apartment in the heart of the old Venetian port. Every possible care has been taken to make guests welcome, right down to wine and Cretan olive oil in the kitchen - and, oh joy, tea in the cupboard when you arrive. Every suggestion in the very enthusiastic visitors' book is clearly acted upon immediately - our one suggestion would be a small bottle of fresh semi-skimmed milk for English visitors, though there were long-life sachets.

A drawback for the less physically able is the very steep staircases, and there are 3 of them. The only drawback generally was that there is virtually no view, except for the bustling, pretty street below, though you can glimpse the harbour from the pleasant roof-top terrace. On the other hand, the whole area is a joy to explore, the harbour, a few metres away, is beautiful and a wonderful place to chill out with your iPad or a book and drink coffee or something stronger. Don't miss the amazing Agora further up behind the Church - you can have an authentic Cretan lunch there and, in addition to every foodstuff, there is an absolutely superb Cretan products shop, Klidaras Panayiotis. Around every corner near the apartment there are really good local tavernas (such as the Tamam, reviewed separately), and the baker opposite, Sketi Glyka, produces wonderful treats every day.

Give the harbour side restaurants a miss and follow the advice in the visitors' book or suggestions from Andreas at Cretan Life, through whom we booked the apartment. He is not only a fount of information, but formidably organised and helpful.

We were there for a week and really did not want to move on to our planned tour of the rest of Crete. Bravo, too, Ryanair, without whom it would not have crossed our minds to take this great out-of-season holiday. We were utterly smitten with Crete.

Arrange your car hire through Andreas too - don't even think about Hertz, with whom we were extremely unhappy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the heart of the ancient Venetian port
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing