We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanim Lounge & Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Everything that has been written here about Hanim is true. We stayed 2 nights mid-october and were given the Lonicera room. Huge, modern, sleek decor, king size bed, great shower,quality linen. Balcony, modern desk, bistrot-table, coffee maker, kettle, fridge... Fantastic breakfast with local, tasty products, mountain tea, family made jams...Best of all: the incredible hospitality. Magali,who welcomed us when we arrived took out a map and showed us where we could find real Cretan restaurants. We met the sisters at breakfast. Amazing. We were given a history lesson of Chania and Crete. An hour later we were sent of to discover the city ...with a bottle of water("you have to drink it is going to be warm") . No detail escapes their attention.
We stayed at two other hotels in Chania. This is the one we will come back to. The location is great with the old port just around the corner. You won't miss the sea view.I promise.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lonicera and enjoyed its size and modern comfort including great shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odette352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
99
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A wonderfull welcome by the most amazing people!from the moment we arrived we felt like a part of the family.Just returned back and can't wait for our next visit.Absolutely amazing.Our room was lovely!Spacious and nicely decorated!All areas were clean and the most relaxing atmosphere.Rena,her sister and their partners are doing their upmost to ensure that all clients are enjoying their stay and this is so much appreciated by everybody.Do not miss breakfast and the homemade marmalades by Rena's grandmother.Loved them!We highly recommend the Hanim not only for the high standards and great hospitality but also for the great location.
Rena,Manto,Socratis and all the team,a BIG BRAVO!Thank you for your great hospitality and we hope to see you in Cyprus too!A big hug from Maroullam :-),Chrystalla and Stavroulla!xxx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELENA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our stay at Hanim in early October this year was EXTRAORDINARY! Our room was gorgeous and huge! Hanim is the perfect combination of traditional and modern comforts with the styling of a high end boutique hotel. We even had a vase of beautiful fresh flowers in the room. The breakfast area is lovely with its beautiful community wooden table with Gotan Project playing in the background. This place is a haven.

Rena, her sister and husband Socrates are young, wonderful hosts who couldn't do enough to make us feel welcomed and appreciated. Breakfast was culinary delight! It came in courses and everything was fresh, locally sourced and home made in the moment. Rena and team presented and explained the dishes, ingredients with such knowledge and obvious pride in the superior and exquisite breakfast they serve.

The beaches, wineries and restaurant recommendations they provided were superb and they even gave us recommendations for wineries and exquisite restaurants in Santorini, which were also amazing!

Words aren't enough to convey the outstanding experience the Hanim team delivers. We stayed in 7 hotels and B&Bs while in Greece for three weeks, some at over $200/night which is on the high side for October and none even come close to our experience at Hanim. After only three nights, my mom, aunt and I were sad to leave our new found friends.

Just tell Rena and Socrates what you enjoy and they will point you in the most amazing directions and take care of your every wish so you can enjoy the most authentic and wonderful sides of Crete.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guaya11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for a week in early October and it was absolutely fantastic. The hotel is in an old building in the heart of the Old Town but has been renovated to a very high standard. It is impeccably clean and well-presented throughout.

The real gem however are the staff who do absolutely everything to make sure your stay is perfect. They have great local knowledge and will let you know about places only the locals know. They are friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

In short, I would stay here again and if you are planning a trip to Hania you should too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bergholt, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 10 day trip to Crete. We stayed at Hanim for our first two nights in Chania and again for two nights at the end of our holiday. We chose the hotel for its location, fresh photos and reviews. Have to say we were delighted when we checked in and met by the lovely Rena (one of two owner sisters) and taken to our room. It was fantastic and more than we expected. We were allocated the Lonicera room which is on the first floor with a lovely balcony over looking the little street. Great king sized bed, also a 2nd bed tucked away if needed. The bathroom is very smart and to get a enclosed shower in Greece is a luxury! Complimentary expensive looking and fragrant natural shampoos and shower gels. Large bottles too which is unheard of these days! There is also a fridge, kettle, coffee machine and table & chairs should you wish to make a drink/light snack. Very spacious room and just perfect for us. Breakfast was included in our rate which we thought would be pretty basic and boy were we surprised the next morning....! We got fresh OJ, fresh bread, homemade jams & marmalade(heavenly!), bruschetta with cheese, basil, local ham. then a plate of cucumber, tomato, cheese & pork and omelette slices. Finally a wonderful dish with yoghurt, fresh fruit and cake all topped with stunning sugary/honey grapes! Wow! Coffee on tap too. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and received less and charged €25 for the pleasure too.
On our 2nd visit we were allocated the same room which we were thrilled about. The same style breakfast each morning too. On our final morning we also got slices of freshly made tomato quiche! Sokratis is a top chef!

The thing with this hotel is not the wonderful room we got or the fantastic breakfast but the staff/owners. They are so helpful and so much fun to spend time with. They want you to love Chania and Crete as much as they do and are very happy to get maps out, recommend places/restaurants/bars. They only recommend places that they have used so have a first hand experience. No tourist joints allowed!

Hand on heart, I can recommend this lovely 7 bedroomed hotel. We were so glad we changed our reservation from SC to here What a find.

Thanks so much to Rena, Sokratis, Manto and team for making our stay so enjoyable. We will be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesseboyonhistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel in superb location in Chania old town. The hotel is in the old quarter of the town but is a complete renovation. It is tastefully done maintains examples of the old walls. The rooms are large with small kitchenettes. Having stayed in numerous five star hotels I have never come across such considerate and pleasant service. The two sisters genuinely want their customers to enjoy their stay. They go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. Breakfast is a lovely experience. It is all individually served which is a relief after the horrendous endless badly cooked/served buffet breakfasts of larger hotels. The food at Hanim is beautifully presented and includes home made jams and conserves. Their are four different parts to the breakfast and each plate is served separately. Thought long and hard about putting a review on tripadvisor. Once more people have reviewed the hotel it will be increasingly difficult to get a booking. This is a hidden gem I would like to stay hidden. In the end I couldn't not put a review. The two sisters and the male member of their team deserve an excellent review and for their hotel to be a great success. We will just make sure we book a long time in advance.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elainetyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to find this wonderful place by luck when looking for a place to stay in Chania. The rooms spacious and bright, with a small little kitchen area even. The location absolutely can't be beat. Just a few steps away are the shops and the waterfront. But the best part was the hospitality from the owners. They were so accommodating and helpful in all our requests and even in suggestions outside of Chania.

I would without question stay here again and would recommend it to everyone.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyCole81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 108 in Chania Town
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 108 in Chania Town
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#8 of 108 in Chania Town
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 108 in Chania Town
847 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#28 of 108 in Chania Town
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#6 of 108 in Chania Town
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanim Lounge & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanim Lounge & Studios

Property: Hanim Lounge & Studios
Address: 19 Agion Deka St, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanim Lounge & Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
atmosphere and hospitality blend together and create a fascinating experience, Hanim Lounge & Studios, at the heart of the old harbor of Chania in the island of Crete, Greece's largest island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hanim Lounge & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanim Lounge & Studios Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing