We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and a cool room - perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ONTAS Traditional Hotel
Ranked #54 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed 9 July 2007

We also stayed during the heatwave, and I agree entirely that the air conditioning really was the saviour of our holiday - despite the intense heat outside, even at night, we still found that we were waking up shivering at 5am - which was a good thing! We arrived late at night after a long bus journey from Heraklion, and despite having to carry my suitcase up two flights of stairs, the welcome we received was wonderful; the owner is a kindly, helpful man who speaks good english and, when not keeping the hotel spotless and emptying traditional greek bins of toilet paper from the rooms, spends his days watching the world go by from his chair in front of the hotel. Though it may be 'traditional' in name and style, the hotel has been refurbished recently to a high standard. The rooms have lots of storage space, shutters on the windows to keep the rooms cool, a good-sized yet amazingly silent fridge with icebox and firm yet comfortable beds with a variety of bedding.

If you want to stay right by the venetian harbour but don't want to pay high prices for inevitably noisy rooms at the western, touristy end of the harbour, you really can't get much better than this. If you're looking for things to do in the evenings, mere metres from the hotel entrance are a row of lively tavernas that stay open until very late - too lively for some, perhaps, but a few more steps and you find yourself surrounded by quieter fish restarants - the restaurant immediately to your left at the end of the street coming onto the harbour is especially good (ask to be taken inside and choose your own fish from the freezer). Despite its proximity to Chania's vibrant heart, the hotel's windows let in little sound - I'm a very light sleeper, yet I still slept perfectly every night.

Overall, Traditional Hotel Ontas provided the perfect central base from which to explore the harbour, city and much of mid-and-western Crete.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JamesDeVile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2007

Since we were in Crete for record heats - 40 to 44 C - our most important feature for a room was the A/C. The room was tiny as are most Greek rooms but the air conditioning worked great. We were able to cool off after a day of sightseeing and even sleep at night. Great location to walk all over town. Laundromat was nearby - drop off the laundry and come back in about 4 hours to pick up clean clothes.

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank FCsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2007

what a cute room! and it was right near the harbor. The owner was also really nice. I highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamingscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2006

Charming place in Chania. 3 nights, mini fridge (with free ouzo!), little table, large bathroom and very hot water. Vassili, the proprietor, was quite nice (though he does smoke a lot, but you can't smell it from the room at all). The only thing I would say that is negative is that they don't clean the room each day- don't make the bed, and you have to ask for clean towels. Oh well, for the price it was worth it. Take Vassili's recommendation for Dolmata's restaurant, and go to the Well of the Turk too. First one is cheap and great Greek food (wine leaves!), second is expensive Turkish food, but incredible.

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank Jonesteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
15
Reviewed 13 November 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Ontas for 6 nights. Lovely small and friendly hotel from which easy to explore Chania and the neighbouring attractions.

Wandering around the Venetian harbour and going to all the local restaurants was a great way to spend each evening. During the day we would get into the car and drive for miles! Wonderful scenery down to the south coast and along the quieter western coast. Roads rather windy but well worth the long drives.

Very friendly owner of the hotel, looked after us very well. Room had a balcony and very useful being able to make use of the facilities in the kitchen. Stored all our picnic food there! Make sure you get the chance to go to the Market - every Saturday - night outside the hotel. Not sure if it operates throughout winter though.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2005

It's so useful to be able to book ahead on the net, and we found the hotel very welcoming with our large traditionally styled room with all facilities and helpful major domo. In the immediate area is the Eastern seafront bar area popular with Haniots, a terrific typically Cretan style restaurant called the Doloma which was extremely friendly and cheap to eat and drink in, a quaint bar with authentic live Cretan music every night, all in the midst of the unreconstructed part of the old town, yet only a short walk to the Venetian port.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pubgoer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Milan
15
Reviewed 9 September 2005

Hi,

I stayed at Ontas for one night, because Chania is not far from the airport and so it was easy to get there the first night of our Cretan tour.
I have to say that the Ontas is really nice and in a real "greek style", people are very kind and answered all the (many) questions I sent them by e-mail to plan my holiday.
Once in the hotel we met Vassili, a very kind man prompt to give you information on how to live the city at best!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#84 of 111 in Chania Town
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
172 reviews
2.5 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
564 reviews
3.1 mi away
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ONTAS Traditional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ONTAS Traditional Hotel

Address: Epimenidou 11 & Ikarou, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £47 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ONTAS Traditional Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hotel Ontas is a restored Venetian architecture building in the old town of Chania, Crete. Being in a unigue residential group where the guest can enjoy the co-existence of Venetian fortification and mansions, Turkish mosques and minarets, the unique Neoria as well as the modern neoclassic buildings of the early 19th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your ONTAS Traditional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ontas Traditional Chania
ONTAS Traditional Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing