We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a good location”
Review of Arkadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arkadi Hotel
Ranked #41 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I booked this hotel for my wife and daughter (age 21). The it seemed a lot of money at 343 and 420 Euros for a single and double room. That included a breakfast. Once we arrived the staff were very friendly and were expecting us. I had pre-booked parking in the underground car park. To say it was tight is an understatement. But I did get in and when I collected the car it was cool, though I had to take a 'run' at the exit ramp! The rooms were of a good size and we had 2 double rooms, though we gave the double bed to our daughter and we had the 2 singles as her room was slightly bigger and the view much better. Take a room facing the front of the building as the rear is OK, but not as good as the front. In our rooms came the following - air con, TV, fridge with a free bottle of water, towels, toiletries, safe with key and roller shutters on the door to the balcony.
The breakfast was a European affair, though there was a hot choice with small hot dog sausages and omelette. The cold was all the normal cereals, with toast, juice, fruit, cold meats and cheese. This was included in the price and we enjoyed it every morning. All in all we would recommend this hotel as it is a very short walk to the harbour front and about 15 minutes walk to the nearest beach. There is a lot of shopping in the old town and as this is just outside, probably better value for money than staying within the old town area. The staff were lovely and did all they could to make our trip memorable.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the front of the building as the views are much better than to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newwell16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

Walking distance to bus station and the old town. Nice breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zelda_19K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Its central position, e.g. 5 min walk from central stations, banks, taxis, makes it ideal for first visit without vehicle. Especially, in the evenings, one can walk down the central road, through the old town, towards the venezian port and begin a wild night out.The hotel is old but in good condition, clean and well preserved.The service is very good, and offers a low budget stay for its prestigious position.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simijtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Very central for Old Town and very near bus station. Excellent friendly staff and spotlessly clean. Breakfast OK.

Room Tip: our rooms were on 4th floor facing towards back, very quiet and lift available - no stairs requiring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie6947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

arkadi hotel: good location, walking distance to beaches, harbour, chania town. also has supermarket 10metres away and what seems to be a 24hr everest (some fast food chain) 5 metres away. friendly and english speaking reception. breakfast adequate. room was suitable, bathroom nice and warm. however the shower water spills everywhere. ask for 401 or 501. you get only 1 neighbour and brilliant views of the mountains. there is a park opposite the hotel which seems to serve as a hangout for lots of people. room is decent size with good chanels on tv. strangely there's a curtain so no light gets in, a double glazing balcony door so no sound gets in and on top of that another shutter with slits in it so definitely no light get its.
Tellus tours: 10metres away and worthwhile doing the samaria gorge with them if you're there in season. if there is only one reason to do this, the legendary guide Tomassss is awesome.
Samaria Gorge: DO it if you can walk 16kilometres. DONT do it if you cant even do that, if you cant balance on a rock, if you're afraid of stones/heights/water/tiredness/aching calves. No one really tells you this until you're on the coach at 6.20am.
Blue Adventures diving: good cavern dives, but weather dependant.
Chania: Nice town in the off peak season.
Overall, brilliant trip. I shall be back next year but for the southern coast.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
Thank muffinshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Our family spent a week at the Arkadi this summer (2 adults, 1 8 year old boy). The receptionists were so helpful with everything. Very centrally located: across the street from the main tourist area, a few blocks from the bus terminal, a 15 minute walk to the beach. We used this as our home base, while we explored other parts of the island. We also went to the nearby water park 2x, was great for son. The room was good sized, not enormous, but perfectly adequate for the 3 of us. The patio came in handy for drying clothes. Breakfast was exactly what we needed. I agree that the staff were treasures. Free computer w/internet on the mezzanine level was great, too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Fantastic location with lovely staff. Comfortable, pleasant good size room with view over old town. Staff were absolute treasures, always happy and always helpful. Enjoyable breakfast. Very good value and very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christinemayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Nefeli Hotel
Nefeli Hotel
#59 of 111 in Chania Town
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
1,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#24 of 111 in Chania Town
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#63 of 111 in Chania Town
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elia Betolo Hotel
Elia Betolo Hotel
#22 of 111 in Chania Town
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#33 of 111 in Chania Town
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkadi Hotel

Address: Square, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range: £49 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arkadi Hotel is only 200 metres away from the walls of the old town and the Venetian harbour of Chania. It is an ideal location for guests who want to discover Chania and its region. We are a three star hotel located at Square 1866, one of the most central squares of Chania.Featuring 64 rooms equipped with modern amenities; we pride ourselves on friendly and helpful service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Arkadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkadi Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing