We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arkadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arkadi Hotel
Ranked #37 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I booked a trip with a travel agent in Athens to go to Crete and some other places. They sort of rushed me through the process and some of the places they put me in were less than great but I have to say that not one second did I regret staying at the Arkadi hotel!

The location is amazing. It's right across the square from the main bus station and just a short walk takes you down into the heart of Old Town.

There is WIFI there for guests and if you walk out to the square there is free wifi there as well.

If you travel alone like I do and aren't sure what you want to do, just ask the desk staff here! I was not steered wrong once, and I got to go all around the area both by bus as well as the car I rented! The view I personally had looked straight down the hill to the harbor and was spectacular.

The room was spacious, clean, and well laid out (I even was able to exercise in the room available on the floor!) and had adequate AC. The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast they provided was a buffet which included cereal, eggs (omelettes), sausages and little hot dogs. There were also cold cuts and some cheeses and juices/coffee/tea. I found it to be a decent value for the price.

For a low price (9 euro) they washed, dried and folded all of my laundry (best smelling stuff in my bag by then!).

I read a review here that said they felt their rooms might be a bit expensive, but I did not pay over 50 euros a night for a single room with a double bed, a balcony, and a nice view. The showers were nice, with adequate water pressure, and they were cleaned well each day.

As I said, though I felt the best part of this place was by far the helpfulness/welcoming attitude of the staff and the location. Staying right next to all the transportation as well as having an easy walk to some of the most charming little streets and the main harbor in Old Town-complete with its night life made this a complete win during my vacation.

Room Tip: I faced the main street and stayed on the 3rd floor and was quite happy with it-
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    146
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
53
127
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Good value for money, and friendly staff in reception

The hotel is about 5 minutes from the harbour, 12 minutes walk to Nea Chora beach, and 1 minute from main taxi stand and bus terminal, which makes it close to anything (and one of the main reason why I chose it).

The rooms also have balconies. They are quite small, but at least enough to sit there and enjoy a quiet evening.

Varying quality of internet, but I guess good enough considering it was not charged extra for.

Room Tip: Get room on top floor, quiet and also some view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeverendingVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Arkadi Hotel is in a great location around the corner from the bus depot, and right at the entrance to the old town. The room was clean and comfortable with A/C, and there was a good buffet breakfast included. It was good value overall.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dandd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I booked this hotel for my wife and daughter (age 21). The it seemed a lot of money at 343 and 420 Euros for a single and double room. That included a breakfast. Once we arrived the staff were very friendly and were expecting us. I had pre-booked parking in the underground car park. To say it was tight is an understatement. But I did get in and when I collected the car it was cool, though I had to take a 'run' at the exit ramp! The rooms were of a good size and we had 2 double rooms, though we gave the double bed to our daughter and we had the 2 singles as her room was slightly bigger and the view much better. Take a room facing the front of the building as the rear is OK, but not as good as the front. In our rooms came the following - air con, TV, fridge with a free bottle of water, towels, toiletries, safe with key and roller shutters on the door to the balcony.
The breakfast was a European affair, though there was a hot choice with small hot dog sausages and omelette. The cold was all the normal cereals, with toast, juice, fruit, cold meats and cheese. This was included in the price and we enjoyed it every morning. All in all we would recommend this hotel as it is a very short walk to the harbour front and about 15 minutes walk to the nearest beach. There is a lot of shopping in the old town and as this is just outside, probably better value for money than staying within the old town area. The staff were lovely and did all they could to make our trip memorable.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the front of the building as the views are much better than to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newwell16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Walking distance to bus station and the old town. Nice breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelda_19K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Its central position, e.g. 5 min walk from central stations, banks, taxis, makes it ideal for first visit without vehicle. Especially, in the evenings, one can walk down the central road, through the old town, towards the venezian port and begin a wild night out.The hotel is old but in good condition, clean and well preserved.The service is very good, and offers a low budget stay for its prestigious position.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simijtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Very central for Old Town and very near bus station. Excellent friendly staff and spotlessly clean. Breakfast OK.

Room Tip: our rooms were on 4th floor facing towards back, very quiet and lift available - no stairs requiring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie6947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Elia Betolo Hotel
Elia Betolo Hotel
#25 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nefeli Hotel
Nefeli Hotel
#59 of 110 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Danaos Hotel
Danaos Hotel
#40 of 110 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkadi Hotel

Property: Arkadi Hotel
Address: Square, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arkadi Hotel is only 200 metres away from the walls of the old town and the Venetian harbour of Chania. It is an ideal location for guests who want to discover Chania and its region. We are a three star hotel located at Square 1866, one of the most central squares of Chania.Featuring 64 rooms equipped with modern amenities; we pride ourselves on friendly and helpful service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arkadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkadi Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing