We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Lefka”
Review of Lefka Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lefka Apartments
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2008

I booked these apartments purely on the reviews posted on Trip Advisor, and as usual I wasn't let down. The only slight concern I had was that some reviews had mentioned the busy road, and I had half expected to be staying next to a 6 lane motorway, but thankfully I was wrong. Yes the road is busy, but to get to the main beach it can be crossed a few hundred yards up the road from the apartments at traffic lights - easy! This also gives you the excuse to call in at the most fantastic bakery - pastries to die for and a fantastic choice too.
The main beach is beautiful, with clean sand and crystal clear water. There was a good availability of sunbeds and shades, which we found very reasonably priced and well looked after by the very friendly and courteous attendant - and we did need them, the weather was glorious. It's quite a long beach, with ample room for you to stroll along the shoreline if you so wish.
The taverna sells a good selection of soft and alcoholic drinks, as well as fresh sandwiches, salads etc. We ate there a couple of times and enjoyed it.
There is another beach closer to the apartments, but I would suggest that this is more of a 'walking' beach. It's not as pretty as the main beach and therefore never gets busy, although we often saw a few people enjoying the peace and quiet. We passed this beach when walking into Chania - it takes about 25mins. The pathway is on a stretch of open ground - nothing exciting, but look to the left and the view of the sea is lovely. This eventually leads to the harbour, with it's abundance of shops and restaurants - Chania is beautiful. Every restaurant we tried was at least very good - a couple were truly excellent. A ten minute (90cent) bus ride back drops you right outside the apartments. Talking of which, Andreas, Evita and the team are just brilliant, there's nothing more I can add that hasn't already been said on previous reviews. They are just the most wonderful people. The really good thing about staying at Lefka is that you don't have to go out and have a night on the town! A lazy day by the beach/pool, a shower and a change of clothing, followed by a lovely meal prepared for you by Andreas and Evita, accompanied by the odd Mythos or two(?) - now that is my idea of a relaxing, and trust me we did it several times. Thanks to everyone concerned, and to all the fellow guests that we met while we were there, we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrafterCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Lefka Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2008

I have to agree with all previous reviews regarding the apartments,owners,gardens,pool and taverna,all of which are superb.
One thing most reviewers omit is that once you leave the Lefka complex the bubble bursts in that you immediately encounter a very very busy intercity highway which cannot be described as attractive.It is flanked by semi commercial buildings and could be described as suburbia,it is not rural.
Immediately opposite the apartments is a small road leading to a quiet beach,this road is flanked with scruffy scrub land and some litter,on reaching the beach you will find it is quiet,but,the full length of this beach has a background of derelict buildings.
If you then walk a little further the next beach is reached of which it is excellent,but it is covered for its full length with sunbeds and umbrellas,there is one small taverna.
If you are the type of person who likes to remain by the pool and relax all day,then the exterior road etc will not be a problem.
Apart from the Lefka Taverna there is only one decent restaurant locally,after that you need to catch the bus into town where their are an abundance of good restaurants.
If you like walking then the area surrounding the apartments is not suitable except for a walk into town along the beach,this is also flanked by scrub land and litter.
This is the first time in many years of travel that i felt the need to make a comment on a location,we travel at least 3 times a year to different places.I made the mistake of researching the apartments only before I left and not the surrounding area.
I must stress again the apartments etc are absolutely superb.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank reg2ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

I booked two weeks at Lefka Apartments because of the universally exc ellent reports on Trip Advisor. I have just returned home after a brilliant holiday and am happy to agree with all the favourable comment and praise for this extremely well run and very friendly apartment complex.

1  Thank Chrisbo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Everything about our holiday was fantastic and started off at the Lefka Apartments. Nothing about this accommodation could be faulted. Andreas, Evita and the staff were great and certainly helped make our holiday memorable. Our studio was very well equipped, comfortable and cleaned every day. They are set back off the road in beautiful gardens and very private. The road was not an isssue, we didn't find it too noisy even though at times it was quite busy. A ten minute trip into the centre of Chania by car or by the handy bus service nearby and only 10 or 15 mins from the main highway for easy access for touring. Lovely beach within minutes by car and 10 mins walk and supermarket a stones throw away for essentials. We will most definitely return to Crete and to Lefka Apartments....a rare find indeed.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Spiranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Well, nothing has changed really - our third time at Lefka and as ever, it is the ONLY place to stay in Chania. Lazy days by the pool or on the beach, great recommendations and hospitality you can find nowhere else. All I can say is a big THANK YOU to Andreas, Evita and Janis!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Adrian_Sadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Our second visit to the Lefka apartments (1st April 2006). Just as superb as the first visit, albeit slightly warmer. Visited with our two daughters aged 11 and 15.

Excellent hosts, Evita, Andreas, Lily, Yanni, Khartuna and the two ladies who clean the apartments (apologies for the terrible spelling).

Accommodation clean, comfortable with good cooking facilities the pool is just perfect, clean and the food and drinks served by Andreas & Co. superb (especially the normal English tea!).

Lovely welcome from Evita & Co (including Josephine the cat), it felt like we had never been away.

Hospitality second to none, a truly genuine hard working family run business - a credit to them all.

Great location, close to Chania (only a short bus ride away or a 45 min walk) and 10 min taxi ride to the water park.

:-)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank redvwchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

It's difficult to think of anything to say that hasn't been said already!

First, the "DOWN" side:

1) Yes, the road is busy, and even adults need to keep their wits about them crossing it.

2) Well..... there isn't really a 2.


And the "UP" side:

1) The rooms are great - clean, well appointed, and spacious.

2) The pool is brilliant! It's big, with a safe toddlers' area, and really clean and well maintained, without tasting of chlorine and making youir eyes nip. There is plenty of space round it, with plenty of umbrellas and sunbeds, and to spare.

3) The pool bar (which is close to the pool [in joke]), is great, staffed through the day by the lovely Hantouna ( hope your family in Georgia are safe and well), for whom nothing is too much trouble, and in the evening by Yanous (of the great Marguretas!)and Andreas.

4) The owners. Andreas and Evita really do everything that is humanly possible to ensure that everyone has the best possible stay. And when disaster strikes (one in our party managed to break her leg!) they pull out all the stops to prevent it ruining everyone's holiday - in fact even the patient still had a great time! But, as well as the big things, like ferrying us from hospital to pharmacy and back to Lefkas, sorting out "fit to fly" forms, medical certificates, etc., it is the little things that Evita and Andreas do that sets Lefkas apart.

5) The food. The bar menu isn't that big really and, broken legs apart, I wouldn't choose to eat there every night for two weeks, but what they do serve is really, really, good food, and loads of it! There is a good selection of Greek food, but also plenty to please the kids. And when you feel like a change, Andreas has the amazing knack of being able to recommend the exact local restaurant to suit his individual guests needs. And then of course, there are the cakes!! Enough said!

6) The other guests. Lefkas doesn't use tour companies, so all their guests are all independant travellers, which makes for a really interesting mix of people from all over the world ( though there were NO towels on the sunbeds, if you get my meaning!).

7) The other staff. I think there must be at least one more, but
I only met one housekeeper, and she was lovely! The linen and towels were changed several times a week (I'm a bloke - I don't know how often, but it was a lot), and the rooms were serviced beautifully six days a week.

8) The gardens, which are beautifully maintained

9) The beaches. The nearest is about 5 minutes walk away. It's very quite, and mostly frequented by locals. It's a mix of sand and shingle on the beach, but the sea bottom is rocky and uneven, so young children might find themselves suddenly out of their depth. But there is a small bar, sunbeds and umbrellas, so if lying in the sun is your thing, it's fine. The next beach, Golden Beach, however, is just a couple of hundred yards to the west, and is fabulous! Huge, gently shelving, sandy, and well appointed with small bars, cafes, all the usual bits and pieces, and a lifeguard patrol.

10) For goodness sake, aren't you convinced yet? Just try it - you'll love it. And if you don't, I'll pay the cost of your holiday*.

11) *I lied about the last bit.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Termin8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
1.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
535 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#15 of 111 in Chania Town
277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
413 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lefka Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lefka Apartments

Address: Omirou Str, Yermaniko Pouli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £42 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Lefka Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday studios and apartments, with large swimming pool, located in Chania, Crete, within 2 1/2 kms of the city centre and only 5 minutes from a sandy beach. Accommodation at Lefka apartments consists of 8 studios and 8 one bedroom apartments, with large swimming pool, beautiful garden and private parking space. The studios and apartments are spacious and comfortable. All have air conditioning, bathroom with shower and WC, large balcony overlooking the pool or garden, wireless Internet, TV, phone, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and equipped kitchenette with refrigerator, 2-ring cooker hob, microwave, coffee machine, toaster and utensils. Daily maid services and change of linen and towels every 3 days are included. Lefka apartments are open from May to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lefka Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lefka Apartments Hotel Chania Town
Lefka Apartments Chania
Lefka Apartments Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing