We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contessa Hotel, Chania”
Review of Contessa Hotel

Contessa Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Contessa Hotel
Ranked #91 of 114 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Having just had an overnight stay at the Contessa I am glad to say it was just one night only. The room was small, it was sold to us as having air conditioning, there was none, if you can call the window 3 metres up the wall and a free standing fan air conditioning. The fridge door did not close, the television was not connected and out of the ark. The bathroom/cupboard was a sight to behold measuring lm x 2.5m , the shower head was older than the tv. and leaked at both ends and directed at the wall, to dry yourself we had to open the sliding door to give you space and to use the toilet we had to slide in alongside the sink. We also had to make our own bed as the bedding was just put on the side. All in all a very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Don't' go to the Contessa
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sinead74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Contessa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

The hour was waining & I was tired from driving when I arrived at Chania Old Town. Armed with my travel guide I first asked about rooms at the nice looking Madonna studios.

They were full - so the Madonna lady 'kindly' lead me to near the harbour front to the empty Hotel Contessa.

The manager Bertha showed me room 5 - all very dated but clean with air conditioning hence I gave in to the €50 per night for 2 nights rate. After all, I did need a place & Chania seemed booked up.

I always travel with a good eye mask & quality earplugs - but they were no defence for the long night ahead.

The next morning I needed to be fresh and up early to catch the 6am bus to the Samaria Gorge.

What you're not advised of at check in is that a few metres away there is a port side nightclub that thumps out the heavy bass and loud chatter from midnight to sunrise.

The excellent earplugs were well and truly defeated by The Killers et al & noisy harbor front. As I set off for the bus at 5.45am the young & carefree were still arriving at the club!

Not a wink of sleep was had - poor preparation for a long 18km gorge hike.

Shame, as the initial welcome at the hotel seemed ok too - fresh orange and 'home made' cinnamon biscuits.

Upon returning to Chania after the Samaria walk I was determined to check out of the crumbling Hotel Contessa and seek a quiet and peaceful place for much needed sleep.

I asked Bertha the manager to please wait as I needed to pay & check out after 1 night & she seemed to understand. I packed within 5 minutes - but when I made it down the many stairs with heavy luggage in hand, Bertha (who feared losing her only paying guest 1 night early) had done a runner, turned the lights off & left for the night! Over and out!

All is fair in love & war- but she had my Passport & I was flying out to Rhodes next day!

Apart from the noisy setting, Hotel Contessa hasn't had a lick of paint since the '50s. If you want authenticity - poor shower, dodgy plumbing, bad electrics (manual hot water) – complete with a stale smell - this is the place for you. As highly recommended by the Madonna Studios after all! Don't take their word for it - stay well clear of this unmanned dump.

They took me for the full €100 for 2 nights. Poor value - but I had to pay to escape and retrieve my passport.

Bertha turned on the water works and I felt bad - but took the cash for 2 nights. Upon leaving, fake tears in eyes, as a gift she gave me the unfinished packet of supermarket cinnamon biscuits. The ‘home baking’ not so homely after all. €100 is lot for biscuits.

In the end, the nearby Ifigenia Studios saved the day with a nice ground floor studio room (complete with Jacuzzi bath) and excellent breakfast.

I'll be back to lovely Chania - but will give the Hotel Contessa the body swerve it deserves.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iainwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2006

Booked this place after a review in the Rough Guide, a mistake. Very noisy at night, with a busy bar pumping out music until 4 am. The room itself was large with a great view, but felt basic. The bathroom was terrible, a leaking toilet and a shower head that couldn't be fastened to the wall and had to be held. The staff were very welcoming and sweet and it's probably OK for a overnight stay if you are going out to party but otherwise the Casa Delfino next door is much nicer . . . (we moved after one night!).

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Brightoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Wa
18
Reviewed 30 March 2006

Hotel Contessa is one of the most beautiful romantic places to stay. The staff were wonderful, the views are great and I love the fact that each room is set up as a suite so you didn't have to pay the extra cost to get the best. Oh and one other thing - the Food was excellant!!!!

Thank you Hotel Contessa for a memorable moment. You made the list of "Best Places to Stay". I give this place a 5+ star rating....

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Stella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Μαρία Κ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ilaria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.1 mi away
Imeros
Imeros
#31 of 114 in Chania Town
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Latina
Casa Latina
#109 of 142 in Chania Town
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vilelmine
Vilelmine
#17 of 114 in Chania Town
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Talos Rooms
Talos Rooms
#79 of 114 in Chania Town
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Erietta Suites
Erietta Suites
#1 of 2 in Chania
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalliopi
Kalliopi
#59 of 142 in Chania Town
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Hotel

Address: 15 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £34 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Contessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing