We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feh”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bozzali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bozzali
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“feh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Somewhat misled by reviews on TA. The place was very noisy in the morning. The building sounded like it would collapse when people went up and down the stairs and you could here the occupants of the adjacent rooms speaking through the walls; sleeping past 9 was not really an option. I'd say the place was somewhat overpriced comparing it to the other "studio rooms" (bozzali was triple the price of the nice quaint places down the street in this part of the old town) in the neighborhood. I guess I was paying extra for some "services", a warm shower, a good breakfast (not a chunk of salty salami and dry cereals), a helpful and friendly staff, but didn't really get any of these things.
Location was great, close to the port but also in a very pretty, less touristy part of town and the place was clean, but I'd have to say pass on Bozzali and try another place within the vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocoBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    40
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
75
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Nicely presented room - but so noisy. There's a construction site - with a sky-high industrial digger/excavator right outside the hotel, and the noise goes from 7 am - 7 pm. See photos. In addition, there is the unusual embedded staircase as part of the bathroom's wall (see previous posting's picture), which means you can hear people's shoes clip-clopping up and down the stairs. People's conversations outside the room could also be heard. The air-conditioning was also very noisy and there wasn't the greatest water pressure.
It's more of a b & b than a hotel.
I had read all the reviews about the amazing breakfast and was really waiting for it. It was actually a very simple cold breakfast. They went out to get the bread each morning, so it was really fresh, with some really delicious soft cheese. There were tomatoes, eggs, and some cereal, etc. See photos. My main concern was that the salami and cheese stood on a table for a couple of hours, without any refrigeration, with the netting over them, so that it lay directly on top of the food. The flies were getting under the netting when it wasn't replaced properly as people got their breakfast. And then the salami/jam/honey/cheese were put back In the fridge and brought out on other days. I'd read about the delicious fruit - but it was a small bowl of about 5/6 pieces - and they were all well over-ripe and needed to be thrown out. My finger nearly went through the kiwi fruit's skin - and it all came out again the next day. The coffee was also the strongest I had ever(!) tasted. I couldn't drink it. There was a cake and bowl of biscuits that were also there the whole time I was there. There was a tired look to it - hence my confusion with the 4 star rating.
I checked out early due to the noise - but Chania is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Do not have a room at the front - due to the construction site, and be careful with the rooms that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonvonplak, Manager at Bozzali, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
as we have said in person, sorry again for the noise. it was really hard to bear: the only thing we could do was not to sell our more exposed rooms (and it was not an easy choice). Luckily the nightmare is over and we will start again to try and improve
antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel is located in a great area, right down the street from the markets and old harbor. We were disappointed by the service, however. Other than the owner bringing our luggage up the stairs to our room, he did not do much to help. We asked for directions to a specific restaurant and he sent us to the wrong place even though we had asked him to call the restaurant (which he didn't do). We also were not impressed by the breakfast -- packaged cheeses and salamis that had been wrapped up from the previous morning, as well as some cold cereal and bread. We have stayed in other hotels with amazing, fresh breakfasts and this was not that. The room itself was huge but had 2 twin beds pushed together, a TV way to small for the room and a very musty smell. We left the AC on when we went out to cool off the room but when we got back someone had shut it. Overall the hotel was OK for the 2 nights we spent there, but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonvonplak, Manager at Bozzali, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
poor boys...they had to leave their hi-something and walk around our dirty mediterranean town looking for a restaurant...the tv was smal for a big room...the air condition with open windows and 20 celsius outside was not working...we are really so sorry.
as for the cheese we will pass the negative criticism to our shepherd friend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Antonio is an excellent person and the owner of the hotel!

The room was big and clean the bed actually double and in general we had a great time there :)

Also is actually in the in the heart of Chania, to go to harbor is 5 minutes by foot and there you can find different restaurants and also GOOD bars! . The breakfast is simple break, eggs, cheese, ham coffee or tea.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EVI E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Excellent hotel, with some nice and warm rooms where you feel like home. The place is charming, a renovate traditionnal house within the town of Chania, just a few meters from the harbor and the main attractions of the city. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast is just delicisous, full of Cretian products and fresh juice. The hotel has a small restaurant where you can eat some delicious plates of past and other italian dishes. This small hotel, is all you need for the holidays, in order to feel the Cretian spirit:)

Room Tip: prefer the comfortable rooms, you have a private patio:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I came back to Bozzali for the third time this year and I must say it is probably the nicest boutique hotel I have stayed at in this very beautiful place. Run by a brilliant host and owner Antonio.
He really does his best in all ways to help you finding your way around chania. The beautiful and spaceous rooms are perfect for a romantic couple and I would reccomend it to all my friends. I would also stay for more than a day or two because the town has a lot of secret little restaurants and it takes time to enjoy them all.
The bed sheets are of good quality and beautifully embroiderd.
Nice breakfast and freshly squeezed orange juice every morning, and if you want to sleep longer he will wait for you.

Room Tip: Try to book a room upstairs, the wind makes it more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

My partner and I spent a wonderful week in this hidden gem, we had the best room and the hotel is great to walk around the Old Town. We had the use of their bikes and always felt welcome. Maria and Evi were lovely, and Antonio very helpful with info of all kinds. Makes you want to go back there soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuscanPledges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#19 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#26 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#43 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elia Betolo Hotel
Elia Betolo Hotel
#25 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#34 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bozzali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bozzali

Property: Bozzali
Address: 5 Sifaka, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bozzali 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bozzali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bozzali Hotel Chania
Bozzali Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing