We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
Review of Bozzali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bozzali
Ranked #55 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have just returned from a week spent at this lovely hotel.On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome by Antonio the owner, who throughout our stay was on hand to assist with any requests etc.Yes there was some form of construction going on opposite the hotel and there was some noise,however it didnt spoil our stay.We stayed in room 8 which is located in a small courtyard and very charming.The room itself is spacious, had twin beds was clean and had everything we needed.It has a large bathroom with a shower etc also very nice.The breakfast was very basic,the freshly squeezed orange juice fab.The location is great, its in the lovely Old Town but close to the harbour etc.The whole team working at the hotel made us feel very welcome,always greeted us with a smile and a good morning.Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

Great town, but there was confusion re correlation with previous reviews and what I experienced. The hotel is seriously(!!) noisy, with a construction site literally a few metres outside the hotel, and the loud booming/drilling noise going 12 hours a day. Room OK - but very small TV, low water pressure, loud air conditioning, and lots of noise coming from people on the stairs and talking outside the room. Breakfast was a disappointment - seriously basic and nothing hot. Could have all been prepared in about 5 minutes - not sure about all the rave reviews. Very limited range on offer. Sorry - but nothing special and I agree, serously over-priced.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs with you - essential!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanieB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Somewhat misled by reviews on TA. The place was very noisy in the morning. The building sounded like it would collapse when people went up and down the stairs and you could here the occupants of the adjacent rooms speaking through the walls; sleeping past 9 was not really an option. I'd say the place was somewhat overpriced comparing it to the other "studio rooms" (bozzali was triple the price of the nice quaint places down the street in this part of the old town) in the neighborhood. I guess I was paying extra for some "services", a warm shower, a good breakfast (not a chunk of salty salami and dry cereals), a helpful and friendly staff, but didn't really get any of these things.
Location was great, close to the port but also in a very pretty, less touristy part of town and the place was clean, but I'd have to say pass on Bozzali and try another place within the vicinity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocoBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Nicely presented room - but so noisy. There's a construction site - with a sky-high industrial digger/excavator right outside the hotel, and the noise goes from 7 am - 7 pm. See photos. In addition, there is the unusual embedded staircase as part of the bathroom's wall (see previous posting's picture), which means you can hear people's shoes clip-clopping up and down the stairs. People's conversations outside the room could also be heard. The air-conditioning was also very noisy and there wasn't the greatest water pressure.
It's more of a b & b than a hotel.
I had read all the reviews about the amazing breakfast and was really waiting for it. It was actually a very simple cold breakfast. They went out to get the bread each morning, so it was really fresh, with some really delicious soft cheese. There were tomatoes, eggs, and some cereal, etc. See photos. My main concern was that the salami and cheese stood on a table for a couple of hours, without any refrigeration, with the netting over them, so that it lay directly on top of the food. The flies were getting under the netting when it wasn't replaced properly as people got their breakfast. And then the salami/jam/honey/cheese were put back In the fridge and brought out on other days. I'd read about the delicious fruit - but it was a small bowl of about 5/6 pieces - and they were all well over-ripe and needed to be thrown out. My finger nearly went through the kiwi fruit's skin - and it all came out again the next day. The coffee was also the strongest I had ever(!) tasted. I couldn't drink it. There was a cake and bowl of biscuits that were also there the whole time I was there. There was a tired look to it - hence my confusion with the 4 star rating.
I checked out early due to the noise - but Chania is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Do not have a room at the front - due to the construction site, and be careful with the rooms that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonvonplak, Manager at Bozzali, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

as we have said in person, sorry again for the noise. it was really hard to bear: the only thing we could do was not to sell our more exposed rooms (and it was not an easy choice). Luckily the nightmare is over and we will start again to try and improve
antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel is located in a great area, right down the street from the markets and old harbor. We were disappointed by the service, however. Other than the owner bringing our luggage up the stairs to our room, he did not do much to help. We asked for directions to a specific restaurant and he sent us to the wrong place even though we had asked him to call the restaurant (which he didn't do). We also were not impressed by the breakfast -- packaged cheeses and salamis that had been wrapped up from the previous morning, as well as some cold cereal and bread. We have stayed in other hotels with amazing, fresh breakfasts and this was not that. The room itself was huge but had 2 twin beds pushed together, a TV way to small for the room and a very musty smell. We left the AC on when we went out to cool off the room but when we got back someone had shut it. Overall the hotel was OK for the 2 nights we spent there, but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonvonplak, Manager at Bozzali, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

poor boys...they had to leave their hi-something and walk around our dirty mediterranean town looking for a restaurant...the tv was smal for a big room...the air condition with open windows and 20 celsius outside was not working...we are really so sorry.
as for the cheese we will pass the negative criticism to our shepherd friend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Antonio is an excellent person and the owner of the hotel!

The room was big and clean the bed actually double and in general we had a great time there :)

Also is actually in the in the heart of Chania, to go to harbor is 5 minutes by foot and there you can find different restaurants and also GOOD bars! . The breakfast is simple break, eggs, cheese, ham coffee or tea.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVI E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Excellent hotel, with some nice and warm rooms where you feel like home. The place is charming, a renovate traditionnal house within the town of Chania, just a few meters from the harbor and the main attractions of the city. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast is just delicisous, full of Cretian products and fresh juice. The hotel has a small restaurant where you can eat some delicious plates of past and other italian dishes. This small hotel, is all you need for the holidays, in order to feel the Cretian spirit:)

Room Tip: prefer the comfortable rooms, you have a private patio:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Elia Palazzo Hotel
Elia Palazzo Hotel
#56 of 110 in Chania Town
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
ONTAS Traditional Hotel
ONTAS Traditional Hotel
#57 of 110 in Chania Town
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scala de Faro
Scala de Faro
#62 of 110 in Chania Town
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#26 of 110 in Chania Town
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Elia Betolo Hotel
Elia Betolo Hotel
#21 of 110 in Chania Town
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bozzali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bozzali

Address: 5 Sifaka, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £62 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bozzali 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bozzali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bozzali Hotel Chania
Bozzali Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing