We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our holiday in Greece”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SunCity Hotel Studios
Ranked #35 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Sun City has everything plus more for a wonderful holiday.
It is only 4 km from Chania and there is a bus which stops almost outside the hotel every fifteen minutes which can take you there.
There are two big shops only a couple of hundred meters from the hotel which is very comfortable.
The apartments are very comfortable, clean and have aircondition, the hotel has free Wi-fi. The include a small functional kitchen, bathroom with a shower and a balcony with beautiful wiew.
In the hotel bar, which is near the pool, you are able to buy breakfast, drinks and very tasty Greek Coffee.
There is a small library in the lobby with books in several languages, for example English, Danish and Swedish.
There are four wunderful beaches only about ten minutes from the hotel.
What we remember most from our holiday is the kindness from our hosts: Gina, Manolis, Maria and Illianna. They are such nice and friendly people and made the whole trip on Crete special.
They family also makes thier own olive-oil which tastes great and it is able to buy.
We warmly reccomend this fantastic hotel to everybody that visits Crete.

Stjepan, Lorena, Andrea and Lea.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stjepan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

We arrived at Hotel Sun City since 1998 up to 2 times a year. The hotel is not new, but it has a charm, not least because of the host family, you will find no better service. Like the hotel is not so large, making it more comfortable, especially in the lovely garden and around the lovely pool. The bar at the hotel we use extensively and here we get many talking with the others from the hotel, this gives a special mood, we feel like a big family, which again is the host family's huge profits.
When after 3 weeks at the Sun City must once again return to Denmark, yes, it's a sad day and quickly you miss the spot and ur Greek family, Gina, Manolis, Maria and Elianna.
Can only recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank solvejg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Simply the best! Near to sandy beaches,shops and good tavenas, and an excellent frequent bus service to Chania. Owned by Gina and Manolis and helped by daughters Maria and Ilianna the service is perfect. A beautiful pool,garden and good service from the bar. Air conditioned,good sized rooms,with bathroom,kitche area,phone ,safe,TV and hair dryer,and a balcony with wonderful views. The family are fantastic, we've been going there now since 1998 and in recent years twice a year. We don't want to go anywhere else for a holiday, you can't beat the best! Stayed in June2011, going back in September.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Sun City itself is a wonderful relaxing situation. The proprietors are very friendly and helpful in every way. Rooms are very clean with Maid Service every day (except Sunday's)

The location of Sun City gives one access to wonderful well tended beaches, which are only 5 mins walk away. The local transport service (tourist bus) stops practically at the door. The main line bus company (Aner Lines) is available on the main road 5 mins walk. There is also a "little train" service which visits the local villages.

Chania Town (is only 4 kms away) A bustling vibrant town with archeological and historic sites. The venetian harbour sports restaurants to suit all tastes and palates. There is also "good night life" if one so desires.

The hotel has a pool and pool bar where breakfast and snacks are available.

There are 2 super markets close at hand and numerous restaurants coffee bars etc.

BEST OF ALL IS THE FRIENDLY AND WELCOMING ATTITUDE OF GINA AND HER FAMILY. ONCE YOU HAVE FOUND SUN CITY YOU WILL WANT TO RETURN.

WE WILL BE BACK IN SEPTEMBER 2011 !!!!!

SARAH & DOUGLAS. SCOTT. FROM SCOTLAND.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotlandHibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Sun City is a very clean and nice hotel, placed in a quiet area
Sun City is placed close to the best sandy beaches and near very good taverns
Bus to Chania stops just outside the hotel and it only takes 15 min with bus to Chania
The Owners and their daughters see to that all guests are comfortable

We will be back in September

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rye_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I can be content with the basics of an air-conditioned clean room and bathroom and that's all I'd expect for the cost charged for this hotel. At Sun City we were also treated to a balcony, large studio room, lock box, and a deep outdoor swimming pool and bar. A lovely sand beach is only 300 meters down the road. There is a supermarket beside the hotel and another over the road. Several good restaurants are nearby, and we would recommend the Pergola restaurant, 150 meters toward the beach, for an economical hearty meal with good service. There is also a bus into town every fifteen minutes that stops close to the hotel.

The location is about 6 kms west of Chania and requires careful navigating by car( a good map or GPS is essential) but is worth it for the beach side location. By car it is only 10 minutes to the old town in Chania. Watch for the multitude of one way streets that weren't on any maps we were able to get hold of.

Knossos is only an hour and a half drive away. Get there when it opens or late in the day as there are numerous tour groups. Go directly to the throne room because this becomes a bottleneck of queue.

What makes Sun City studios/ hotel exceptional is the service. It is simply exceptional. It is family run and the reception is warm and as helpful as possible at all times. We checked in very early after the overnight ferry from Athens and our room was ready for us. We returned on the overnight ferry leaving at 9pm and were offered use of our room until that time. That is incredible hospitality. The proprietess, Gina, helped us navigate the area and gave good suggestions for day trips. She knew every guests' Christian name and saw us off after our three night stay like we were visiting friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HFTNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Guys, you have to book in this family hotel/apartment if you never tried it yet.
The hospitality and service is great, clean and friendly environment. There is an amuzement park just 100 meters away, and two shopping centers just a minute walk. Nice to have fresh bread every morning, try this place and you will love it!!!!

Room Tip: Lots of restaurants in the vicinity
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jguzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athina Beach Hotel
Athina Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
91 reviews
1.0 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Helios Apartments
Helios Apartments
#6 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
122 reviews
6.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
#31 of 111 in Chania Town
127 reviews
6.2 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#15 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunCity Hotel Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunCity Hotel Studios

Address: Nearhou Str Agii Apostoli Kato Daratso | N. Kidonia, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#11 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £38 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — SunCity Hotel Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your SunCity Hotel Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SunCity Hotel Studios Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing