We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in Chania old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Greco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Greco Hotel
Ranked #64 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Rogerstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal location in Chania old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is a great base for wandering round Chania's old streets, going to eat on the harbour sea front, or wandering round the city walls. All the staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was more than adequate and included freshly squeezed orange juice - delicious! We had reserved one of the 2 top floor rooms with a terrace outside that gave us magnificent views and was a great seating area, even if it was rather windy the couple of days we were there. The lift stops at the third floor, which means you have to carry your bags up a (sturdy) spiral staircase, but the effort was well worth it.
My only small criticism is that the bathroom was rather cramped, and like nearly everywhere we were in Crete the shower was only just adequate.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance one of the fourth floor rooms for stunning views over the town and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephineump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    64
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
13
86
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I spent a week here on a bed and breakfast basis and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Chania old town. This is a small, welcoming, family run hotel.
The hotel is located on a narrow, rustic street a few yards from the harbour. This is ideal as the pretty street with its' cafes and shops is quiet yet very close to the iconic heart of the old town.
Our room was spacious and had a balcony overlooking the street which ran down to the sea.
My only disappointment with the room was that there was no tea and coffee making facilities. We had an efficient fridge and modern, remote controlled air conditioning which would suit anyone with mobility issues or those too tired to move from the bed! The shower and toilet room had a small curtained shower area. I'm a big guy but had no problems with it. We were given twin beds which were firm and would not have been my first choice, but we slept well. Rooms are cleaned efficiently every day by the friendly staff. A room safe is provided free of charge. Free wifi is also provided. I had read that the signal was weak in some places but tried it in various locations and found it to be excellent using Skype video calling etc.There are routers on all floors to boost the signal.
We had read that the noise from the elevator was an issue to some, but it was right outside our door on the second floor and we never heard it once!
Guests can use the roof area which is laid out with seats and shade. The view is gorgeous, but access is by a stairway from the third floor which will not suit those less mobile.
Breakfast is laid out in a pretty ground floor room which opens out onto the street. This gives guests the choice of eating outside on the tables provided. What a lovely touch! The buffet consists of salads, meat, cheese, olives, cereals, fresh fruit, Greek yoghurt, tea, coffee, orange juice (freshly squeezed) etc. The loaves of fresh bread are excellent.
Reception staff are friendly and helpful. Nothing is problem. This overall attitude helped make our stay relaxed and delightful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony. If possible ask for one when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

A firm bed is one thing.. a bed, hard as a rock, where there is No give, where you can feel the springs coming through, is quite another. I had to take Melatonin to get to sleep and woke up every morning feeling very bruised on my sides. The pillows? Awful. To wake up tired on holiday isn't what you want; everyone deserves a comfortable sleep. What did I like about this hotel? The location. Will I come back? Not to the El Greco, (when for a few more Euro's a night you can have a comfortable sleep in the Casa Veneta 2-3 doors down with an extremely welcoming and friendly host)
The toilet seat in the bathroom was just balanced, hence it moved when sat on. In order to get to the sink and the toilet you had to step into the shower because the bathroom door was in the way! The towels were hard. Because of the size and design in the bathroom, every time I had a shower or washed at the sink the floor got drenched.. easy to slip. Lighting in the room was very poor. The breakfast was nothing to write home about but it was ok apart from the coffee.. the coffee was shown to the water, it was so weak.The staff were pleasant enough but not what I would call really welcoming; just doing their job. I needed my boarding pass printed but their internet wasn't working and I was told to go to an internet cafe; I got the feeling that they really weren't that bothered - I had had my stay. One receptionist I found particularly helpful and friendly. I would call this hotel a 2 star; the outside of it was the best; this is what people see online when they book it, when its just a lovely fascade, lovely to sit outside having breakfast in the morning but I expect more from a hotel.. comfort and having adequate rest being one of them..

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter, the downside is you have a view of the wall. Having a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heather_junelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great little hotel in the venetian quarter of Chania Town. Room adequate size but bathroom slightly on the small size. Not all rooms have a balcony, advise to request room with balcony at time of booking and hotel will accommodate where possible. All staff exceptionally helpful and friendly and more than happy to assist with any queries. Rooms cleaned every day and breakfast offered a good variety everyday. Hotel located in great location for meandering through the small streets full of shops, tavernas, restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: request room with balcony at time of booking as not all rooms have balconies. Hotel very accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orvillemou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

No wifi in my bedroom, I had to go out to the corridor to have a poor conection.
The bathroom was so small that they couldn't put a curtain in it. The shower was smaller than 50x50 cm. No place to put even the towel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingolstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is located next to the Venetian harbor, in the center of the characteristic neighborhood, in a little street with many shops and typical products.
The room was tiny and had the only window that was in front of a big wall, the ancient city walls, but a little bit light was necessary. The cleaning of the room was good.
The breakfast was quite varied and good, is served in a very nice ground floor.
The staff was always very friendly.
I recommend this tree especially for the favorable position for the visit of the Venetian harbor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerio_ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Just arrived home today after spending 7 nights at this hotel which we loved, very friendly staff, room was spotless and cleaned every day, clean towels every day too. Been to Greece many times and this to be the best hotel we have stayed in. We enjoyed our freshly squeezed orange juice sitting outside every morning at breakfast. Perfectly situated in old town with its many restaurants - recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#34 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#19 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#26 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#48 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arkadi Hotel
Arkadi Hotel
#37 of 110 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco Hotel

Property: El Greco Hotel
Address: 47-49 Theotokopoulou, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Greco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Greco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Chania
El Greco Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing