We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel with amazing PEOPLE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 92 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel with amazing PEOPLE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed on the private suite of the Hotel in April. What an amazing experience!!! The all feeling from the moment you step your foot on the hotel is unique!

The location of the hotel on the heart of the old town, in between the old narrow streets will make you feel like in another era!
People who run the place are so helpfull and friendly. The room we had weeks ago booked, was undescrieble FANTASTIC! The room's vies breath-taking as it was the private balcony in from which you could have a unbeliverable view of the Chania's old harbor with the same time the possibility of a total privacy that the balcony offers.
The room itself is superb! I'm a traveler and I have been to many cosy places, but Casa Leone over run them all. And that it is not only from the amazingly taking care the smallest details of the hotel as it is from the people who run the place.
Nikos, the owner, will do whatever it's possible to his power to make you feel...like home!
He's a one kind of a man.

As a conclusion I strongly believe that if you are well intented and you have the right human next to you, the experience of Chania and Casa Leone will always be a monumentary one!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Raminagropi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    56
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
427
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We just got back from a two week trip to Greece and are already missing Casa Leone. Antonia and Maria were so helpful and nice. When we arrived they served us ice coffee and fresh fruit on the balcony overlooking the darling harbor, after a four hour bus ride it is exactly what we needed. They packed us a lunch when we hiked the Samaria Gorge....they were amazing. We stayed at a lot of four star hotels on our trip but this was by far the best!!! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcali27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

A warm welcome awaited us on our arrival to Casa Leone from Antonia and Maria it was like returning to visit good friends.

We were disappointed to read such a scathing comment from a previous guest as many of the observations made in the review were not reflective of this delightful, charming, historical boutique hotel. Perhaps if you want corporate rooms with no character then Casa Leone is not for you. However, if you want something extra special with genuine hospitality from the owners and Antonia and Maria then look no further. The view from the hotel front rooms and private honeymoon suite with its own balcony overlooking Chania harbour is breathtakingly beautiful at any time of the day.

The breakfast served at Casa Leone sets you up for the rest of the day and unless you have a enormous appetite you will have no room for lunch.

The rooms are all individually furnished and therefore have a uniqueness about them. All room have tea and coffee making facilities and are spotlessly clean thanks to Maria’s hard work and attention to detail.

We have visited Crete for the last five years and stayed at the Casa Leone each year whilst touring and staying in other areas of the Island. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wants personal service where nothing is too much trouble and the welcome lasts long after you leave.

Chania itself is full of charm and character with many restaurants and bars however if you stay at Case Leone you must take time to eat at Skoufos & Oinos situated a street behind the old boat houses on the far –side of the harbour.

Thank you again to Antonia, Maria, Nikos and Anna for your warm welcome and hospitality – we will be back Gill & John

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Our stay at Casa Leone was a truly memorable one. It was our first stop on a month long overseas trip and after 30+ hours of travelling we couldn't be more pleased to be welcomed so warmly to the charming hotel.
The beautiful and historic venetian villa is brought to life by the amazing hospitality of the staff. Maria ensures the place is spotless on a daily basis but on our arrival she also ensured that we were quickly treated to coffee, fruit and cakes and made to feel right at home. Antonia not only prepared us a scrumptious (and enormous) breakfast every morning but organised car hire and gave us excellent advice on where to visit during our time in Crete. Her enthusiasm to ensure we enjoyed our stay in Crete demonstrated a passion for her work that you don't often see. Nikos is an absolute gentleman who, on our departure walked us and our heavy suitcases right to our car door.
Our room was lovely and private with a loft style bedroom and courtyard view. The antique style timber furniture brought warmth and sophistication. The bathroom was well designed for it's size with a powerful hot shower!
The balcony at casa leone is it's greatest asset and when you're only sharing the villa with a few other couples there are plenty of opportunities to enjoy it! A spectacular place to sit in the sun and look out over the old harbour.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Casa Leone marked the start of a wonderful month long holiday for us through Greece and the UK (we got engaged!!!) and we would love to return in the future when we next visit Chania.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyElina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I wasn't going to write a review, but after reading the one from June 25th, I must... I think that traveller wrote about the wrong hotel, as Casa Leone has no "bar" and is very charming.
We loved our stay. Nikkos, Ann, Maria and Antonia were great hosts. The rooms were great and they bent over backwards to help us and make our stay great. They even made us some sandwiches (and prepared an early breakfast), for our hike to the Samaria Gorge.
A warning though, their web site says park at Talos square" free of charge", but there are two lots at Talos Square, the second lot is not free (we got a 40 euro ticket)... we found a sign after the fact, but when the website said "free parking" our tired eyes were not looking for signs. As a side note, Nikkos took me on his motorcycle to the police station to get the fee reduced from 80 to 40... Thank you Nikko!
This is a great place!, perhaps a bit over priced, but great!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vav42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Over the years tripadvisor has been helped me unearth some hidden gems –Casa Leone in terms of cost to quality ratio ranks as one of my best find finds to date: we treated ourselves and stayed in the beautiful honeymoon suite which is elegantly styled and furnished with a huge super comfy bed, quirky (if a little small) en suite facilities, and a feast of free goodies – bottles of wine, tea, coffee, water, nibbles.... Connected to our airy bedroom was a very large terrace (complete with loungers and parasol) which boasted probably the best view in the whole of Chania town. From taking in sunrise to watching the night lights illuminate the waters of the old harbour this is a beautifully private spot to wile hours upon hours.
The hotel communal rooms are similarly impressive from the leafy reception situated in the hotel courtyard to the huge and tasty breakfasts served in grand hall of this ”millionaire’s mansion.” With views constant from the beautiful bay windows you’ll feel like you’re in Venice such is the grandeur of your surrounds.
Service is 5 star from check in to departure: We were unsure of all our future connections through the Lefka Ori; The girl working that day not only planned out our best bus and ferry links but printed them all out for us. In the 2 nights we stayed here the staff continually went above and beyond our expectations. The location of Casa Leone is also perfect: on the waterfront set amongst the quietest and prettiest part of the charaterful old town.If you want a treat in Crete look no further !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WannabeMichaelPalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

At Casa Leone, you feel at home... We are going back to Chania and staying there. The owners are amazing . The location is perfect. We LOVED this place

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#19 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Address: 18 1st Side Street Theotokopoulou | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing