We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Cretan hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 92 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Warm Cretan hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Lovely small hotel, perfect location, charming rooms (ours had a little balcony overlooking the old harbour and there is one with a perfect private deck), wonderful home-cooked breakfasts with a different treat every day, Everybody is very nice but Antonia is a gem!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcd1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    56
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
427
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

When we first arrived at Casa Leone for our 5 day stay in Chania, we were impressed by this charming hotel with a great view of the Venetian harbor. Our room was great and the main room, where breakfast is served, is so beautiful. What made our stay truly memorable was the wonderful people. Antonia served us a delicious breakfast in the morning, and helped us with absolutely anything we needed. Maria was so kind. She packed us a snack and put it in our fridge for the next morning, when we planned to leave early for a trip to Elafonisi. Casa Leone felt like home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Such a warm welcome greeted us on our arrival, Antonia offered us cool drinks whilst we waited to checked in. She is so helpful, full of information and willing to assist in any way to make your stay as perfect as possible.

Breakfast is beautifully served and prepares you fully for the day ahead. We had very little need to eat again until the evening. Nikos helped on several occasions when we locked ourselves out of our room and also dropped some bikini bottoms onto the balcony next door! He was a most gracious host.

We stayed in both the Oval room and the Honeymoon suite, the rooms were immaculately kept by Maria. The beds were sooooooo comfortable. The balcony in the Honeymoon suite enabled us to enjoy the most amazing view of the Harbour and also sunbathe as it has two sun loungers.

If you have booked in at Casa Leone you are in for a wonderful treat and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends or family. It is a gem and Antonia, Nikos and Maria offer you a personal service and make you feel instantly at home.

Room Tip: Either of the rooms we selected were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunlovertookent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We surely hoped for better service, to be more specific, for better breakfast service. I trusted the score and the reviews of tripadvisor but this B&B finally did not really match what we had in mind. We were looking for a traditional place with Cretan hospitality, local products for breakfast. Both the owner and the two ladies running Casa Leone offered a "like home" feeling throughout our stay, sharing the place with their guests. However the breakfast, although plentiful, was poor in terms of quality: being at a traditional residence, we would expect some local products to match, and some variety and flexibility. In other words, a more personalized approach that would match the expectations of the guests of the only 5 rooms. Though I think they all had a good disposition they lacked the gastronomic experience. Our room, was spacious enough and nicely furnished, though the bathroom was pretty small not matching the whole style.Though we didn't expect harbor view or full view, having read the description, only had a window looking to the terrace of the neighbors, through which you could hardly see the sea, whenever neighbor were not sitting there. In terms of value for money you finally pay so much money for the venetian look and feel, though I am a bit sceptical if this feeling can cover everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Despina_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed on the private suite of the Hotel in April. What an amazing experience!!! The all feeling from the moment you step your foot on the hotel is unique!

The location of the hotel on the heart of the old town, in between the old narrow streets will make you feel like in another era!
People who run the place are so helpfull and friendly. The room we had weeks ago booked, was undescrieble FANTASTIC! The room's vies breath-taking as it was the private balcony in from which you could have a unbeliverable view of the Chania's old harbor with the same time the possibility of a total privacy that the balcony offers.
The room itself is superb! I'm a traveler and I have been to many cosy places, but Casa Leone over run them all. And that it is not only from the amazingly taking care the smallest details of the hotel as it is from the people who run the place.
Nikos, the owner, will do whatever it's possible to his power to make you feel...like home!
He's a one kind of a man.

As a conclusion I strongly believe that if you are well intented and you have the right human next to you, the experience of Chania and Casa Leone will always be a monumentary one!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Raminagropi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We just got back from a two week trip to Greece and are already missing Casa Leone. Antonia and Maria were so helpful and nice. When we arrived they served us ice coffee and fresh fruit on the balcony overlooking the darling harbor, after a four hour bus ride it is exactly what we needed. They packed us a lunch when we hiked the Samaria Gorge....they were amazing. We stayed at a lot of four star hotels on our trip but this was by far the best!!! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcali27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

A warm welcome awaited us on our arrival to Casa Leone from Antonia and Maria it was like returning to visit good friends.

We were disappointed to read such a scathing comment from a previous guest as many of the observations made in the review were not reflective of this delightful, charming, historical boutique hotel. Perhaps if you want corporate rooms with no character then Casa Leone is not for you. However, if you want something extra special with genuine hospitality from the owners and Antonia and Maria then look no further. The view from the hotel front rooms and private honeymoon suite with its own balcony overlooking Chania harbour is breathtakingly beautiful at any time of the day.

The breakfast served at Casa Leone sets you up for the rest of the day and unless you have a enormous appetite you will have no room for lunch.

The rooms are all individually furnished and therefore have a uniqueness about them. All room have tea and coffee making facilities and are spotlessly clean thanks to Maria’s hard work and attention to detail.

We have visited Crete for the last five years and stayed at the Casa Leone each year whilst touring and staying in other areas of the Island. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wants personal service where nothing is too much trouble and the welcome lasts long after you leave.

Chania itself is full of charm and character with many restaurants and bars however if you stay at Case Leone you must take time to eat at Skoufos & Oinos situated a street behind the old boat houses on the far –side of the harbour.

Thank you again to Antonia, Maria, Nikos and Anna for your warm welcome and hospitality – we will be back Gill & John

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#21 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Address: 18 1st Side Street Theotokopoulou | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing