We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

when we first arrived we were a little weary as we have never been to a traditional bed and breakfast, however this little one is a 5-star charmer! Great location ! The staff is so nice... Maria is so sweet (I am a messy person and she folds and hangs up your clothes if you leave them around---seriously amazing!) they are really good with directions and will help any way they can. We forgot our converter at the last hotel and we stayed here in between other hotel stays in different parts of Greece and they let us keep the conveyer! The breakfast is really tasty and it includes cake, cookies, egg, yogurt, juice and breads and fruit each day along with a main home-cooked dish (ours were a delicious omelette, a traditional Greek food of spinach and cheese, and a toasted breakfast sandwich--all very good!) I cannot express how much we loved Case Leone and the staff and we definitely did not want to leave and will recommend everybody stay here in Chains!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZSteelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

Casa Leone is an extraordinary place to stay. It is a Venetian mansion from the time when the Venetians occupied Crete. It has been converted into a small, divine hotel with just five rooms (one is a lovely two-floor suite with canopy bed). The owner/host is Nicolas who together with his wife received us as guests in their home with great warmth and hospitality. When we arrived we were invited to sit on a charming balcony overlooking the waterway and historic buildings flanking it. They offered us a welcome drink and refused to accept payment for it. The breakfast (included) was a tour de force with fresh fruit cocktail, pastries, delicious Greek yoghurt with granola, eggs, a selection of breads and jams, orange juice, and good strong coffee. Nicolas actually came to our car and led us through traffic to the hotel and again to the airport when we departed. He parked the car for us and arranged for helpers to come from the hotel to carry our bags along the cobblestone street to the hotel. He could not have been more kind nor more generous. The same traits are evident in the obvious care given the hotel and in the elegant furnishings all designed to make for happy visitors. If you are ever in Crete do not miss the opportunity to stay at Casa Leone. And if you are not planning to go to Crete, change your mind so that you can go in order to stay at Casa Leone! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stayed in room which did not have a view of the water which was likely quieter as there is lots of l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catlover344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I have no words to describe our wonderful experience at Casa Leone. The owners Nicholas and Anna were kind, professional, generous and super nice individuals. Nicholas actually tried to help us when lost in Chania even though he didn't know we were heading to his bed and breakfast. He kindly guided us to a parking space and when he found out we were his guests he made sure he found a parking space closer to the hotel, he parked the car and called his staff to help us with our luggage. He sensed how stressed we are and he kindly upgraded our suite at no cost to make us feel more comfortable. The next day he gave us a tour of Chania and guided us to the airport road and made sure we didn't get lost. The facility was gorgeous and immaculately kept!!! The breakfast was the best I ever had! The whole experience felt surreal and magic!!! Thanks Nicholas and Anna and we will see you again next year!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I'm just going to agree with everything in the previous review from BigJock. I know who you are because we were there at the same time! My only addition to his review is the mention of Maria, who keeps the hotel immaculate. She's a hard worker who always has time for a guest's request. On our first day, she actually walked us around the property to make sure we could find it, as it is down a windy little street, but don't worry, you'll figure it out in no time. The bathrooms are small, but if BigJock could handle it, I imagine they're big enough. Maria and Antonia, thank you for a wonderful stay in Chania.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophieSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks. This really should be a B&B plus as it is not your average B&B. Our room was excellent with large bed able to accommodate me (6 feet 6 inches) that was very comfortable. The breakfasts had to be seen to be believed with traditional Cretan main dish, yogurt sprinkled with fruit, muesli and honey, large fruit bowl, several breads, biscuits and cakes, boiled egg, fruit juice, tea/coffee and on one occasion a cake laced with honey and served with ice cream. If that was not enough, you just had to ask for alternatives.
The owner, Nico, has very poor English which makes him a bit self conscious. Nevertheless, he and I managed to carry on conversations about many things including the stars in the Chania sky. It would have been quite comical to watch us, him with his broken English and me with my fractured Greek. He is an excellent host who is eager to please as are his staff. His receptionist, breakfast maker and general factotum, Antionia, speaks good English and is the font of all knowledge. She knows all of the sights of Crete, trips to take, places to visit, in fact anything the travellers needs to know. She has up to date information about most of the eateries in Chania and can tell you if your Trip Advisor review scores are still correct.
My wife and I had a great time here and would heartily recommend it to any traveller in western Crete.

Room Tip: Any one of the five rooms is well worth having. The Edem (room 1) suite is the only room without a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigJock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My new husband and I stayed for 2 nights in the oval room at Casa Leone during our honeymoon. It is the most beautiful spot. The welcome pack was a lovely surprise and there was a fridge in the room which was useful. The staff were all very helpful and easy going. Breakfast was delicious - different home made Cretan food every day.

Our room had a balcony overlooking the harbour. This was fantastic during the day. However if like me you like to sleep with the window open you might find it a bit noisy on the front of a night when trying to sleep. If you are a light sleeper you might prefer a different room to the oval room, maybe one facing away from the sea. You can still have the sea view from the hotel balcony accessible to all of the guests.

Overall a beautiful place in a lovely town.

Room Tip: The sea view is fantastic but the harbour side was noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank alison_6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our five night stay at Casa Leone in Chania. The rooms are lovely and quiet. We didn't have a harbour view, but could take advantage of the balcony off the breakfast room for our pre-dinner drinks to enjoy the harbour activity. the breakfasts were spectacular.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank HeatherMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Address: 18 1st Side Street Theotokopoulou | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £71 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing