We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at Casa Leone in July with our two teenage children and another family with three teenage children. The hotel was beautiful. Great location right on the port with a stunning view straight from our room out to the port. The 600 year old hotel has only 5 rooms which makes it feel very homely. The staff and owners of the hotel are very friendly and always offering help and suggestions on where to go. The traditional Cretan breakfasts are amazing. Every morning you are served a different cretan specialty. The location of the hotel is great - there are so many restaurants, bars, cafes and shops right outside your door or you can sit back on the balcony and watch everybody go past. We would definitely come back to this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Despi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

I highly recommend Hotel Casa Leone when staying in Chania. Nikos and Antonia are very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, overlooking the harbour. Walking to and from the hotel is very pleasant and unique. Our room was very clean with a perfect view of the harbour. Service , including breakfast, was excellent. It is very clean and well kept. There are many places to eat and shop within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoePMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Me and my now-wife stayed here for our honeymoon in late-July. It was a very memorable experience, and I highly recommend Casa Leone for couples who want a romantic home-base from which to explore Chania Town and the surrounding Chania area. The service, location, and historic charm of the hotel make it a top choice for couples who want to feel at home in Chania Town for a romantic and/or adventurous vacation.

They have only 5 rooms in this 600-year old historic hotel, which makes for a very intimate feel. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which has its own private balcony overlooking the harbor. It was great sitting out there on the balcony at night, and the hotel even brought our breakfast there:) Another highlight of the balcony was when a private masseuse visited us at our room and gave us a couples massage right on our balcony! (one of the best massages ive ever had from Angelica for approx. $60 per person for 1 hour! - very highly recommended)

As for the service, we felt more like family than hotel guests. We arrived at 1:30am after a long drive from Heraklion and the hotel owners waited up for us, then came out to find us where we were parked to greet us, took our bags and walked us to the hotel (we appreciated this because it would have been difficult to find the hotel given the small, windy venetian streets). Every morning, we were greeted with smiles, and a fresh, traditional Cretian breakfast. The staff was always curious and interested to hear our previous day, and always eager to help us arrange our next day. When we left, Niko (hotel owner) walked us to our car to help with our bags. He was concerned that we might miss our flight if we were late getting to the airport, so he got on his scooter and had us follow him out of the city limits onto the airport road!! We told him this was unnecessary, but he wasnt hearing it... We have never been treated so much like family anywhere else we've ever stayed. It made for an exceptional vacation.

As for location, you cannot beat it. The hotel is right on the main harbor strip, where all the shops, restaurants and bars are centralized. You literally walk out of the hotel and get lost in the streets. This is the area to explore, walk around, and shop. Very safe.

As a tip for restaurants: the other side of the harbor is generally where more greek locals go for dinner/drinks, so it is generally less touristy and you get better restaurants in my opinion. As an exception, if you are looking for traditional Cretian food for a memorable lunch/dinner, walk to Chani (Xani) and/or Tamam - both a 5-minute walk from hotel. Both are exceptional restaurants, which are famous for their traditional cretian food made with fresh local ingredients.

Beware that there is no "private parking" for the hotel. You will need to find on-street parking, which can be difficult depending on the time of day/night. Evening/night times (between 6pm through 11pm) is more difficult to find a space, but you should never have to park more than a 10-minute walk from the hotel. In the afternoon or morning, you can find a spot within 2-3 minutes from the hotel. The parking area is on street along the water to the left of the hotel in front of the castle, along Platia Talo. Beware the designated parking lot is permit-only, but anywhere along a curb is fine as long as you want.

For another insider-tip, if you are adventurous, the best beach we have ever experienced in our lives was Seitan Limania. It is a private beach/lagoon near Akrotiri, less than 20 minutes drive from hotel. The hike down to the lagoon is treacherous (so wear shoes). Just take your time and you'll be fine. It is VERY rewarding once you make it down. Google it, you'll see what I mean...

Other options are Elafonissi and Balos. Elafonissi requires a 1.5 hour drive through the mountains. Many people complain it is a difficult/treacherous drive, but I did not find it so bad. Just go very slow around the corners, and follow the English signs for Elafonissi. It is actually a great drive with lots of beautiful scenery. Stop at Agia Sofia in Topolia (an ancient cave made into a monastery, carved out into the mountains where people go to pray).

Awesome trip. We will be back!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. You cant go wrong. If you want a private balcony, stay in Honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emoskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The hotel is trully a little gem in the Harbour of Chania with majestic views from its balconies. The hotel has only five rooms which have a very beautiful decor and the rooms are very large and confortable. The staff was very kind and was very helpful to organize our trips and make our vacations beautiful. Tonia the receptionist, and the person in charge of our great Cretian breakfast, is a truly wonderful person which made us feel welcome from the minute we stepped in the hotel. Even the owner of the hotel Mr. Nikos is a great guy and very helpul. I would definitely recommend this hotel for romantic couples. When I visit Crete again, I will definitely stay there again....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Casa Leone Hotel in Chania is recommended by the Lonely Planet travel guide, so we decided to stay for two days in this hotel during our holidays in Crete.
The reservation by phone was very easy. The owner Nikos and Antonia at the reception are extremely friendly and helpful. Our room room with garden view was comfortable and quiete big enough for parents with two children. The breakfast prepared by Antonia was excellent and really perfect! Home made cookies and cakes and fresh orange juice were standard.
The view from the hotel balcony is amazing.
So we had a good time and appreciated this nice hotel and the perfect service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Very nice and confortable venetian old house on the beautiful port, large and very clean room with a panoramic terrace between sky and sea, excellent breakfast with delicious cretean food always different both salad and sweet and mainly misses Antonia a very hansome and very kind greek woman who give this albergo a high class for your journey in this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GianLupetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

While visiting Chania we stayed at the Casa Leone Hotel located right on the Old Venetian Port of Chania. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Our room was very nice and comfortable and it had a balcony overlooking the port, so when we chose to stay in at night we could still be part of the action by sitting on our balcony. The breakfast served every morning was fantastic. We definately recommend this hotel to anyone. Cannot wait to go back next time we visit Chania. June 2012-Montreal, Qc, Canada

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Address: 18 1st Side Street Theotokopoulou | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £70 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing