We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service made out trip to Crete extraordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 98 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service made out trip to Crete extraordinary”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Casa Leone is a cute hotel that is located right on the harbor in Chania. It is a restored Venetian home, so it only has a few rooms-- I think 5. The main room (where a wonderful breakfast is served every morning) also includes a lovely balcony where guests can sit and watch the action in the bustling harbor area below. The room was comfortable, clean, and quite, and equipped with everything you need, including a little refrigerator and coffee/tea. In addition, we were given two bottles of local wine as a welcome gift upon arrival, which were much appreciated and very tasty. It was very pleasant to have a drink of wine and sit in the balcony area to recover from a day of touristing before heading out on the town for dinner.

The very best part of the experience was the excellent service we received from Maria and Antonia. They were superb, and I am not exaggerating when I say that Antonia in particular really made our vacation. Antonia helped us plan a trip to Samaria Gorge, which was one of our goals for the trip. She arranged everything for us so that it was really easy. Maria prepared a wonderful breakfast for us to have in our refrigerator so that we would have something to eat before heading out to meet our bus at 6:00 am. And, she also packed us a lunch-- which was over and above both what we paid for with the room and what we were expecting. This was a lifesaver as there are not amenities on the strenuous and long hike. The delicious sandwiches Maria provided us were just the thing to get us through. And she was there to help us find a restaurant when we returned. She was so friendly and wonderful.

We had purposely left a few days on our Crete part of our trip free to schedule according to what we learned or felt like doing. And boy, were we glad we did. Antonia helped guide us once we left Chania, recommending beaches to make sure to see and which were more touristy and could be skipped. She also set us up with what may have been the most special experience of our entire trip in a traditional settlement in the hills on the way to Elafonisi Beach. It was absolutely wonderful, and not something we ever would have discovered on our own. We are so grateful for the extra time, attention, and expert advice that Antonia gave us. Our trip simply would not have been the same without her.

By the time we left (and we only stayed two nights!) we felt like we were leaving old friends. Maria, who had the day off, had come by to say goodbye to us and a few other guests departing that day. That's what I call service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiandsnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    56
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
427
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights and even switched rooms (our bad for booking only one night, then luckily there was another room available). The hotel is very small, with only 5 rooms but the rooms are very large and charming. I can only repeat what many have already written, the personal and friendly atmoshphere make your stay unforgettable. I can really recommend getting tips and advice from the staff, for excursions, dining and mostly anything in Crete.
The points which I can list as 'problematic' which are non-issues for me but may well be for some:
- walking distance of a few minutes from where you park your car (if you're lucky to find a spot) or from taxi. And be aware that there are some stairs to climb.
- small bathroom with tiny shower (perfectly working though)
- a bit noisy in the front rooms. The hotel is directly on the old port, right above the busy restaurants with the nightlife. You can however close the window and turn on the A/C and it worked very well for me.
I will certainly visit Chania again and will look forward to stay at Casa Leone.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Asimutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Chania is a beautiful place and if you ever go to Crete this is a part of this island you should consider to stay.
Location of the hotel was great - build in the old Venetian City/Castle - overlooking the harbour and in the very centre of the old town.
We were staying in the oval superior double room that has balcony with the breathtaking views.
We were welcomed by Nikos who helped us with the luggage and offered a cup of coffee.
Him and the rest of the team were very helpful through the whole stay. Antonia makes the best breakfast ever and she was always happy to give any advice.
On the last day we received small gift from Nikos so the next time when we go there I will be prepared to get something for him too.
I definetely recommend staying in Casa Leone. We felt like we were staying with a family.
Big thank you to everyone who made our stay memorable. We will definitely come back. :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulian79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We had unforgettable stay in Casa Leone. The delicious breakfasts and recommendations of Antonia ,very easy location and wonderful view from our room balcony, comfortable rooms are amazing. We had little boy. He also does not forget his room in Casa Leone. He is very impressed.
Thanks Antonia, Thanks all staff of Casa Leone for this unforgettable memory.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehves M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRESTON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We booked this hotel on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews; we are so glad that we did.My wife and I stayed for 2 weeks in the 'superior double' at the front of the hotel.
It is a gem--it has a great location in the pedestrian only old town overlooking the old harbour (which means a 150 metre walk from where the taxi drops you); it's rooms are of good size with plenty of storage space, A/C that works really well and a good strong safe. They are decorated in a style which suits the 16th C Venetian building but are functional as well. The bathrooms are smallish but everything worked well--a really strong shower and very adequate ventilation
Towels are changed every 2 days and bedding every fews days too.
The breakfasts served in the main hall/reception are literally just outside the bedroom doors and they are just about the best breakfasts we have ever had (if you are not looking for fry- ups that
is) Everything fresh with good variety and served leisurely to suit you.
Lastly --the staff of whom there are only 3--Nicos the owner, Antonia who's does all the administration and the breakfasts --and who is a mine of information and Maria who keeps the place looking beautiful!
They are quite the nicest ,most sincere and helpful people you could wish to have look after you.
They really are to be treasured.
In fact we found Cretans--in Chania--to be generally incredibly friendly and helpful
The old town of Chania itself (where Casa Leone is situated) is delightful with a good range of restaurants and shops of a touristy but not tacky nature. Our favourite restaurants were Akrogiali for fish, Ellotia for fantastic steaks and Tamam for cheaper but good food. To Stachi is a very interesting vegetarian restaurant too. Antonia will tell you how to find them.
We really enjoyed our stay and will return; and we not stay anywhere else but Casa Leone which is perhaps one of the very best small hotels we have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Superior Double at the front of the hotel with a small balcony overlooking the harb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHARDPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

First - Antonia is the best!! She is helpful from the moment you walk in, handing you a welcome drink and small snack, to recommendations for restaurants, beaches and activities, until the moment you check out ... she makes the Chania experience amazing! We stayed in the honeymoon suite on our honeymoon and the balcony was super private! :-) HIGHLY recommend!

Room Tip: Book the Honeymoon Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Everything, from the staff (especially Antonia), to the location, to the food make the experience at Casa Leone amazing. When we had arrived my bags were lost by the airline in Athens and had been shipped to the local airport. We had not rented a car and the taxi drivers were on strike, but the staff at Casa Leone convinced a taxi driver to take me to the airport regardless so I could pick up my luggage. When we wanted to take a trip to Elafonisi, Antonia gave us places to stop along the way that made our trip truly memorable. When we got up early to hike the Samaria Gorge, Antonia made sandwiches for us to take. Our experience in Chania was so incredible that we will absolutely be back, and there is no point in bothering to try any other hotel.

Room Tip: The balcony in the honeymoon suite is one of the best parts of the Chania experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickPeterson42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#21 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Address: 18 1st Side Street Theotokopoulou | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing